Weather4D


Weather4D sur Mac M1

We have been talking about it since 2020 on the Facebook group of Weather4D users, and often in the support, Weather4D Routing & Navigation now works on Macs with M1 processors, with MacOS 11.x system ("Big Sur" and following). Read more …

Weather4D User Guides and SplitView Feature [Update]

For those who don't know yet, from iOS 11 it is possible to run two applications simultaneously on an iPad in landscape mode (¹). This is particularly useful for consulting User Manuals for different versions of Weather4D Read more …

Weather4D Routing User Guide

New publication of the Weather4D Routing User Manual in French. Warning, this is a new version to download which replaces the previous one (¹). The old guide should be removed from your library in the Apple Books app.

Weather4D Lite User Manual

New publication of the Weather4D Lite User Manual in French. Warning, this is a new version to download which replaces the previous one (¹). The old guide should be removed from your library in the Apple Books app.

Alternative weather models

For several years, forecast files in GRIB format have been widely used in meteorological applications.. The majority of forecast models have been made freely available by the meteorological services, all countries included. Of Read more …

Predict thunderstorms with Weather4D

In Weather4D applications (all versions) most weather models offer a data called the CAPE. Convective Available Potential Energy, in French : Energie potentielle de convection disponible. Behind this abstruse acronym hides a powerful tool for forecasting thunderstorms. The Read more …

The Logbook in Weather4D Routing & Navigation

With update 2.0.57 entering a logbook is now available in Weather4D Routing & Navigation. Data transfer in the Navygatio web interface (¹) allows logbook entries to be recorded in near real time Read more …

Weather4D and iOS Local Network

From iOS / iPadOS version 14.5, a new setting has appeared proposing to allow application access to the Local Network. This option is offered when installing a new application, but is not necessarily activated if the application is already installed when Read more …

Weather4D Routing User Guide & Navigation

New publication of the Weather4D Routing User Manual & Navigation French version. Warning, this is a new version to download which replaces the previous one (¹). The old guide should be removed from your library in the Apple Books app.

Navygatio : Weather4D's 5th dimension [Update]

Weather4D Routing & Navigation brings a major innovation : the Navygatio service (¹), a web interface which will allow to record the navigations on a server as time goes by, to add photos, to share own page with relatives, Read more …

Sea state : interpret wave patterns

In Weather4D, as generally in other applications, sea ​​state forecasts are described by ocean models. The most used is the WW3 model (Wave Watch III), published by the FNMOC (Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center) Read more …

Routing : from reality to game (episode 3)

While, this morning of the 9th day, Hugo Boss at the head of the Vendée Globe 2020 finishes crossing the "Doldrums" at a slow trot(¹), followed by the fleet of competitors stretching out behind him to the north of the Read more …

Routing : from game to reality (continue)

Friday 13 November will not be a lucky day for the Vendée Globe skippers 2020 (¹). They will have to negotiate the meeting with the tropical storm "Theta" which crosses their course with average winds that can Read more …

Routing : from game to reality

On the second day of racing in this Vendée Globe 2020, we can say that the weather conditions that the skippers will experience on the descent to the Doldrums will be particularly tough. After a start by a weather Read more …

Weather4D embarks on the Vendée Globe 2020 [Break News]

No, This is not a joke ! Weather4D embarks with SailGrib on the Vendée Globe 2020 with Virtual Regatta. The two friends Henri and Olivier have jointly developed a routing module directly integrated into the game. Philippe Guigné, charts portfolio on Read more …

Weather4D Routing & Navigation supports Imray charts

With yesterday's delivery of the version 2.0.54, Weather4D Adds Imray Cards (¹) to the Routing version & Navigation, recently available in the Geogarage catalog. Five layers cover the Atlantic facade (²) , North Sea and Shetlands Read more …

Geogarage to introduce ENC charts for Weather4D

Geogarage, the mapping platform of raster charts derived from official services, today introduced two ENC-S57 rasterized charts layers for Weather4D Routing & Navigation, covering Spain and Croatia. The recent update June, 12 June Read more …

Weather4D and SailGrib improve the AIS network

Many AIS tracking networks broadcast over the Internet are available. Among the best known : Marine Traffic, Vessel Finder, SiiTech, LocalizaTodo, and many others. One of these networks especially stands out, AIS Hub, a data sharing center Read more …

VMG / VMC – for Dummies

Navigation applications are full of acronyms. This coded and cryptic language was originally developed for electronic navigation instruments, GPS mapping and other chartplotters. These acronyms, in the form of three letters most often, are contracting Read more …

Man Over Board

At all times the sailors had the fear of the sea fall. Even with a trained crew, the operation of recovering a crew water fallen is risky, Already with the engine, even more with the sail. Read more …

Weather4D – User Guides updated

Christmas comes soon, and Apple Books Store will close its doors for the holidays. Publishers are required to send their works according to a prescribed schedule. So I updated ahead textbooks users in French and English Read more …

New for Weather4D

The last update of the three applications Weather4D (Lite, Routing, Routing & Navigation) several user-requested improvements in the display of meteograms. But what is less obvious is a big job on our maps in Read more …

Weather4D makes its (r)evolution

Hear, hear ye, hardy boaters, new Weather4D applications come up ! I wrote "the" in the plural. Both historical applications of Sarl APP4NAV,  Weather4D (March 2011) et Weather4D Pro (November 2011 ), evolve into the interface of the now famous Read more …

iOS 11 and navigation applications

Among the many new features provided by iOS 11, I particularly enjoyed the improved multitasking functions. The addition of a retractable "Dock" in the MacOS way, the "SlideOver" function associated with the "SplitView" function already present in iOS 10. This will greatly improve Read more …

Digital charts : purchase or subscription [Update] ?

[Update 3 March 2019] With the multiple charts disappearances during the successive updates of iNavX, I received a number of requests for assistance in the recovery of the said charts. Regardless of whether I am Read more …

Weather4D 2.0.20 The unlimited charting

We hoped for months, were expected, We waited - or we grew impatient, it depends - Well, here it is : last update Weather4D 2.0.20 is finally available ! On the menu a major improvement : charts portfolio on Read more …

Iridium Mail & Web : GRIB weather files on iPhone and iPad in open sea [Update-2]

[Update 15 February 2019] The recent update of the Iridium Mail app & Web gives me the opportunity to refresh the ticket originally written in December 2011. RedPort's Wi-Fi Optimizer gateway allows owners Read more …

The Weather4D 2.0 new is arrived

No holiday for developers ! I mentioned the upcoming new features tests during our long journey from Corsica to Normandy last May. After several weeks of finalization, and especially to early adaptation to future Read more …

Weather4D 2.0.11 a bunch of new features and improvements

Delivered in AppStore this morning after two weeks of revisions and contre-revisions of Apple services, still more picky, the new version is finally available. On the menu and in bulk : AIS by internet with AISHub, and direct access to Geogarage Read more …

Buy charts on Geogarage

Weather4D Routing & Navigation offers a variety of raster maps from numerous international hydrographic services. Charts folders are available for application on the French web server Geogarage. The cards are subject to an annual subscription by publisher Read more …

Weather4D 2.0 revisits navigation on iPad [Update]

Weather4D 2.0 is available on the Apple AppStore (*). After the success of the first two versions, APP4NAV company just revisit chart navigation on iPad and iPhone by integrating the timing dimension. With simulations and weather routing, Read more …

iPolar 2.0 and new Weather4D arrived

iPolar 2.0 comes with several improvements, which one expected from the origin : the ability to export the polar by mail. Done, and more export of polar (simple or multi-voiles) is done systematically in 3 file formats : CSV, Read more …

Weather4D still makes greater finesse

With the basic 1.3.3 and PRO versions 1.3.9 delivered in November, Weather4D had replaced the GRIB files fine mesh Great Circle by its own files based on the American model WRF (¹), based on its own Read more …

ENCs, Routing and sailing shaves stone

The relationship of a recent experience of an iNavX user and Weather4D PRO routing function invites me to bring a warning to the attention of novices boaters in computer use. A regatta course, starting Read more …

Weather4D PRO 1.3.3 improves routing

Improvements… No respite for this application : two and half months after joining the currents in the routing calculation, this latest version provides significant advances on this function. Improvements bring greater precision Read more …

Weather4D PRO 1.3.2 adds the currents in the routing

With version 1.3.2, Weather4D PRO allows to get and display currents as GRIB data. At first, currents available on subscription are provided by the company Tidetech, I mentioned there are already some Read more …

iPolar generates speed polars for Weather4D PRO

You dreamed of it since Weather4D Pro has featured its powerful routing module. He did ! Our Toulousian crazy developer, Olivier Bouyssou, just sent Apple a new app : iPolar. Developed in collaboration with - and for the Read more …

Vendée Globe 2012 and weather routing

During the morning of the Vendée Globe 2012, highly publicized (The palms à the>TELE for retransmission from 9:00 until 14:00 without interruption, immediately behind BFMTV) routing options weather raining on all sides. With Weather4D PRO the analysis Read more …

Routing comes up in Weather4D PRO 1.3

After several months of intensive development and testing, under the conditions mentioned in a previous post, Olivier Bouyssou propose to the date of the last Grand Pavois PRO version Weather4D 1.3.0. No additional cost, the routing module will Read more …

mail

Weather4D


Manuels Weather4D et fonction SplitView [MAJ]

Pour ceux qui ne le sauraient pas encore, depuis iOS 11 il est possible de faire tourner deux applications simultanément sur un iPad en mode paysage (¹). C’est particulièrement pratique pour consulter les Manuels utilisateur des différentes versions de Weather4D Lire la suite …

Manuel utilisateur Weather4D Routage

Nouvelle publication du Manuel utilisateur de Weather4D Routage en version française. Attention, il s’agit d’une nouvelle version à télécharger qui remplace la précédente (¹). L’ancien manuel doit être supprimé de votre bibliothèque dans l’application Apple Livres.

Manuel utilisateur Weather4D Lite

Nouvelle publication du Manuel utilisateur de Weather4D Lite en version française. Attention, il s’agit d’une nouvelle version à télécharger qui remplace la précédente (¹). L’ancien manuel doit être supprimé de votre bibliothèque dans l’application Apple Livres.

Les modèles météo alternatifs

Depuis plusieurs années les fichiers de prévisions au format GRIB se sont généralisés dans les applications de météorologie. La majorité des modèles de prévisions ont été mis à disposition en accès libre par les services météorologiques, tous pays confondus. Des Lire la suite …

Prévoir les orages avec Weather4D

Dans les applications Weather4D (toutes versions) la plupart des modèles météo proposent une donnée appelée la CAPE. Convective Available Potential Energy, en français : Energie potentielle de convection disponible. Derrière cet acronyme abscons se cache un puissant outil de prévision des orages. La Lire la suite …

Le Journal de bord dans Weather4D Routage & Navigation

Avec la mise à jour 2.0.57 la saisie d’un journal de bord est désormais disponible dans Weather4D Routage & Navigation. Le transfert des données dans l’interface web Navygatio (¹) permet d’enregistrer les saisies du journal de bord en temps quasi-réel Lire la suite …

Weather4D et Réseau Local iOS

Depuis la version iOS/iPadOS 14.5, un nouveau réglage est apparu proposant d’autoriser l’accès des applications au Réseau local. Cette option est proposée à l’installation d’une nouvelle application, mais n’est pas forcément activée si l’application est déjà installée lors de la Lire la suite …

Manuel utilisateur Weather4D Routage & Navigation

Nouvelle publication du Manuel utilisateur de Weather4D Routage & Navigation en version française. Attention, il s’agit d’une nouvelle version à télécharger qui remplace la précédente (¹). L’ancien manuel doit être supprimé de votre bibliothèque dans l’application Apple Livres.

Navygatio : La 5e dimension de Weather4D [MAJ]

Weather4D Routage & Navigation apporte une nouveauté de taille : le service Navygatio (¹), une interface web qui va permettre d’enregistrer les navigations sur un serveur au fil de l’eau, d’y ajouter des photos, de partager sa page avec des proches, Lire la suite …

Etat de la mer : interpréter les modèles de vagues

Dans Weather4D, comme généralement dans d’autres applications, les prévisions de l’état de la mer sont décrites par des modèles océaniques. Le plus utilisé est le modèle WW3 (Wave Watch III), publié par le FNMOC (Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center) Lire la suite …

Routage : de la réalité au jeu (épisode 3)

Alors que, ce matin du 9e jour, Hugo Boss en tête du Vendée globe 2020 finit de franchir au petit trot le « Pot au Noir » (¹), suivi par la flotte des concurrents qui s’étale derrière lui jusqu’au nord des Lire la suite …

Routage : du jeu à la réalité (suite)

Vendredi 13 novembre ne sera pas un jour de chance pour les skippers du Vendée Globe 2020 (¹). Ils vont devoir négocier la rencontre avec la tempête tropicale « Theta » qui croise leur parcours avec des vents moyens pouvant Lire la suite …

Routage : du jeu à la réalité

Au deuxième jour de course de ce Vendée Globe 2020, on peut dire que les conditions météo que vont subir les skippers dans la descente vers le Pot au Noir vont être particulièrement musclées. Après un départ par un temps Lire la suite …

Weather4D embarque sur le Vendée Globe 2020 [Break News]

Non, ce n’est pas une blague ! Weather4D embarque avec SailGrib sur le Vendée Globe 2020 avec Virtual Regatta. Les deux compères Henri et Olivier ont développé ensemble un module de routage directement intégré dans le jeu. Philippe Guigné, le Lire la suite …

Weather4D Routage & Navigation supporte les cartes Imray

Avec la livraison hier de la version 2.0.54, Weather4D ajoute les cartes Imray (¹) à la version Routage & Navigation, récemment disponibles au catalogue de Geogarage. Cinq dossiers couvrent la façade Atlantique (²) , de la Mer du Nord et des Shetlands Lire la suite …

Geogarage introduit les cartes ENC pour Weather4D

Geogarage, la plateforme cartographique de cartes raster dérivées des services officiels, introduit ce jour deux jeux de cartes ENC S-57 rasterisées pour Weather4D Routage & Navigation, couvrant l’Espagne et la Croatie. La récente mise à jour du 12 juin de Lire la suite …

Weather4D et SailGrib améliorent le réseau AIS

De nombreux réseaux de tracking AIS retransmis par internet sont disponibles. Parmi les plus connus : Marine Traffic, Vessel Finder, SiiTech, LocalizaTodo, et bien d’autres. Un de ces réseaux se démarque particulièrement, AIS Hub, un centre de partage de données Lire la suite …

VMG / VMC – pour les nuls

Les applications de navigation regorgent d’acronymes. Ce langage codé et abscons a été à l’origine développé pour les instruments électroniques de navigation, GPS cartographiques et autres traceurs. Ces acronymes, sous la forme de trois lettres le plus souvent, sont la contraction Lire la suite …

Man Over Board

De tous temps les marins ont eu la hantise de la chute à la mer. Même avec un équipage entraîné, la manœuvre de récupération d’un équipier tombé à l’eau est hasardeuse, déjà au moteur, mais encore plus à la voile. Lire la suite …

Weather4D – Mise à jour des manuels utilisateurs

C’est bientôt Noël, et Apple Books Store va fermer ses portes pour les vacances. Les éditeurs sont tenus d’envoyer leurs ouvrages selon un calendrier imposé. J’ai donc mis à jour en avance les manuels utilisateurs en français et en anglais Lire la suite …

Du nouveau pour Weather4D

La dernière mise à jour des trois applications Weather4D (Lite, Routage, Routage & Navigation) apporte plusieurs améliorations dans l’affichage des météogrammes réclamées par les utilisateurs. Mais ce qui est moins visible est un gros travail sur l’affichage des cartes dans Lire la suite …

Weather4D fait sa (r)évolution

Oyez, oyez, hardis navigateurs, les applications Weather4D nouvelles arrivent ! J’ai bien écrit « les » au pluriel. Les deux applications historiques de la Sarl APP4NAV,  Weather4D (mars 2011) et Weather4D Pro (novembre 2011 ), évoluent vers l’interface de la désormais célèbre Lire la suite …

iOS 11 et les applications de navigation

Parmi les nombreuses nouveautés apportées par iOS 11, j’ai particulièrement apprécié l’amélioration des fonctions multitâches. L’ajout d’un « Dock » escamotable à la façon MacOS, la fonction « SlideOver » associée à la fonction « SplitView » déjà présente dans iOS 10. Cela va grandement améliorer Lire la suite …

Cartes marines numériques : achat ou abonnement [MAJ] ?

[MAJ du 3 mars 2019] Avec les multiples disparitions de cartes lors des mises à jour successives de iNavX, j’ai reçu un nombre conséquent de demandes d’assistance à la récupération des dites cartes. Indépendamment du fait que je ne suis Lire la suite …

Weather4D 2.0.20 La cartographie illimitée

On l’espérait depuis des mois, on l’attendait, on patientait – ou on s’impatientait, c’est selon – Eh bien, la voilà : la dernière mise à jour de Weather4D 2.0.20 est enfin disponible ! Au menu une amélioration majeure : le Lire la suite …

Iridium Mail & Web : les fichiers météo GRIB sur iPad et iPhone au grand large [MAJ-2]

[MAJ du 15 février 2019] La mise à jour récente de l’application Iridium Mail & Web me donne l’occasion de rafraîchir ce billet rédigé à l’origine en décembre 2011. La passerelle Wi-Fi Optimizer de la société RedPort permet aux possesseurs Lire la suite …

Le Weather4D 2.0 nouveau est arrivé

Pas de vacances pour les développeurs ! J’ai évoqué les tests des nouveautés à venir lors de notre long périple de la Corse à la Normandie en mai dernier. Après plusieurs semaines de finalisation, et surtout d’adaptation anticipée au futur Lire la suite …

Weather4D 2.0.11 un bouquet de nouveautés et d’améliorations

Livrée dans AppStore ce matin après deux semaines de révisions et contre-révisions des services d’Apple, toujours plus pointilleux, la nouvelle version est enfin disponible. Au menu et en vrac : AIS par internet avec AISHub, accès direct à Geogarage et Lire la suite …

Acheter les cartes marines sur Geogarage

Weather4D Routage & Navigation propose un choix de cartes raster issues de nombreux services hydrographiques internationaux. Les dossiers de cartes sont mis à disposition pour l’application par le serveur web français Geogarage. Les cartes font l’objet d’une souscription annuelle par éditeur Lire la suite …

Weather4D 2.0 revisite la navigation sur iPad [MAJ]

Weather4D 2.0 est disponible sur Apple AppStore (*). Après le succès des deux premières versions, la société APP4NAV vient revisiter la navigation cartographique sur iPad et iPhone en lui intégrant la dimension temporelle. Avec les simulations et le routage météo, Lire la suite …

iPolar 2.0 et Weather4D nouveaux sont arrivés

iPolar 2.0 arrive avec plusieurs améliorations, dont une attendue depuis l’origine : la possibilité d’exporter les polaires par mail. C’est fait, et de plus l’exportation des polaires (simples ou multi-voiles) se fait systématiquement en 3 formats de fichiers : CSV, Lire la suite …

Weather4D apporte encore plus de finesse

Avec les versions de base 1.3.3 et PRO 1.3.9 livrées en novembre dernier, Weather4D avait remplacé les fichiers GRIB à mailles fines de Great Circle par ses propres fichiers basés sur le modèle américain WRF (¹), calculés par ses propres Lire la suite …

Cartes électroniques, routage et rase-cailloux

La relation récente d’une expérience vécue par un utilisateur de iNavX et de la fonction routage de Weather4D PRO m’invite à apporter une mise en garde à l’attention des navigateurs novices dans l’utilisation de l’informatique. Un parcours de régate, départ Lire la suite …

Weather4D PRO 1.3.3 améliore encore le routage

Des améliorations… Pas de répit pour cette application : deux mois et demi après avoir intégré les courants dans le calcul du routage, cette dernière version présente des avancées significatives concernant cette fonction. Les améliorations apportent une plus grande précision Lire la suite …

Weather4D PRO 1.3.2 ajoute les courants dans le routage

Avec la version 1.3.2, Weather4D PRO permet d’obtenir et d’afficher des courants en tant que données GRIB. Dans un premier temps, les courants disponibles sont fournis sur souscription par la société Tidetech, dont j’ai parlé il y a déjà quelques Lire la suite …

iPolar génère des polaires pour Weather4D PRO

Vous en rêviez depuis que Weather4D Pro a intégré son puissant module de routage. Il l’a fait ! Notre développeur fou toulousain, Olivier Bouyssou, vient d’envoyer à Apple une nouvelle application : iPolar. Développée en collaboration avec — et pour le Lire la suite …

Vendée Globe 2012 et routage météo

Pendant cette matinée de départ du Vendée Globe 2012, fortement médiatisée (La palme à i>TELE pour une retransmission de 9h00 jusqu’à 14h00 sans interruption, immédiatement derrière BFMTV) les options de routage météo pleuvent de toute part. Avec Weather4D PRO l’analyse Lire la suite …

Le routage arrive dans Weather4D PRO 1.3

Après plusieurs mois de développement et de tests intensifs, dans les conditions évoquées dans un précédent billet, Olivier Bouyssou proposera à la date du Grand Pavois sa dernière version de Weather4D PRO 1.3.0. Sans coût supplémentaire, le module routage sera Lire la suite …

mail