Weather4VR – Expert routing

Up to version 1.1.10, Weather4VR offered 3 routing options : Fast, Normal, Precise (the last two with subscription). With version 1.1.11, the option Precise is replaced by the option Expert. This function allows extremely fine tuning for experienced gamers.

 

One tap on Expert option opens Routing settings popup window offering the following options :

  • Angle range (Search angle) : from 90° up to 260° by 10° steps. This is the opening angle of the research area in which isochrones will develop. Default 180°. The selected angle must take into account the geographical environment of the direct route to the waypoint (position of the coast bordering the route). Too much open, the angle can cause divergent routes.
  • Angle step (Angular step) : angle steps within the range of search angle, from 1° up to 5°. This is the calculation angle from each point selected on each isochrone. With a search angle 180° and an angular step 3°, 60 routes will be calculated from each selected point on each isochronous. The smaller the angle, the more computing power is needed.
  • Isochronous steps according to 3 calculation time ranges. This is the simulation step. The more it is reduced, the greater the precision, but the longer the calculation. Beyond 48 hours, the reliability of the weather forecast decreasing, the adoption of a reduced step becomes less relevant :
    • Up to 12 hour stepss : step 10 mn, 30 mn, 1 h.
    • From 12 to 48 hours : step 1 h, 3 h, 6h.
    • Beyond 48 hours : step 1 h, 3 h, 6 h.
  • Intermediate points calculation : for each duration range, with 0 to 6 intermediate points allow the wind to be averaged between two isochrones. This is especially interesting in Wind Mode to follow the minimal variations in orientation that can occur between two isochrones.
  • Wind Mode. This is the "keep pace" mode when the lock is activated in Virtual Regatta, the heading keeps the angle with the wind :
    • Never : no activation of this mode in routing programmation. (¹)
    • VMG Max : activation respecting the VMG Max of the polar. (²)
    • Always : activate wind mode for all programming points.
    • Only 12 early hours : enabled or not.

The default settings of Expert mode correspond approximately to the Precise mode of the old version. The purpose of Expert mode is to provide an advanced routing adjustment tool, which will be particularly useful for seasoned gamers.

Reminder, Fast and Normal modes :

Do not forget, however, that routing is only a decision aid that must be part of a global strategy. This must be based on a good analysis of the long-term weather evolution, the follow-up of the competitors enabled by the routing of the boats followed in Weather4VR, and a great dose of intuition ! 

–––
(¹) See article Heading management in Weather4VR
(²) See article VMG / VMC for dummies
–––

French version

English version

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
–––

mail

5 Replies to “Weather4VR – Expert routing”

  1. Great news!
    Is it also possible to leave the isochrones at the end of the routing calculation? (that would be erased after a tap) rather than erasing them immediately. Because more than the calculated final routing, it is the reading of isochrones that will inform us about the value of one option over another. A calculated routing can be successful for 3 hours or for 3 min. It's silly to change the option to 3 min.
    And then bravo for your Camivan race!

    1. Olivier Bouyssou answered this question on Weather4VR users FB group, I quote : "Regarding the routing algorithm I am not yet sure whether to adopt the current W4VR algorithm over W4D. On the other hand, the exclusion zones, penalties on maneuvers, etc, yes. Actually, I am currently working on the use of graphics processors for the routing calculation and this opens up new perspectives on the routing algorithms… "

Comments are closed.

Weather4VR – Le routage Expert

Jusqu’à la version 1.1.10, Weather4VR proposait 3 options de routage : Rapide, Normal, Précis (les deux derniers avec abonnement). Avec la version 1.1.11, l’option Précis est remplacée par l’option Expert. Cette fonction permet de réaliser un réglage extrêmement fin pour les joueurs avertis.

 

Un tap sur l’option Expert ouvre la fenêtre des Réglages du routage proposant les options suivantes :

  • Plage d’angle (Angle de recherche) : de 90° à 260° par pas de 10°. C’est l’angle d’ouverture du champ de recherche dans lequel vont se développer les isochrones. Par défaut 180°. L’ouverture choisie doit tenir compte de l’environnement géographique de la route directe vers le point de destination (position de la côte bordant le trajet). Trop ouvert, l’angle peut provoquer des routages divergents.
  • Pas d’angle (Pas angulaire) : pas des angles dans l’éventail de l’angle de recherche, de 1° à 5°. C’est l’angle de calcul à partir de chaque point sélectionné sur chaque isochrone. Avec un angle de recherche de 180° et un pas angulaire de 3°, 60 routes seront calculées depuis chaque point sélectionné sur chaque isochrone. Plus l’angle est réduit, plus la puissance de calcul est nécessaire.
  • Pas des isochrones selon 3 fourchettes de durée de calcul. C’est le pas de simulation. Plus il est réduit, plus grande est la précision, mais plus le calcul est long. Au-delà de 48 heures, la fiabilité de la prévision météo diminuant, l’adoption d’un pas réduit devient moins pertinente :
    • Jusqu’à 12 heures : pas de 10 mn, 30 mn, 1 h.
    • De 12 à 48 heures : pas de 1 h, 3 h, 6h.
    • Au-delà de 48 heures : pas de 1 h, 3 h, 6 h.
  • Points intermédiaires de calcul : pour chaque fourchette de durée, de 0 à 6 points intermédiaires permettent de moyenner le vent entre deux isochrones. Cela est surtout intéressant en Mode Vent pour suivre les variations minimes d’orientation qui peuvent se produire entre deux isochrones.
  • Mode Vent. C’est le mode “conservateur d’allure” quand le verrou est activé dans Virtual Regatta, le cap conserve l’angle avec le vent :
    • Jamais : pas d’activation de ce mode dans la programmation du routage. (¹)
    • VMG Max : activation du mode en respectant le VMG Max de la polaire. (²)
    • Toujours : activer le mode vent pour tous les points de programmation.
    • Uniquement les 12 premières heures : activé ou non.

Les réglages par défaut du mode Expert correspondent approximativement au mode Précis de l’ancienne version. Le mode Expert a pour but d’apporter un outil de réglage avancé du routage, qui sera particulièrement utile aux joueurs chevronnés.

Pour rappel, modes Rapide et Normal :

N’oublions pas, cependant, que le routage n’est qu’une aide à la décision qui doit s’inscrire dans une stratégie globale. Celle-ci doit s’appuyer sur une bonne analyse de l’évolution météo à long terme, le suivi des concurrents permis par le routage des bateaux suivis dans Weather4VR, et une bonne dose de flair ! 

–––
(¹) Voir l’article La gestion des caps dans Weather4VR
(²) Voir l’article VMG/VMC pour les nuls
–––

Version française

Version anglaise

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
–––

Facebooktwittermail

5 Replies to “Weather4VR – Le routage Expert”

  1. Super nouvelle!
    Est t’il envisageable aussi de laisser à la fin du calcul de routage les isochrones (qui s’effaceraient après un tap) plutôt que de les effacer immédiatement. Car plus que le routage final calculé, c’est la lecture des isochrones qui va nous informer sur l’intérêt d’une option par rapport à une autre. Un routage calculé peut être gagnant pour 3h ou pour 3 min. C’est idiot de changer d’option pour 3 min.
    Et puis bravo pour ta course Camivan!

  2. Quand pourra t-on bénéficier des fonctionnalités de Weather4VR sur Weather4d, zônes d’exclusion, mode expert ?

    1. Olivier Bouyssou a répondu à cette question sur le groupe FB des utilisateurs de Weather4VR, je cite : “Concernant l’algorithme de routage je ne suis encore certain d’adopter l’algorithme actuel de W4VR sur W4D. Par contre les zones d’exclusion, les pénalités sur les manœuvres, etc, oui. En fait, je travaille actuellement sur l’utilisation des processeurs graphiques pour le calcul du routage et cela ouvre des nouvelles perspectives sur les algorithmes de routage…”

    1. En fait non et ce n’est pas prévu. On ne fait pas de routage sur inshore, c’est un jeu sur des parcours entre quelques bouées.

Les commentaires sont fermés.