Heading management in Weather4VR

In the game Virtual Regatta, we can program headings, either manually, either using Expert mode (programming) or with the routing option. Headings can be, either in compass mode (default mode), either in wind mode, by activating the lock in the interface. This is the "autopilot wind control" mode well known by sailors in real life.

 

Weather4VR integrates this system into its routing module, by differentiating the legs to be made in compass mode (HDG for Heading) and those to be performed in wind mode (TWA for True Wind Angle). This last mode is preferred as soon as the routing plans to tack (tack upwind) or perform gybes (tack downwind) in order to adopt the best wind gain angle, the famous VMG (¹). It maintains a constant angle with the direction of the wind.

Once the routing is performed, and of course according to the direction to follow and the different directions of the wind to meet, the programming points to be exported into the game will be HDG or TWA points. These will be indicated with the angles respecting the speed polar included in the game., and therefore the angles of maximum VMG deduced from this polar. In the interface Expert we can visualize these angles of VMG max, which differ according to the wind speed and the sail set used.

In Weather4VR this results in a programming table, and of course the plot of the calculated legs on the map. The heading HDG is followed by the letter T for True (true heading = geographic) and the TWA heading is followed by the letter S for Starbord (tribord) or P for Port (port).

Do not confuse the TWA legs of the programming which are indicated with the angle of the selected VMG, and the heading on the map resulting from this mode :

You will notice that the dotted lines showing the actual track made by the boat reproduced from the game interface, may differ slightly from programming. Actually during successive updates in the weather forecast game (16 times a day) there may be fluctuations in wind direction and strength. This changes the route performed since in TWA mode we keep a constant angle with the wind.

And for any questions regarding the use of Weather4VR join the Facebook group of Weather4VR users. You can learn much more !

–––
(¹) See article VMG / VMC for dummies
–––

French version

English version

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
–––

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

4 Replies to “Heading management in Weather4VR”

  1. Hello. Thank you for your articles. I just installed Weather4VR, and I only see HDGs in my routings, no TWA. Has constant wind mode been removed, or is it just that the router itself chooses to be in HDG mode ? Thank you.

  2. Hello, like everything (good) browser on Mac, I am using Weather 4D Routing on my boat but I cannot find the Imoca polars to put them in my Ipad to do the routing. I use a 60′ but which does not correspond at all to the speed of current Imoca. How to do ?

Comments are closed.

La gestion des caps dans Weather4VR

Dans le jeu Virtual Regatta, on peut programmer des caps, soit manuellement, soit en utilisant le mode Expert (programmation) ou encore avec l’option de routage. Les caps peuvent être, soit en mode compas (par défaut), soit en mode vent, en activant le verrou dans l’interface. C’est le mode « régulateur d’allure » bien connu des navigateurs in real life.

 

Weather4VR intègre ce système dans son module de routage, en différenciant les bords à effectuer en mode compas (HDG pour Heading) et ceux à effectuer en mode vent (TWA pour True Wind Angle). Ce dernier mode est privilégié dès lors que le routage prévoit de tirer des bords (louvoyer vent de face) ou effectuer des empannages (louvoyer vent arrière) afin d’adopter le meilleur angle de gain au vent, le fameux VMG (¹). Il maintient un angle constant avec l’orientation du vent.

Une fois le routage effectué, et bien entendu selon la direction à suivre et les différentes orientations du vent à rencontrer, les points de programmation à exporter dans le jeu seront des points HDG ou TWA. Ces derniers seront indiqués avec les angles respectant la polaire de vitesse intégrée au jeu, et donc les angles de VMG maximum déduits de cette polaire. Dans l’interface Expert on peut visualiser ces angles de VMG max, qui diffèrent selon la force du vent et le jeu de voile adopté.

Dans Weather4VR cela se traduit par un tableau de programmation, et bien entendu le tracé des bords calculés sur la carte. Le cap HDG est suivi de la lettre T pour True (cap vrai = géographique) et le cap TWA est suivi de la lettre S pour Starbord (tribord) ou P pour Port (babord).

Il ne faut pas confondre les bords TWA de la programmation qui sont indiqués avec l’angle du VMG sélectionné, et le cap sur la carte résultant de ce mode :

Vous noterez que les pointillés affichant la trace réelle effectuée par le bateau reproduite depuis l’interface du jeu, peuvent différer légèrement de la programmation. En effet lors des mises à jour successives dans le jeu des prévisions météo (16 fois par jour) il peut y avoir des fluctuations de l’orientation et la force du vent. Ceci modifie la route effectuée puisque en mode TWA on garde un angle constant avec le vent.

Et pour toute question concernant l’utilisation de Weather4VR rejoignez le groupe Facebook des utilisateurs de Weather4VR. Vous pourrez en apprendre bien davantage !

–––
(¹) Voir l’article VMG/VMC pour les nuls
–––

Version française

Version anglaise

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
–––

Facebooktwittermail

4 Replies to “La gestion des caps dans Weather4VR”

  1. Bonjour. Merci pour vos articles. Je viens d’installer Weather4VR, et je ne vois dans mes routages que des HDG pas de TWA. Le mode vent constant a-t-il été retiré, ou est-ce simplement que le routeur choisit de lui-même d’être en mode HDG ? Merci.

    1. C’est tout à fait normal, le routage ne propose pas encore de route de louvoyage, ça viendra en arrivant sur les Açores.

  2. Bonjour, comme tout (bon) navigateur sur Mac, j’utilise Weather 4D Routage sur mon bateau mais je ne trouve pas les polaires Imoca pour les rentrer dans mon Ipad pour faire le routage. J’utilise une polaire d’un 60′ mais qui ne correspond pas du tout à la vitesse des Imoca actuels. Comment faire ?

Les commentaires sont fermés.