iPhone 5 and GPS

Qualcomm MDM9615

Source : iFixit

iPhone 5With iPad 3, Apple dropped the A-GPS chipsets from Broadcom BCM475x series that equipped the iPad 1 and 2 and iPhone 4. Since the iPhone 4S and iPad 3, 'New iPad (¹), it is now Qualcomm company which provides Apple devices a modem integrating all communication features, series Gobi ™ modems (²).

iPhone 5 is featured with one of the last range modems Qualcomm Gobi ™, MDM9615 4G LTE. This fifth-generation processor supports the latest technologies of communication networks : TD-SCDMA, TD-LTE, LTE FDD and TDD spanning the world, while being compatible with HSPA and EV-DO (³). In addition, this processor chip integrates a GPS receiver called "gpsOneGen 8A" supporting the Russian GLONASS satellite network. Unfortunately, no further details are available on the chip (number of channels, sensitivity, WAAS/EGNOS receiving).

Gobi modems

Specifications 4G LTE modems

For Apple, MDM9615 saves space and energy. But above all the support of TD-SCDMA is an easy entrance to China, where this particular standard is used by China Mobile, that controls 70% market with no less than 650 million subscribers, as an alternative to W-CDMA.

So we find in the iPhone 5 :

  • Modem Qualcomm MDM9615 4G LTE (GPS embedded)
  • Three-axis gyroscope STMicroelectronics L3G4200D (iPhone 4S, iPad 2)
  • Three axes linear accelerometer STMicroelectronics LIS331DLH

All these parts combine to provide instant location and movements of device, the use of various applications, including sea and air navigation. Remains, as for the iPad 3, to verify the performance of the GPS chipset, hoping it is at least equivalent to those of Broadcom.


(¹) Why I keep my ipad 1
(²) Qualcomm Gobi ® Modems
(³) See network standards guide de MacGeneration

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

iPhone 5 et GPS

Qualcomm MDM9615

Source : iFixit

iPhone 5Avec l’iPad 3, Apple a abandonné les chipsets A-GPS de la série BCM475x de Broadcom qui équipaient les iPad 1 et 2 et les iPhone 4.  Depuis l’iPhone 4S et l’iPad 3, dit Nouvel iPad (¹), c’est désormais la société Qualcomm qui fournit aux appareils Apple un modem intégrant toutes les fonctions de communication, la série Gobi™ modems (²).

L’iPhone 5 est équipé de l’un des derniers modems de la gamme Gobi™ de Qualcomm, le MDM9615 4G LTE. Ce processeur de cinquième génération prend en charge les plus récentes technologies des réseaux de communication : TD-SCDMA, TD-LTE, LTE FDD et TDD couvrant le monde entier, tout en étant compatible avec le HSPA+ et EV-DO (³). De plus ce processeur intègre une puce de réception GPS dénommée « gpsOneGen 8A » supportant le réseau de satellites russes GLONASS. Malheureusement, aucune autre précision n’est disponible concernant cette puce (nombre de canaux, sensibilité, réception WAAS/EGNOS).

Gobi modems

Spécifications des modems 4G LTE

Pour Apple, le MDM9615 permet une économie d’espace et de consommation d’énergie. Mais par-dessus tout le support du TD-SCDMA facilite l’ouverture vers la Chine où cette norme spécifique est utilisée par China Mobile, qui contrôle 70% du marché avec pas moins de 650 millions d’abonnés, comme alternative à la technologie W-CDMA.

On trouve donc dans l’iPhone 5 :

  • Modem Qualcomm MDM9615 4G LTE (GPS encapsulé)
  • Pseudo-gyroscope trois axes STMicroelectronics L3G4200D (iPhone 4S, iPad 2)
  • Accéléromètre linéaire trois axes STMicroelectronics LIS331DLH

Tous ces éléments concourent à fournir les informations instantanées de positionnement et de mouvements de l’appareil, à l’usage de nombreuses applications, dont la navigation maritime et aérienne. Reste, comme pour l’iPad 3, à vérifier les performances de ce chipset GPS, en espérant qu’il soit au moins équivalent à ceux de Broadcom.


(¹) Pourquoi je vais conserver mon ipad 1
(²) Qualcomm Gobi® Modems
(³) Voir le guide des normes réseau de MacGeneration

Facebooktwittermail