iNavX and C-Map downloaded, unavailable !

Things are really not going well for iNavX. Just replaced Navionics cartography by C-Map worldwide with online subscription access (¹), the expected addition of an essential download function turns out to be almost unusable…

To download a chart area, you must select a square by zooming out to the downloadable size limit. By the way, once downloaded, you are informed that the download expires after 90 days ! Obligation to start again every three months ?

The size limit of an area is quickly reached : 1365 tiles either 146 MB maximum. We can already say that the coverage from La Rochelle to Saint-Malo will take time, as long as the speed is quite slow. But the worst is yet to come…

Downloaded areas do not add to each other ! No charts continuity, it must be changed each time the boat leaves a chart to enter another one. Absurd !

This function is perfectly un-us-a-ble. We will have to be satisfied with the online chart, with good cell connection, while waiting for the development team to correct the function. There is something to be done before iNavX disappears into oblivion.

–––
(¹Bad weather for iNavX [Update]
–––

mail

9 Replies to “iNavX and C-Map downloaded, unavailable !”

  1. Francis, Do you mean that charts over the Baltic are available via Navionics Boating? "For 31 € you have Navioncs Boating and the whole of Europe. "
    Friendships,
    Jan

    1. Unfortunately, not included in Central & West Europe! Baltic Sea is a unique region at 39.99€. Because Sweden official charts yearly licences are very expansive for 3d parties.

  2. I downloaded the C-MAP app whose operation is identical to that described by Francis. It's long and especially offline it doesn't always work. The maintenance service is very bad when we expose a problem the answers are apparently automated and are wrong.
    Currently sailing in the Caribbean I chose W4D and Boating from Navionics, praying that W4D will not be bought out by a pension fund…

  3. There is another alternative: TZiboat from Nobeltec with all the connection functions we know from iNavX and W4D. It also offers different weather models. The program has been extensively developed further from its start a few years ago. I have been using it during the last two years in Scandinavia where I do not get charts from Geogarage. The chart catalogue also has been enlarged recently. But it does not provide routing.
    So I am looking forward to use W4D next season cruising to France and Great Britain.
    Looks

  4. A download takes between 2 and 4 hours and you often have to start over 2 to 3 time. I sailed in October between the Canaries and Mardere, the iNavX app closes often. Strongly a new solution. Thank you Francis for informing us.

  5. Thank you Francis for your conclusion. I also came to the same conclusion about a moth ago when it was first announced by iNavX with a special price. On further inquiry to the support team I quickly realized it was impossible to use in the real world. No one except the ultra wealthy have the bandwidth to install new charts in remote places. Too bad for iNavX, too bad iPad users. Thank God for OpenCpn. It’s not on iPad but is readily available on all other platforms, and more charts to come soon.

  6. Changing the mapping application comes down to 1 click to the store… Bye bye iNavX, there are plenty of other choices.
    Learning a new application certainly requires some effort, but far from being insurmountable. We are really in the air of the disposable. When to buy back mapping, for most of us, one year subscription for less than the price of a full tank of gas…

  7. All this is very sad because Inavx remained a useful application with Navionics charts when GEOGARAGE does not offer detailed cartography in its catalog. (i.e. : Suede – Baltic)
    Now that Navionics maps are no longer accessible via Inavx and that the maps offered are unusable to turn to when W4D and the Geogarage map does not exist ???
    Francis if you have a lasting solution to suggest we will surely be several interested.
    Cdt

    1. It's very simple : for 31 € you have Navioncs Boating and the whole of Europe. I use it in duplicate of Weather4D for landings where SHOM and UKHO lack detail. I only regret that the SplitView function is not supported to parallel W4D.

Comments are closed.

iNavX et C-Map téléchargées, inutilisable !

Ça ne va vraiment pas fort pour iNavX. A peine remplacée la cartographie de Navionics par celle de C-Map mondiale avec accès en ligne par abonnement (¹), l’ajout attendu d’une fonction indispensable de téléchargement s’avère quasi inutilisable…

Pour télécharger une zone cartographique, vous devez sélectionner un carré en dézoomant jusqu’à la limite de taille téléchargeable. Au passage, une fois téléchargée, vous êtes informé que le téléchargement expire après 90 jours ! Obligation de recommencer tous les trois mois ?

La limite de taille d’une zone est vite atteinte : 1365 tuiles soit 146 Mo maximum. On peut déjà se dire que la couverture de La Rochelle à Saint-Malo va prendre du temps, d’autant que le débit est assez lent. Mais le pire reste à venir…

Les zones téléchargées ne s’ajoutent pas les unes aux autres ! Pas de continuité des cartes, il faut en changer à chaque fois que le bateau sort d’une carte pour entrer dans une autre. Absurde !

Cette fonction est parfaitement i-nu-ti-li-sa-ble. Il va falloir se contenter de la carte en ligne, avec une bonne liaison cellulaire, en attendant que l’équipe de développement corrige la fonction. Il y a du souci à se faire avant que iNavX ne disparaisse dans les oubliettes.

–––
(¹Sale temps pour iNavX [MAJ]
–––

mail

9 Replies to “iNavX et C-Map téléchargées, inutilisable !”

  1. Francis, Do you mean that charts over the Baltic are available via Navionics Boating? « pour 31€ tu as Navioncs Boating et l’Europe entière. »
    Amities,
    Jan

    1. Unfortunately, not included in Central & West Europe! Baltic Sea is a unique region at 39.99€. Because Sweden official charts yearly licences are very expansive for 3d parties.

  2. J’ai téléchargé l’appli C-MAP dont le fonctionnement est identique à celui décrit par Francis. C’est long et surtout hors connexion ça ne marche pas toujours. Le service de maintenance est très mauvais quand on expose un problème les réponses sont apparement automatisées et sont erronées.
    Navigant en ce moment dans les Caraïbes j’ai chois W4D et Boating de Navionics en priant pour que W4D ne soit pas racheté par un fond de pension…

  3. Il existe une autre alternative: TZiboat de Nobeltec avec toutes les fonctions de connexion que nous connaissons d'iNavX et W4D. Il propose également différents modèles météorologiques. Le programme a été considérablement développé depuis son lancement il y a quelques années. Je l'utilise depuis deux ans en Scandinavie où je ne reçois pas de cartes de Geogarage. Le catalogue de cartes a également été élargi récemment. Mais il ne fournit pas de routage.
    J'ai donc hâte d'utiliser W4D la saison prochaine en croisière en France et en Grande-Bretagne.
    Cordialement

  4. Un téléchargement prends entre 2 et 4 heures et il faut souvent recommencer 2 à 3 fois. J’ai navigué en octobre entre les Canaries et Mardere, l’appli iNavX se referme souvent. Vivement une nouvelle solution. Merci Francis de nous informer.

  5. Merci Francis pour ta conclusion. Je suis également arrivé à la même conclusion il y a environ un mois quand il a été annoncé pour la première fois par iNavX avec un prix spécial. Après une enquête plus approfondie auprès de l'équipe d'assistance, j'ai rapidement réalisé qu'il était impossible à utiliser dans le monde réel. Personne à part les ultra riches n'a la bande passante pour installer de nouvelles cartes dans des endroits reculés. Dommage pour iNavX, Dommage pour les utilisateurs d'iPad. Dieu merci pour OpenCpn. Ce n'est pas sur iPad mais est facilement disponible sur toutes les autres plateformes, et plus de cartes à venir bientôt.

  6. Changer d’application de cartographie se résume à 1 click vers le store… Bye bye iNavX, il y a plein d’autres choix.
    L’aprentissage d’une nouvelle application demande un certain effort certes, mais loin d’être infranchissable. On est vraiment rendu à l’air du jetable. Quand à racheter la cartographie, pour la plupart d’entre nous, un an d’abonnement pour moins que le prix d’un plein d’essence…

  7. Tout cela est bien triste car Inavx restait une application utile avec les cartes Navionics quand GEOGARAGE ne propose pas dans son catalogue de cartographie détaillée (ex : Suede – Baltique)
    Maintenant que les cartes Navionics ne sont plus accessibles via Inavx et que les cartes proposées sont inutilisables vers quoi se tourner quand W4D et la carto Géogarage n’existe pas ???
    Francis si vous avez une solution pérenne à suggérer on sera surement plusieurs intéressés.
    Cdt

    1. C’est très simple : pour 31€ tu as Navioncs Boating et l’Europe entière. Je l’utilise en double de Weather4D pour les atterrissages où SHOM et UKHO manquent de détail. Je regrette seulement que la fonction SplitView ne soit pas supportée pour mettre en parallèle de W4D.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.