Charting


C-Map is the ping-pong ball for industrial groups

An event that occurred last summer escaped the vigilance that I try to maintain on the nautical economy. Fortunately my friends from Geogarage have just filled this gap. In the field of private electronic cartography, players Read more …

SHOM removes facsimiles from UK charts

With the latest update to the SHOM card portfolio on 16 September 2021, Geogarage announces the deletion of 18 facsimile charts from British charts covering, mainly, the south coast of England and Gibraltar. These areas are now only covered Read more …

The S-100 standard for ENC charts is quickly evolving [Update]

in May 1992, the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO) had adopted a standard aimed at defining the specifications of electronic charts, the ENC, used by ships, as well as the devices that display them, called ECDIS. This standard was Read more …

Electronic charts and updates… be prudent !

Over the last few years, I have expressed myself several times on the quality and reliability levels of the electronic charts we use in yachting., more particularly with the navigation applications of our mobile devices (¹). Since Read more …

Smart navigation – From paper charts to augmented reality

I relayed here, in French, an article in the British magazine Yachting Monthly (¹) charts portfolio on 30 th. The subject deals with the debate between paper charts and electronic navigation, by stating many truths, but sometimes one or two Read more …

The magnetic north pole on the move [Update]

The magnetic north pole of the Earth is rapidly moving away from the Canadian Arctic to Siberia. Scientists NCEI (¹) have updated the World Magnetic Model (WMM) 2020.

Geogarage to introduce ENC charts for Weather4D

Geogarage, the mapping platform of raster charts derived from official services, today introduced two ENC-S57 rasterized charts layers for Weather4D Routing & Navigation, covering Spain and Croatia. The recent update June, 12 June Read more …

Are electronic charts prescribed in France ? [Update]

This question comes back to me from time to time, and as no one is supposed to ignore the law, I feel obliged to make my contribution to the edification of the crowds (boating) providing a collective response.

Navionics Boating mutating

Since Garmin has acquired Navionics (¹), it will not take more than a year for Navionics also make its small (r)evolution in its flagship iOS and Android application . New logo, renouncing the multiplicity of applications, abandonment of Read more …

Fugawi charts service is discontinued [Update]

It's official, charts portfolio on 30 November 2018, Johnson Outdoors Company, recent recipient of Fugawi (*), decided to stop its activities. After discontinuing the distribution of their PC navigation software in August 2017, to have Read more …

Reading : « Beaufort, l’amiral du vent" by Raymond Reding

It's been a long time since I've written a book report in this section.... Lack of time, or lack of discovery ? I again found a real enthusiasm in literary reading this excellent book Read more …

The stakeholders of electronic charting [Update-2]

In April 2010 I published a ticket to be the main actors of the electronic mapping. Passing time, to refresh this information, due to recent corporate moves. Some have disappeared, as Maptech, plus Read more …

Digital charts : purchase or subscription [Update] ?

[Update 3 March 2019] With the multiple charts disappearances during the successive updates of iNavX, I received a number of requests for assistance in the recovery of the said charts. Regardless of whether I am Read more …

C-Map back to Europe

Yachtmen my friends, do you know Altor ? Of course not, don't look for, me either until this morning. Altor is an investor in Northern Europe that presents itself as : “Altor is a family of private investment funds focused Read more …

Does Navionics charting become dangerous [Update] ?

Since the beginning of the navigation season, many boaters have found an increasing number of errors on Navionics charts, as a result of recent updates, all media. A bit everywhere in Europe, Germany, Baltic countries, Read more …

Reading : 'Electronic charting' HS48 Voiles et Voiliers

Since late 2012 I found no more of maritime books causing me the overwhelming desire to share, like a few novels described in this topic 'Reading'. Today this feeling resumes me, in any other order of idea, up to Read more …

Raster Charts… the comeback [Update]

[Update 26 August 2018] I was for many years a strong advocate for vector maps. compact, a low numerical weight, easy to update, they are ideal for use on our mobile devices. According to the good old man Read more …

Navionics charts trade policy [Update-5]

Trade policy for Navionics charts purchased on the website x - traverse.com has - again - been reviewed in recent weeks, at the same time as the 'My Account' page has changed. These changes are unfortunately not the Read more …

Electronic charts : scales and overscale [Update]

A recent email exchange with a Mediterranean user drew my attention to a specific aspect of electronic charting : zoom limitation of a chart. ENC vector charts (¹) are classified in 6 categories based Read more …

Navionics Boating : Italian at the top of business [Update]

How make the new with the old ? Navionics knows ! After publishing geographic areas including a navigation application, now here is an application, but without charting. Italian are too much ! Navionics Boating vient compléter, from Read more …

British vector charts with NavLink

Early this year 2014 is decidedly fertile in new navigation applications. After NavPlay et Navionics Boating, Here NavLink UK edited by Digital Yacht. We know well that British company, located in Bristol, for these numerous devices for connecting Read more …

Charting, the game of 7 errors

A recent thread on the forum Oh and Hisse, I salute by the way, I challenged the accuracy of the chart data provided on the electronic charts. The issue concerns the fact that, in some location, Read more …

Disappearance of marine paper charts, Revolution or inevitable evolution ?

In its newsletter of 22 October 2013, l’Office of Coast Survey, Department of NOAA (*) responsible for the production of nautical charts of the U.S.A., announces the end of the printing paper charts. This announcement came as a bombshell Read more …

Charting compared, mixed results

Three weeks and 600 nautical miles of sailing between the mainland and the Balearic Islands have allowed me to test in live some of iPad maritime applications we have. Warning : there is no question of giving myself to a comparison Read more …

BlueChart Mobile, Garmin went up on iPad

After posting version 1.0 on August 1 2012 gone relatively unnoticed, Garmin updated version 1.0.3 fully completed of its app on January, 2 2013. BlueChart Mobile, today only for Apple iOS devices, Read more …

Imray Marine 2.0

The 7 June 2012, Imray has released its navigation app for iPhone and iPad. It is now a free app and includes online charts purchase directly from the application. Two Channel maps are always supplied as standard for Read more …

Plan2Nav the C-Map charting on iPhone/iPad

The application Jeppesen Marine Plan2Nav arrived on iTunes AppStore during September for iPhone and iPad. As I detailed in a previous post (¹), the Italian company C-Map has been owned 2007 by the US Jeppesen, leader in aerial mapping, dependent Read more …

Free ENC river charts for use with MacENC

As part of its policy to offer users a leak ever more efficient and safe, the public institution Waterways of France has launched the production of electronic inland navigation charts on different axes Read more …

iSailor, charts are available for France

Transas has updated the list of new maps available for iSailor, include coasts of France : ∙ Germany ∙ Australia ∙ Bermuda ∙ Canada ∙ Denmark ∙ Egypt ∙ Spain ∙ Estonia ∙ Finland ∙ France ∙ Read more …

Navionics Charts 2011

  Navionics recent weeks published new versions of its charts regions stamped 2011. A new file of Navionics charts “Gold Marine Charts 2011 "Has been added in the" Add more cards "function of iNavX. Read more …

Imray charts are coming on iPhone and iPad

A bit of history Imray, Laurie, Norie & Wilson LTD is private publisher of charts and nautical books the best known of England. It is also the oldest, heir of the first private publishers of nautical charts of the 18th century, the Read more …

Visit the ocean floor

NOAA has posted a superb animated digital mapping seabed. A few thousand feet below our keel, this fantastic scenery is breathtaking. I can't help but relay it to you with the Read more …

The difficult choice of electronic charting

Which to choose ? Raster ? Vector ? What costs, for which application, how to Navigation ? As many questions as most of you arise, and rightly. I will try to shed some light. Although the visit Read more …

Navionics new offer on AppStore

The 23 December, Navionics has posted on the AppStore new charting apps for iPhone and iPad. This offer fully replaces the previous, without the possibility of updating. The new version is now numbered 1.0 and Read more …

About Marine Charting

Christmas is coming and, the party is religious or pagan, so traditional gifts. You've no doubt guessed my passion for marine charting, but before electronic charts, I have a particular attachment to cards Read more …

View the currents on electronic charts ?

I voluntarily under this article as a query. Many users, all countries included, wish visualization common in applications Richard Ray. Indeed, there is no display function of the currents in GPSNavX, Read more …

Navionics Mobile and Community Sharing

Once will not hurt, I relayed the information in French that can not blog Panbo an interested users of mobile devices Apple. You can read the full US article "Navionics Mobile, UGC & Plotter Sync ”from which I take this post. Read more …

The stakeholders of electronic charting

Navionics, C-Map, BlueChart, MapMedia… You must admit that it's hard to navigate through all these brands electronic mapping. That belongs to that ? What works with what ? To allow you to see more clearly, I therefore took a Read more …

Print charts with GPSNavX / MacENC

Both applications offer direct printing of screen content. It is very convenient to print a chart, whatever the scale used to screen. Indeed, Print this concerns only the chart content visible on screen, Read more …

ENC User Permit, What is ?

The "user license" of ENC cards is a unique identifying number attached to a device., or application, able to read the chart data encrypted ENC (S-63 format). This "User Permit" is required to register a system (reader Read more …

Navionics knows no crisis…

Many users wonder about the redundancy of Navionics. Examples : "I bought an SD-Card (or CF-Card) with a Navionics region for my chartplotter, but I can not use it with my Mac. Why do i have to pay Read more …

The price of Navionics Gold

A point on the price of Navionics Gold , depending of media, is necessary. I will use as example the folio (Region called by the publisher) 46XG concerns us directly : Read more …

mail

Cartographie


C-Map fait la balle de ping-pong des groupes industriels

Un évènement survenu l’été dernier a échappé à la veille que je m’efforce de maintenir sur l’économie du nautisme. Bien heureusement mes amis de Geogarage viennent de combler cette lacune. Dans le domaine de la cartographie électronique privée, les acteurs Lire la suite …

Le SHOM supprime les fac-similés des cartes britanniques

Avec la dernière mise à jour du portefeuille des cartes du SHOM le 16 septembre 2021, Geogarage annonce la suppression de 18 cartes fac-similés des cartes britanniques couvrant, principalement, la côte sud d’Angleterre et Gibraltar. Ces zones sont désormais uniquement couvertes Lire la suite …

La norme S-100 des cartes ENC évolue rapidement [MAJ]

En mai 1992, l’Organisation Hydrographique Internationale (IHO) avait adopté un standard ayant pour but de définir les spécifications des cartes électroniques, les ENC, utilisées par les navires, ainsi que des lecteurs qui les affichent, appelés ECDIS. Ce standard a été Lire la suite …

Cartes électroniques et mises à jour… prudence !

Depuis quelques années je me suis exprimé à plusieurs reprises sur les niveaux de qualité et de fiabilité des cartes électroniques que nous utilisons en plaisance, plus particulièrement avec les applications de navigation de nos appareils mobiles (¹). Depuis le Lire la suite …

Navigation intelligente – Des cartes papier à la réalité augmentée

Je relaye ici, en français, un article publié dans le magazine britannique Yachting Monthly (¹) le 30 mars dernier. Le sujet traite du débat entre cartes papier et navigation électronique, en énonçant de nombreuses vérités, mais également parfois une ou deux Lire la suite …

Le pôle nord magnétique a la bougeotte [MAJ]

Le pôle nord magnétique de la Terre s’éloigne rapidement de l’Arctique canadien vers la Sibérie. Les scientifiques du NCEI (¹) ont mis à jour le modèle magnétique mondial (WMM) 2020.

Geogarage introduit les cartes ENC pour Weather4D

Geogarage, la plateforme cartographique de cartes raster dérivées des services officiels, introduit ce jour deux jeux de cartes ENC S-57 rasterisées pour Weather4D Routage & Navigation, couvrant l’Espagne et la Croatie. La récente mise à jour du 12 juin de Lire la suite …

Les cartes électroniques sont-elles réglementaires en France ? [MAJ]

Cette question me revient de temps à autres, et comme nul n’est censé ignorer la loi, je me sens dans l’obligation d’apporter ma contribution à l’édification des foules (de plaisanciers) en fournissant une réponse collective.

Navionics Boating en mutation

Depuis l’acquisition de Navionics par Garmin (¹), il n’aura pas fallu plus d’un an pour que Navionics fasse aussi sa petite (r)évolution dans son application phare sous iOS et Android. Nouveau logo, abandon de la multiplicité des applications, abandon de Lire la suite …

Fugawi arrête la distribution des cartes marines [MAJ]

C’est officiel, le 30 novembre 2018, la société Johnson Outdoors, récent acquéreur de Fugawi (*), a décidé de mettre un terme à ses activités. Après avoir cessé la distribution de leur application de navigation pour PC en août 2017, avoir Lire la suite …

Lecture : « Beaufort, l’amiral du vent » de Raymond Reding

Il y a bien longtemps que je n’avais rédigé une note de lecture dans cette rubrique. Manque de temps, ou manque de découverte ? J’ai de nouveau retrouvé un réel enthousiasme littéraire à la lecture de cet excellent ouvrage de Lire la suite …

Les acteurs de la cartographie électronique [MAJ-2]

En avril 2010 je publiais un billet dans le but de situer les principaux acteurs de la cartographie électronique. Le temps passant, il convient de rafraîchir ces informations, du fait des récents mouvements d’entreprises. Certains ont disparu, comme Maptech, plus Lire la suite …

Cartes marines numériques : achat ou abonnement [MAJ] ?

[MAJ du 3 mars 2019] Avec les multiples disparitions de cartes lors des mises à jour successives de iNavX, j’ai reçu un nombre conséquent de demandes d’assistance à la récupération des dites cartes. Indépendamment du fait que je ne suis Lire la suite …

C-Map revient en Europe

Amis navigateurs, connaissez-vous Altor ? Bien sûr que non, ne cherchez pas, moi non plus jusqu’à ce matin. Altor est un investisseur du nord de l’Europe qui se présente ainsi : “Altor est une famille de fonds d’investissement privés centrés Lire la suite …

La cartographie Navionics devient-elle dangereuse [MAJ] ?

Depuis le début de la saison de navigation, de nombreux plaisanciers ont constaté une multiplication des erreurs sur les cartes Navionics, à la suite des récentes mises à jour, tous supports confondus. Un peu partout en Europe, Allemagne, Pays Baltes, Lire la suite …

Lecture : « Cartographie électronique » HS48 Voiles et Voiliers

Depuis fin 2012 je n’ai plus trouvé d’ouvrage maritime me provoquant l’impérieuse envie de le partager, à l’instar des quelques romans décrits dans cette rubrique « Lecture ». Aujourd’hui ce sentiment me reprend, dans un tout autre ordre d’idée, à Lire la suite …

Cartographie Raster… le grand retour [MAJ]

[MAJ du 26 août 2018] J’ai été pendant plusieurs années un ardent défenseur des cartes vectorielles. Compactes, d’un faible poids numérique, faciles à mettre à jour, elles sont parfaitement adaptées à l’usage sur nos appareils mobiles. Selon le bon vieil Lire la suite …

Politique commerciale pour les cartes Navionics [MAJ-5]

La politique commerciale concernant les cartes Navionics achetées sur le site x-traverse.com a – de nouveau – été révisée depuis quelques semaines, en même temps que la page « My Account » a été modifiée. Ces changements ne sont malheureusement pas du Lire la suite …

Cartographie électronique : échelles et overscale [MAJ]

Un récent échange de mails avec un utilisateur méditerranéen a attiré mon attention sur un aspect particulier propre à la cartographie électronique : les limites d’agrandissement d’une carte. Les cartes vectorielles ENC (¹) sont classées en 6 catégories en fonction Lire la suite …

Navionics Boating : les italiens au top du business [MAJ]

Comment faire du nouveau avec de l’ancien ? Navionics le sait ! Après avoir publié des zones géographiques incluant une application de navigation, voici désormais une application, mais sans cartographie. Trop fort ces italiens ! Navionics Boating vient compléter, depuis Lire la suite …

Les cartes vectorielles britanniques avec NavLink

Ce début d’année 2014 est décidément fertile en nouvelles applications de navigation. Après NavPlay et Navionics Boating, voici NavLink UK éditée par Digital Yacht. On connait bien cette société britannique, installée à Bristol, pour ces nombreux appareils de connexion des Lire la suite …

Cartographies, le jeu des 7 erreurs

Un récent fil de discussion sur le forum Hisse et Oh, que je salue ici au passage, m’a interpellé sur la précision des données cartographiques fournies par les cartes électroniques. Le sujet porte sur le constat que, en certains lieux, Lire la suite …

Disparition des cartes marines papier, révolution ou évolution inéluctable ?

Dans son bulletin d’information du 22 octobre 2013, l’Office of Coast Survey, département du NOAA (*) en charge de la production des cartes marines des U.S.A., annonce l’arrêt de l’impression des cartes papier. Cette annonce a fait l’effet d’une bombe Lire la suite …

Cartographies comparées, un bilan mitigé

Trois semaines et 600 milles de navigation entre le continent et les îles Baléares m’ont permis de tester en situation certaines des applications pour iPad dont nous disposons. Attention : il n’est pas question de me livrer à un comparatif Lire la suite …

BlueChart Mobile, Garmin a débarqué sur iPad

Après avoir posté une version 1.0 le 1er août 2012 passée relativement inaperçue, Garmin a mis à jour une version 1.0.3 parfaitement finalisée de son application le 2 janvier dernier. BlueChart Mobile, aujourd’hui uniquement pour les appareils sous iOS d’Apple, Lire la suite …

Imray Marine 2.0

Le 7 juin 2012, Imray à modifié son application de navigation pour iPhone et iPad. Elle est désormais gratuite et intègre l’achat en ligne des cartes directement depuis l’application. Deux cartes de la Manche sont toujours fournies en standard pour Lire la suite …

Plan2Nav la carto C-Map sur iPhone/iPad

L’application Jeppesen Marine Plan2Nav est arrivée sur iTunes AppStore courant septembre pour iPhone et iPad. Comme je l’ai détaillé dans un précédent billet (¹), la société italienne C-Map appartient depuis 2007 à l’américain Jeppesen, leader de la cartographie aérienne, dépendant Lire la suite …

Des cartes fluviales ENC gratuites utilisables avec MacENC

Dans le cadre de sa politique visant à proposer aux usagers une voie d’eau toujours plus efficace et sûre, l’établissement public Voies Navigables de France s’est lancé dans la réalisation de cartes électroniques de navigation intérieure sur différents axes de Lire la suite …

iSailor, les cartes pour la France sont disponibles

Transas a mis à jour la liste des nouvelles cartes disponibles pour iSailor, dont les côtes de France : ∙ Allemagne ∙ Australie ∙ Bermudes ∙ Canada ∙ Danemark ∙ Égypte ∙ Espagne ∙ Estonie ∙ Finlande ∙ France ∙ Lire la suite …

Les cartes Navionics 2011

  Depuis quelques semaines Navionics a édité de nouvelles versions de ses folios de cartes estampillées 2011. Un nouveau dossier de cartes Navionics « Gold Marine Charts 2011 » a ainsi été ajouté dans la fonction « Ajouter plus de cartes » de iNavX. Lire la suite …

Les cartes Imray débarquent sur iPhone et iPad

Un peu d’histoire Imray, Laurie, Norie & Wilson LTD est l’éditeur privé de cartes marines et d’ouvrages nautiques le plus connu d’Angleterre. Il est aussi le plus ancien, héritier des premiers éditeurs privés de cartes marines du 18e siècle, les Lire la suite …

Visiter le fond des océans

Le NOAA a mis en ligne une superbe animation numérisée de la cartographie des fonds marins. A quelques milliers de mètres au-dessous de nos quilles, ce paysage fantastique laisse rêveur. Je ne peux m’empêcher de vous la relayer avec la Lire la suite …

Le choix difficile de la cartographie électronique

Laquelle choisir ? Raster ? Vectorielle ? Quels coûts, pour quelle application, pour quelle navigation ? Autant de questions que la plupart d’entre-vous se posent, et à juste titre. Je vais donc essayer d’apporter quelques éclaircissements. Bien que la visite Lire la suite …

Nouvelle offre Navionics sur AppStore

Le 23 décembre, Navionics a mis en ligne sur l’AppStore une nouvelle offre d’applications cartographiques pour iPhone et iPad. Cette offre remplace intégralement la précédente, sans possibilité de mise à jour. La nouvelle version porte désormais le numéro 1.0 et Lire la suite …

De la cartographie maritime

On approche de Noël et, que la fête soit religieuse ou païenne, des traditionnels cadeaux. Vous avez sans aucun doute deviné ma passion pour la cartographie maritime, mais bien avant les cartes électroniques, je voue un attachement particulier aux cartes Lire la suite …

Afficher les courants sur les cartes électroniques ?

Je titre volontairement cet article sous la forme d’une interrogation. De nombreux utilisateurs, tous pays confondus, souhaitent la visualisation des courants dans les applications de Richard Ray. En effet, on ne trouve pas de fonction d’affichage des courants dans GPSNavX, Lire la suite …

Navionics Mobile et le partage communautaire

Une fois n’est pas coutume, je relaye en français une information du blog Panbo qui ne peut qu’intéresser les utilisateurs d’appareils mobiles Apple. Vous pourrez lire l’article américain intégral « Navionics Mobile, UGC & Plotter Sync » dont je tire ce billet. Lire la suite …

Les acteurs de la cartographie électronique

Navionics, C-Map, BlueChart, MapMedia… Vous avouerez qu’on a du mal à s’y retrouver dans toutes ces marques de cartographie électronique. Qui appartient à qui ? Qui fonctionne avec quoi ? Pour vous permettre d’y voir plus clair j’ai donc pris un Lire la suite …

Imprimer des cartes avec GPSNavX/MacENC

Ces deux applications proposent une impression directe du contenu de l’écran. Il est donc très pratique de pouvoir imprimer une carte, quelle que soit l’échelle utilisée à l’écran. En effet, cette impression concerne uniquement le contenu cartographique visible à l’écran, Lire la suite …

ENC User Permit, c’est quoi ?

Le « permis utilisateur » des cartes ENC est un numéro identifiant unique attaché à un appareil, ou à une application, capable de lire les données des cartes ENC encryptées (format S-63). Ce « User Permit » est requis pour enregistrer un système (lecteur Lire la suite …

Navionics ne connaît pas la crise…

De nombreux utilisateurs s’interrogent sur la redondance des cartes Navionics. Exemples : « J’ai acheté une SD-Card (ou une CF-Card) avec un folio de cartes Navionics pour mon traceur, mais je ne peux pas l’utiliser avec mon Mac. Pourquoi dois-je payer Lire la suite …

Le prix des cartes Navionics Gold+

Un point sur le prix des cartes Navionics Gold+, en fonction du support, est nécessaire. J’utiliserai comme exemple le folio (appelé Region par l’éditeur) 46XG qui nous concerne directement : Lire la suite …

mail