Currents GRIB files at (very) High Resolution [Update]

[Updated]

The website barotropic.fr provides a set of current files in GRIB2 format compatible with Weather4D Routing & Navigation (¹). These predictions cover several areas from the English Channel to Aquitaine, with a resolution for some files up to 250 meters per step of 15 minutes ! They are derived from raw data from IFREMER and put in format at the exclusive initiative of the author of the site (²). Read more …

The European Union is moving towards Open Data

 

Europe is moving forward in small steps, but it moves forward… Towards open access to data from public services ! The 21 December 2022 was published in the Official Journal of the European Union, under reference C/2022/9562, the " Implementing Regulations of the European Commission establishing a list of specific high-value datasets and how they will be published and reused". Read more …

Share GRIB files with Air Share [Update]

You are more likely to have adopted the Iridium GO! for its easy way to request GRIB files, directly from Weather4D and some other applications. But some also want to transfer these files to PC to import them into Windows software (as you know, nobody is perfect !). An easy solution is available : the messaging app Air Share, compatible iOS/iPadOS (¹). [Update 30 March 2022] Warning : the app has changed its ID code on the AppStore. Read more …

ECMWF weather data soon open to the public [3rd part]

Trafalgar Hit for the flagship of European meteorology, despite Brexit and contrary to what had been planned (¹), the European Center for Medium-Range Weather Forecast will stay in England ! Even better, a new headquarter for ECMWF to be fully funded by the UK government through the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. Proof that the British have gone all out to keep this European scientific center in Reading (²). Read more …

Are GRIB files consistently optimistic ?

I've been asked this question regularly, but until now I've never wanted to give my opinion on the subject publicly, so as not to offend anyone or create unnecessary controversy.. But after doing so many of my training courses, why not express it openly ?

My opinion, forged by observation and a long professional experience in pleasure boating (¹), is that this assertion of the systematic optimism of the GRIB forecasts regarding wind force, which unfortunately continues, no longer has a reason to be, and has not been verified in fact for some time. Read more …

Predict thunderstorms with Weather4D


In Weather4D (all versions) most weather models provide a data calledCAPE.

Convective Available Potential Energy, in French : Energie potentielle de convection disponible. Behind this abstruse acronym hides a powerful tool for forecasting thunderstorms. The CAPE is measured in joules per kilogram of air (J / Kg) and defines the vertical thrust energy of a hot air particle in a colder atmosphere. In other words, vertical acceleration of the air particle will be directly related to this energy measurement. Read more …

New major evolution of the GFS model

NOAA (¹) annouced on 22 March a major upgrade to its weather forecast model GFS.

For the first time, the Global Forecasting System (GFS), NOAA's flagship weather forecast model (¹) will be coupled to the global wave model Wave Watch III (WW3), produced by the FNMOC (Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center), which will extend the current forecast of waves from 7 up to 16 days and improve forecasting of atmospheric-forced ocean waves. Read more …

Sea state : interpret wave patterns

In Weather4D, as generally in other applications, sea ​​state forecasts are described by ocean models. The most used is the model WW3 (Wave Watch III), published by the FNMOC (Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center) of the US Navy, with a Global model due 7 days and resolution 1 ° (60NM), and a European model at 3 days and resolution 0.2 ° (12NM). Meteo France publish modelsMFWAM (Wave Assimilated Model) coupled with the ARPEGE and AROME weather models with three resolutions : Global at 0.5 ° (30NM), Europe at 0.1 ° (6NM), France at 0.025 ° (1,5NM) with variable deadlines (¹). Read more …

Routing : from game to reality (continue)

Friday 13 November will not be a lucky day for the Vendée Globe skippers 2020 (¹). They will have to negotiate the meeting with the tropical storm "Theta" which crosses their course with average winds which can reach the 40 knots and strong gusts. Especially the sea will be to fear because, strongly crossed when passing the low pressure center, the waves may exceed the 6 meters and surge chaotically. Read more …

Weather4D renouvelle son offre de modèles GRIB

Les dernières versions Lite, Routage, Routage & Navigation arrivent avec une liste de modèles météo et océaniques entièrement revue afin de faire profiter les utilisateurs de l’évolution de l’offre des modèles de prévisions internationaux. Par la même occasion, tous les fichiers GRIB passent au format GRIB-2, ce qui permet une réduction de leur taille et un meilleur taux de compression. Lire la suite …

L’Union Européenne avance vers l’Open Data

 

L’Europe avance à petits pas, mais elle avance… vers l’accès libre des données issues des services publics ! Le 21 décembre 2022 a été publié au Journal Officiel de l’Union Européenne, sous la référence C/2022/9562, le « Règlement d’exécution de la Commission Européenne établissant une liste d’ensembles de données de forte valeur spécifiques et les modalités de leur publication et de leur réutilisation ». Lire la suite …

Partager les fichiers GRIB avec Air Share [MAJ]

Vous êtes de plus en plus nombreux à avoir adopté l’Iridium GO! pour sa facilité à récupérer des fichiers GRIB, en direct depuis Weather4D et certaines autres applications. Mais quelques uns souhaitent également transférer ces fichiers sur PC pour les importer dans un logiciel sous Windows (que voulez-vous, nul n’est parfait !). Une solution assez simple existe : l’application Air Share, compatible iOS/iPadOS (¹). [MAJ 30 mars 2022] Attention : l’application a changé de code identifiant sur l’AppStore. Lire la suite …

Les données météo du CEPMMT bientôt ouvertes au public [3e partie]

Coup de Trafalgar pour le fleuron de la météorologie européenne, malgré le Brexit et contrairement à ce qui avait été envisagé (¹), le Centre Européen de Prévisions Météorologiques à Moyen Terme va rester en Angleterre ! Encore mieux, un nouveau siège pour le CEPMMT sera entièrement financé par le gouvernement britannique par l’intermédiaire du ministère des affaires, de l’énergie et de la stratégie industrielle. Preuve que les britanniques ont mis le paquet pour conserver à Reading ce haut lieu scientifique européen (²). Lire la suite …

Les fichiers GRIB sont-ils systématiquement optimistes ?

Cette question m’a été régulièrement posée, mais je n’avais jamais souhaité jusqu’à présent donner publiquement mon avis sur le sujet afin de ne froisser personne et de ne surtout pas créer de polémique inutile. Mais à force de le faire au cours de mes formations, pourquoi ne pas m’en exprimer ouvertement ?

Mon opinion, forgée par l’observation et une longue expérience professionnelle dans la navigation de plaisance (¹), est que cette affirmation de l’optimisme systématique des prévisions GRIB concernant la force du vent, qui malheureusement perdure, n’a plus de raison d’être, et ne se vérifie plus dans les faits depuis un certain temps. Lire la suite …

Prévoir les orages avec Weather4D


Dans les applications Weather4D (toutes versions) la plupart des modèles météo proposent une donnée appelée la CAPE.

Convective Available Potential Energy, en français : Energie potentielle de convection disponible. Derrière cet acronyme abscons se cache un puissant outil de prévision des orages. La CAPE se mesure en Joules par kilogrammes d’air (J/Kg) et définit l’énergie de poussée verticale d’une particule d’air chaude dans une atmosphère plus froide. En d’autres termes, l’accélération verticale de la particule d’air sera directement liée à cette mesure d’énergie. Lire la suite …

Nouvelle évolution majeure du modèle GFS

La NOAA (¹) a annoncé le 22 mars une mise à niveau majeure de son modèle de prévisions météo GFS.

Pour la première fois, le Global Forecasting System (GFS), modèle de prévision météorologique vedette de la NOAA (¹) sera couplé au modèle mondial de vagues Wave Watch III (WW3), produit par le FNMOC (Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center), ce qui permettra d’étendre les prévisions actuelles des vagues de 7 à 16 jours et d’améliorer la prévision des vagues océaniques forcées par l’atmosphère. Lire la suite …

Etat de la mer : interpréter les modèles de vagues

Dans Weather4D, comme généralement dans d’autres applications, les prévisions de l’état de la mer sont décrites par des modèles océaniques. Le plus utilisé est le modèle WW3 (Wave Watch III), publié par le FNMOC (Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center) de l’US Navy, avec un modèle Mondial à échéance de 7 jours et résolution 1° (60MN), et un modèle Europe à 3 jours et résolution 0,2° (12MN). Météo-France publie les modèles MFWAM (Wave Assimilated Model) couplés avec les modèles météo ARPEGE et AROME avec trois résolutions : Mondial à 0,5° (30MN), Europe à 0,1° (6MN), France à 0,025° (1,5MN) avec des échéances variables (¹). Lire la suite …

Routage : du jeu à la réalité (suite)

Vendredi 13 novembre ne sera pas un jour de chance pour les skippers du Vendée Globe 2020 (¹). Ils vont devoir négocier la rencontre avec la tempête tropicale « Theta » qui croise leur parcours avec des vents moyens pouvant atteindre les 40 nœuds et de puissantes rafales. Surtout la mer sera à craindre car, fortement croisées au passage du centre dépressionnaire, les vagues pourront dépasser les 6 mètres et déferler de façon chaotique. Lire la suite …