Miniplex-3Wi-N2K Firmware Update 2.0

ShipModul just completed a major upgrade V.2.0.6 of MiniPlex-3 firmware. Once installed in the MiniPlex-3-N2K, it becomes a certified product NMEA2000®. To perform this update, it is imperative to download and install the new version of the utility MPX-Config3 V.2.4.1 (¹). the firmware update is integrated into the utility package. Read more …

Miniplex-3Wi-N2K : Major updates

ShipModul manufacturer comes to provide on its web site two major updates to dowload for its multiplexer Miniplex-3 :

  • Firmware Miniplex-3 V.1.17
  • Firmware Wireless V.1.4

Two update files, featured with a procedure (in English), are packaged in a single folder WiFi V1.4.0.0. Download. The implementation can be done with the configuration utility MPX-Config V.2.1.0 minimum, available in PC and Mac versions. Read more …

Connect instrument to an iPad with SEAMate 1A Lite WiFi

Seamate 1A LiteIn the spring 2008, company Mølgaard Marine House has developed one of the first WiFi multiplexers for pleasure in order to connect navigation equipment and AIS to onboard computer. If this product is still available today, however, it is surpassed by several recent products, already mentioned in this blog (¹), more efficient and cheaper.

Nevertheless, for holders of this unit, it is possible to configure iNavX to receive NMEA data transmitted. Richard Ray just give us a tutorial that will soon be added to iNavX Help (²). Read more …

iNavX and SiiTech AIS server

siitechiNavX allows connection, since version 3.1.7 from 11 October 2010, to the data server AIS SiiTech I mentioned in a previous post (¹). The benefit of this remains questionable in France because of the low coverage of our coasts. This may change.

Indeed, the number of SiiTech ground stations is increasing, the Channel coast are now well covered, and the Atlantic coast should be progressively equipped (²).

In addition, version 3.2.4 of iNavX comes with an improvement that makes a revival of interest for this feature : it is now available to select the origin point of AIS data from SiiTech server, the position of the ship (that of the iPhone / iPad used), or a previously created waypoint. The reception range is about 30 nautical miles from the place of origin, This greatly increases the coverage of AIS data reception.

Read more …

A test onboard with Navigation Mac

During a weekend of January a little sad, we joined the port of L'Herbaudière, Isle of Noirmoutier, via the picturesque Gois passage at low tide.

We, that is to say, a boating journalist, my wife and myself.

Welcomed by two "natives" from the country, Henry and Jean-Etienne. The latter giving us a superb Oceanis 347 for the first test board, in France, navigation applications on a Mac, iPad and iPhone. A big first, somehow. Read more …

MacENC, iNavX and TCP / IP

In spite of’iNavX online Help and some tutorials about this subject, a lot of requests received and complexity of subject imposed on me a quick explanation.

The TCP/IP protocol

TCP/IP means "Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol" and is pronounced "T-C-P-I-P".

TCP/IP is a communication protocol, built with a bunch of standardized rules on Internet communication and based on technics of providing a unique IP address at each network computer in order to route packets of data.

This protocol is built-in MacENC and iNavX to allow live transmit of NMEA data from marine instruments connected to the Mac. Read more …

Miniplex-3Wi-N2K Mise à jour firmware 2.0

ShipModul vient d’effectuer une mise à jour majeure V.2.0.6 du firmware du MiniPlex-3. Une fois installé dans le MiniPlex-3-N2K, celui-ci devient un produit certifié NMEA2000®. Pour effectuer cette mise à jour, il est impératif de télécharger et installer la nouvelle version de l’utilitaire MPX-Config3 V.2.4.1 (¹). la mise  à jour firmware étant intégrée au package de l’utilitaire. Lire la suite …

Miniplex-3Wi-N2K : Mises à jour majeures

Le fabricant ShipModul vient de mettre en téléchargement sur son site web deux mises à jour majeures de son multiplexeur Miniplex-3 :

  • Firmware Miniplex-3 V.1.17
  • Firmware Wi-Fi V.1.4

Les deux fichiers de mise à jour, accompagnés d’un mode opératoire (en anglais), sont packagés dans le dossier unique WiFi V1.4.0.0. à télécharger. La mise en oeuvre ne peut s’effectuer qu’avec l’utilitaire de configuration MPX-Config V.2.1.0 minimum, disponible en versions PC et Mac. Lire la suite …

Connecter les instruments à un iPad en WiFi avec le SeaMate 1A Lite

Seamate 1A LiteAu printemps 2008, la société Mølgaard Marine House a conçu un des premiers multiplexeurs WiFi pour la plaisance permettant de connecter des instruments de navigation et un AIS à un ordinateur embarqué. Si cet appareil est aujourd’hui toujours disponible, il est cependant dépassé par plusieurs produits récents, déjà évoqués dans ce blog (¹), plus performants et moins chers.

Malgré tout, pour les détenteurs de cet appareil, il est possible de configurer iNavX afin de recevoir les données NMEA transmises. Richard Ray vient de nous livrer un tutoriel qui sera prochainement ajouté à l’aide de iNavX (²). Lire la suite …

iNavX et le serveur AIS SiiTech

siitechiNavX permet de se connecter, depuis la version 3.1.7 du 11 octobre 2010, au serveur de données AIS SiiTech dont j’ai parlé dans un précédent billet (¹). L’intérêt de ce service restait discutable en France à cause de la faible couverture de nos côtes. Cela pourrait changer.

En effet, le nombre des stations terrestres de SiiTech est en augmentation, les côtes de la Manche sont désormais bien couvertes, et le littoral Atlantique devrait être progressivement équipé (²).

De plus, la version 3.2.4 de iNavX apporte une nouveauté qui relance l’intérêt de cette fonction : il sera désormais possible de choisir pour lieu d’origine des données AIS du serveur SiiTech, soit la position du navire (celle de l’iPhone/iPad utilisé), soit d’un waypoint préalablement créé. Le rayon de réception étant d’environ 30 milles nautiques autour du lieu d’origine, cela permet d’augmenter considérablement la couverture de réception des données AIS.

Lire la suite …

Un test embarqué avec Navigation Mac

Lors d’un week-end un peu triste de janvier, nous avons rallié le port de L’Herbaudière à Noirmoutier, en empruntant le pittoresque passage du Gois à marée basse.

Nous, c’est-à-dire un journaliste nautique, mon épouse-équipière et votre serviteur.

Accueillis par deux “naturels” du pays, Henri et Jean-Etienne. Ce dernier mettant à notre disposition son superbe Océanis 347 pour le premier test embarqué, en France, des applications de navigation sur Mac, iPad et iPhone. Une grande première, en quelque sorte. Lire la suite …

MacENC, iNavX et liaison TCP/IP

Malgré l’Aide en ligne de iNavX et les différents tutoriels sur le sujet, de fréquentes questions reçues et la complexité du sujet m’imposent un petit récapitulatif.

Le protocole TCP/IP

TCP/IP signifie « Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol » et se prononce “T-C-P-I-P”.

TCP/IP est un protocole de communication, constitué d’un ensemble des règles standardisées de communication sur internet et se base sur une technique consistant à fournir une adresse IP unique à chaque ordinateur du réseau afin de pouvoir acheminer des paquets de données.

Ce protocole est implémenté dans MacENC et iNavX afin de permettre l’échange de données NMEA provenant des instruments de navigation connectés au Mac. Lire la suite …