Meteorology


Are GRIB files consistently optimistic ?

This question has been asked regularly, but until now I had never wanted to publicly give my opinion on the subject so as not to offend anyone and especially not to create unnecessary controversy. But by dint of doing it Read more …

Alternative weather models

For several years, forecast files in GRIB format have been widely used in meteorological applications.. The majority of forecast models have been made freely available by the meteorological services, all countries included. Of Read more …

Predict thunderstorms with Weather4D

In Weather4D applications (all versions) most weather models offer a data called the CAPE. Convective Available Potential Energy, in French : Energie potentielle de convection disponible. Behind this abstruse acronym hides a powerful tool for forecasting thunderstorms. The Read more …

Reading : "Clouds and other meteors" Météo-France

In an article updated in August 2020 (¹), I have described nautical books in digital format that can be usefully saved on iPad in the Apple Books app. Among them I mentioned the works of Météo-France available in PDF format Read more …

You said « Medicane » ?

Many sailors who cross the "Big Blue" have known for ages that, if the navigation is relatively easy, the weather represents a particularly difficult constraint to deal. Indeed, if the coasts are mostly steep and the dangers Read more …

Marine Guide Météo-France 2021

Météo-France's Marine Guide 2021 for yachting has just been published. All the detailed information and the means to take the weather forecast at sea, from the coast to the open sea. All VHF frequencies and schedules,  SSB, NavTex, radio.

Get Weather Forecast with Satphone at Sea [2021]

The new tutorial « Get Weather Forecast with Satphone at Sea » has just been released on the iBook Store. Complete redesign of the book originally published in 2014, new clearer and more readable layout in portrait mode, full revision of the Read more …

Prendre la météo par téléphone satellite [2021]

Following the tutorial "Introduction to Marine Weather" , the new tutorial "Taking the weather by satellite phone" has just been posted on the iBook Store. A complete reworking of the originally published book in 2014, new, clearer layout Read more …

Introduction to Marine Weather [2021]

The new tutorial "Introduction to Marine Weather" is available on the iBook Store (¹). A complete reworking of the originally published book in 2015, new layout, clearer and more readable in portrait mode, ful revision of the text, update Read more …

New major evolution of the GFS model

NOAA (¹) annouced on 22 March a major upgrade to its GFS weather forecast model. For the first time, le Global Forecasting System (GFS), NOAA's flagship weather forecast model (¹) will be coupled to Read more …

Sea state : interpret wave patterns

In Weather4D, as generally in other applications, sea ​​state forecasts are described by ocean models. The most used is the WW3 model (Wave Watch III), published by the FNMOC (Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center) Read more …

ECMWF weather data soon open to the public [2part]

Source : The Parliament Mag par Umberto Modigliani, deputy director of forecasts of ECMWF, responsible, with the department director, continuous production of forecasts and user relations. Beginning of October, the European Center for Forecasts Read more …

ECMWF weather data soon open to the public [11st part]

Created in 1975 at the initiative of members of the European Union, the European Center for Medium-Term Meteorological Forecasting is an independent intergovernmental organization with, to date, is located in Reading, England. ECMWF is funded by Read more …

Receive facsimile weather maps with an iPad [Update]

HF Weather Fax Black Cat Systems is an application for decoding facsimile weather maps on an iPad, an iPhone or Android device. The analysis and forecast maps are provided by radio stations Read more …

Receive graphical weather maps on iPad [Update]

Weather analysis and forecasting maps developed by the NOAA (USA) and the Met Office (UK) cover vast areas over the Wold. They can be obtained by mail by sending a request by mail to the weather server Read more …

The weather models war will take place [Update]

I relayais in December 2018 an excellent article published on the blog of our friends Geogarage, which are a permanent duty of a press review of the best foreign articles about mapping, meteorology, and more generally all Read more …

Reading : « Beaufort, l’amiral du vent" by Raymond Reding

It's been a long time since I've written a book report in this section.... Lack of time, or lack of discovery ? I again found a real enthusiasm in literary reading this excellent book Read more …

Share GRIB files with Air Share

You are more likely to have adopted the Iridium GO! for its easy way to request GRIB files, directly from Weather4D and some other applications. But some also want to transfer these files to PC for Read more …

Iridium Mail & Web : GRIB weather files on iPhone and iPad in open sea [Update-2]

[Update 15 February 2019] The recent update of the Iridium Mail app & Web gives me the opportunity to refresh the ticket originally written in December 2011. RedPort's Wi-Fi Optimizer gateway allows owners Read more …

Météo-France GRIB files finally for free

A year after my advocacy for free European data (¹) Météo-France finally offers free access to its two famous ARPEGE and AROME models. A welcome development, initiated in 2014 the success of the project MyOcean, Read more …

New GFS grid 0.25° model

By a notification corrected the 23 December 2014 (¹), the NWS (National Weather Service) NOAA has announced a major update of its weather predictions GFS model to be effective in mid-January 2015. Actually, Read more …

Weather4D still makes greater finesse

With the basic 1.3.3 and PRO versions 1.3.9 delivered in November, Weather4D had replaced the GRIB files fine mesh Great Circle by its own files based on the American model WRF (¹), based on its own Read more …

iNavX 3.6.1 with high-resolution GRIB files

Since version 3.6.1 iNavX display provides GRIB weather files, high-resolution theyr.com. This site English society Kona Ltd is the developer of the application GribView I mentioned in a previous post (¹). An account Read more …

Atlas of the Oceans, the pilot charts revisited

The Atlas of Oceans by Jimmy and Ivan Cornell is a gold mine in color A3 size of over one kilogram. This one will not fit in an iPad ! 60 pilot charts updated on the latest data, Read more …

Navigation with iPad : a complete solution

Avec Weather4D PRO et AxcessPoint, associated with an Iridium satellite phone, we now have a complete solution, reliable and low cost to receive, display and manage GRIB files in open seas with iPad. iNavX and Navionics Read more …

Weather4D PRO 1.0 includes routes from iNavX

The new application for iOS Weather4D PRO (iPhone / iPad), developed by Olivier Bouyssou, was submited yesterday to Apple. It provides advanced features associated with GRIB files for demanding users. It complements the Weather4D application that has got to be Read more …

When Katia meets La Louise

Thierry Dubois and his crew, Jacques Vermeulen experimenting with the Iridium connection with its new MacBook Air, should not laugh at a time when I post this short note. La Louise, conveying from Newfoundland to La Trinité, Read more …

Weather4D 1.2 présenté au Grand Pavois

Weather4D 1.2 will be introduced by the designer, Olivier Bouyssou, at Grand Pavois boat show in La Rochelle from 15 until 17 September's stand iPadNav.fr. This new version 1.2, which will be available as an update on the iTunes App Store Read more …

zyGrib for Mac now really "Apple like"

zyGrib, the GRIB weather file viewer developed for Linux and well-known PC world, been ported to Mac, since version 5.0, is a real progress compared to earlier versions. Since early 2011 the Read more …

Meteo Consult embarks on iPhone and iPad

Founded in 1988, Meteo Consult the company was the first private weather in France. It was mainly developed forecasting services paid for professional, leaving the public service Meteo France caring for Free forecast Read more …

Weather4D 1.1 iPad and iPhone, on top.

Two months after out for iPhone, Weather4D (¹), by surprising Olivier Bouyssou, comes with a fully optimized version for iPad, with the modest release number 1.1. This unique iPhone / iPad version is therefore a simple update Read more …

Weather4D plays GRIB weather data for iPhone

For my 100th post, I propose a little gem. The 24 March has appeared on the AppStore version 1.0 in Weather4D (*) that we owe to the French Olivier Bouyssou, a guy living France South. Yachtmen my friends, this is for me Read more …

Navimail 2.1.3, update for the "Nautic"

As in 2008 and 2009, Météo France delivers a new version of Navimail² for the "Nautic" (you know, the new name of the Salon Nautique de Paris, it feels more "international"). No functional revolution in this application, but rather Read more …

Disturbances in the GRIB files

The disturbances are not only atmospheric, sometimes they are also in the transmission of GRIB files ! Some of you alert me for two or three days about difficulties to receive files, or the absence Read more …

The GRIB files with iNavX

With versions 3.1.6 and 3.1.7, iNavX improved GRIB files request by proposing a new window settings. As MacENC, can now choose several settings for required files, in order to optimize the size Read more …

The GRIB files in GPSNavX and MacENC

Weather in the menu allows these applications to query a weather GRIB file and then view it on the map open. The function Request GRIB file queries the server that returns in Saildocs.com Read more …

The shipping forecast on the iPhone

In a previous post about my favorite apps for iPhone, I cited two weather apps : La Chaine Météo, very good general weather application from Meteo Consult, Weather and iSailing offering marine weather maps based files Read more …

GribView 2.0, Finally a free GRIB viewer for Mac OS X !

We hoped for a while GRIB.US, Theyre that she came. The English company Kona Ltd., Site Owner Meteorology theyr.com has posted its application GribView 2.0, for Windows and OS X.

Navimail² new version 2.1.2

Meteo-France we will deliver 3 June 2010 an update of its application of queries and viewing GRIB weather files, texts, graphs and satellite images. Patrick Le Lay and his team made many technical improvements Read more …

Feedback on the storm "Xynthia"

Needless to reverse the damage caused on the coast of Vendée and Charente Maritime, the media have made it largely echoed. I just want to use this violent weather episode to illustrate the forecast that has it. Read more …

The voice of the shipping forecast

The shipping forecast, or rather I should write : Marine Weather, with uppercase, is on modern browsers what the ancient gods in our distant ancestors : a permanent reference to the conduct of our lives.
1 – The Long Waves

Not so long ago, This deity addressed us, marine trade, fishermen and boaters, by a heavenly voice carried by the waves. Our High Priestess, Marie-Pierre Planchon, informing us twice a day for, happy or fearful, that we might know as we venture over the waves. In that time the weather had a name and a voice, recognizable at once ear. Read more …

Navimail², Weather receipt of the 3rd millennium

Launched at the beginning of the year 2008, After a period of several months of testing open to all, Software Navimail ² was presented at the opening of the Salon Nautique de Paris 2009 Weather on the stand of France in its new version 2.1.0. As I announced in the RSS feeds, charts portfolio on 22 November, This version has a refreshed interface and two new features that will complete to convince the most skeptical.

After a year of relationship-mail, I finally met at the show Patrick Le Lay, the "daddy" of the software, engineer / developer how passionate and sympathetic, who has finished sending me the ultimate tips for using her jewel. I give you below the two new. I do it again soon (end of January) video tutorial Navimail ² site with the new version, and of course the new features… Read more …

mail

Météorologie


Prévoir les orages avec Weather4D

Dans les applications Weather4D (toutes versions) la plupart des modèles météo proposent une donnée appelée la CAPE. Convective Available Potential Energy, en français : Energie potentielle de convection disponible. Derrière cet acronyme abscons se cache un puissant outil de prévision des orages. La Lire la suite …

Lecture : « Nuages et autres météores » Météo-France

Dans un article mis à jour en août 2020 (¹), j’ai décrit les ouvrages nautiques au format numérique pouvant être utilement enregistrés sur iPad dans l’application Apple Livres. Parmi eux j’ai évoqué les ouvrages de Météo-France disponibles au format PDF Lire la suite …

Vous avez dit « Medicane » ?

Les nombreux navigateurs qui sillonnent la « Grande Bleue » savent depuis des lustres que, si la navigation y est relativement facile, la météorologie représente une contrainte particulièrement difficile à appréhender. En effet, si les côtes sont majoritairement accores et les dangers Lire la suite …

Guide Marine Météo-France 2021

Le Guide Marine 2021 pour la plaisance de Météo-France vient de paraître. Toutes les informations détaillées et les moyens pour prendre la météo en mer, de la côte au grand large. Toutes les fréquences et les horaires VHF,  BLU, NavTex, radiophoniques.

Get Weather Forecast with Satphone at Sea [2021]

The new tutorial “Get Weather Forecast with Satphone at Sea” has just been released on the iBook Store. Complete redesign of the book originally published in 2014, new clearer and more readable layout in portrait mode, full revision of the Lire la suite …

Prendre la météo par téléphone satellite [2021]

Faisant suite au tutoriel “Initiation à la Météo Marine“, le nouveau tutoriel “Prendre la météo par téléphone satellite” vient  d’être mis en ligne sur l’iBook Store. Refonte intégrale de l’ouvrage initialement publié en 2014, nouvelle mise en page plus claire Lire la suite …

Initiation à la météo marine [2021]

Le nouveau tutoriel “Initiation à la Météo Marine” est disponible sur l’iBook Store (¹). Refonte intégrale de l’ouvrage initialement publié en 2015, nouvelle mise en page plus claire et plus lisible en mode portrait, révision complète du texte, mise à Lire la suite …

Nouvelle évolution majeure du modèle GFS

La NOAA (¹) a annoncé le 22 mars une mise à niveau majeure de son modèle de prévisions météo GFS. Pour la première fois, le Global Forecasting System (GFS), modèle de prévision météorologique vedette de la NOAA (¹) sera couplé au Lire la suite …

Etat de la mer : interpréter les modèles de vagues

Dans Weather4D, comme généralement dans d’autres applications, les prévisions de l’état de la mer sont décrites par des modèles océaniques. Le plus utilisé est le modèle WW3 (Wave Watch III), publié par le FNMOC (Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center) Lire la suite …

Les données météo du CEPMMT bientôt ouvertes au public [2e partie]

Source : The Parliament Mag par Umberto Modigliani, directeur adjoint des prévisions du CEPMMT, responsable, avec le directeur du département, de la production continue des prévisions et des relations avec les utilisateurs. Début octobre, le Centre européen pour les prévisions Lire la suite …

Les données météo du CEPMMT bientôt ouvertes au public [1ère partie]

Créé en 1975 à l’initiative des membres de l’Union Européenne, le Centre Européen de Prévisions Météorologiques à Moyen Terme est une organisation intergouvernementale indépendante dont le siège, jusqu’à ce jour, se situe à Reading, Angleterre. Le CEPMMT est financé par Lire la suite …

Recevoir les cartes météo fac-similé avec un iPad [MAJ]

HF Weather Fax de Black Cat Systems est une application permettant de décoder les cartes météo fac-similé sur un iPad, un iPhone ou un appareil sous Android. Les cartes d’analyse et de prévisions météo sont fournies par des stations radio Lire la suite …

Recevoir les cartes météo graphiques sur iPad [MAJ]

Des cartes d’analyse et de prévision météorologiques élaborées par le NOAA (USA) et le Met Office (UK) couvrent de vastes régions du globe. Elles peuvent être obtenues par messagerie en envoyant une requête par mail au serveur météo de la Lire la suite …

La guerre des modèles météo aura bien lieu [MAJ]

Je relayais en décembre 2018 un excellent article publié sur le blog de nos amis de Geogarage, qui se font un devoir permanent d’une revue de presse des meilleurs articles étrangers concernant la cartographie, la météorologie, et plus généralement tous Lire la suite …

Lecture : « Beaufort, l’amiral du vent » de Raymond Reding

Il y a bien longtemps que je n’avais rédigé une note de lecture dans cette rubrique. Manque de temps, ou manque de découverte ? J’ai de nouveau retrouvé un réel enthousiasme littéraire à la lecture de cet excellent ouvrage de Lire la suite …

Partager les fichiers GRIB avec Air Share

Vous êtes de plus en plus nombreux à avoir adopté l’Iridium GO! pour sa facilité à récupérer des fichiers GRIB, en direct depuis Weather4D et certaines autres applications. Mais quelques uns souhaitent également transférer ces fichiers sur PC pour les Lire la suite …

Iridium Mail & Web : les fichiers météo GRIB sur iPad et iPhone au grand large [MAJ-2]

[MAJ du 15 février 2019] La mise à jour récente de l’application Iridium Mail & Web me donne l’occasion de rafraîchir ce billet rédigé à l’origine en décembre 2011. La passerelle Wi-Fi Optimizer de la société RedPort permet aux possesseurs Lire la suite …

Les fichiers GRIB de Météo France enfin libres

Un an après mon plaidoyer pour des données européennes libres (¹) Météo France propose enfin un accès libre à ses deux célèbres modèles de prévision ARPEGE et AROME. Une évolution bienvenue, amorcée en 2014 par le succès du projet MyOcean, Lire la suite …

Nouveau modèle GFS à maille 0,25°

Par une notification corrigée le 23 décembre 2014 (¹), le NWS (National Weather Service) de la NOAA a annoncé une importante mise à jour de son modèle GFS de prédictions météorologiques devant être effective à la mi-janvier 2015. En fait, Lire la suite …

Weather4D apporte encore plus de finesse

Avec les versions de base 1.3.3 et PRO 1.3.9 livrées en novembre dernier, Weather4D avait remplacé les fichiers GRIB à mailles fines de Great Circle par ses propres fichiers basés sur le modèle américain WRF (¹), calculés par ses propres Lire la suite …

iNavX 3.6.1 et les fichiers GRIB à haute-résolution

Depuis la version 3.6.1 iNavX propose l’affichage des fichiers météo GRIB à haute résolution de theyr.com. Ce site anglais de la société Kona Ltd est le développeur de l’application GribView dont j’ai parlé dans un précédent billet (¹). Un compte Lire la suite …

Atlas des Océans, les pilot charts revisités

L’Atlas des Océans de Jimmy et Ivan Cornell est une mine d’or en couleur au format A3 de plus d’un kilogramme. Celui-là ne tiendra pas dans un iPad ! 60 pilot charts mis à jour des données les plus récentes, Lire la suite …

Navigation sur iPad : la solution intégrale

Avec Weather4D PRO et AxcessPoint, associés à un téléphone satellite Iridium, nous disposons désormais d’une solution complète, fiable et économique pour recevoir, visualiser et gérer les fichiers météo GRIB au grand large avec un iPad. iNavX et la cartographie Navionics Lire la suite …

Weather4D PRO 1.0 intègre les routes depuis iNavX

La nouvelle application Weather4D PRO pour iOS (iPhone/iPad), développée par Olivier Bouyssou, a été soumise hier à Apple. Elle apporte des fonctions avancées associées aux fichiers GRIB pour les utilisateurs exigeants. Elle vient compléter l’application Weather4D qui a obtenu d’être Lire la suite …

Quand Katia rencontre La Louise

Thierry Dubois et ses équipiers, dont Jacques Vermeulen qui expérimente sa connexion Iridium avec son tout nouveau MacBook Air, ne doivent pas rigoler à l’heure où je poste ce court billet. La Louise, en convoyage de Terre-Neuve pour La Trinité, Lire la suite …

Weather4D 1.2 présenté au Grand Pavois

Weather4D 1.2 sera présenté par son concepteur, Olivier Bouyssou, au Grand Pavois à La Rochelle du 15 au 17 septembre sur le stand de iPadNav.fr. Cette nouvelle version 1.2, qui sera disponible en mise à jour sur iTunes App Store Lire la suite …

zyGrib pour Mac désormais réellement « Apple like »

zyGrib, le visualisateur de fichiers météo GRIB développé sous Linux et bien connu du monde PC, fait l’objet d’un portage sur Mac qui, depuis la version 5.0, est un réel progrès par rapport aux premières versions. Depuis début 2011 il Lire la suite …

Météo Consult embarque sur iPhone et iPad

Créée en 1988, la société Météo Consult a été la première entreprise privée de météorologie en France. Elle a principalement développé des services de prévisions payantes pour les professionnels, laissant le service public Météo France s’occuper des prévisions gratuites pour Lire la suite …

Weather4D 1.1 pour iPad et iPhone, au sommet.

Deux mois après sa sortie pour iPhone, Weather4D (¹), que l’on doit au surprenant Olivier Bouyssou, arrive avec une version entièrement optimisée pour iPad, portant le modeste numéro 1.1. Cette version unique iPhone/iPad est donc une simple mise à jour Lire la suite …

Weather4D anime les données météo GRIB sur iPhone

Pour mon 100e billet, je vous propose un petit bijou. Le 24 mars est apparue sur l’AppStore la version 1.0 de Weather4D (*) que l’on doit au français Olivier Bouyssou, un gars du Midi. Amis navigateurs, c’est pour moi la Lire la suite …

Navimail 2.1.3, mise à jour pour le “Nautic”

Comme en 2008 et 2009, Météo France nous livre une nouvelle version de Navimail² pour le “Nautic” (vous savez, le nouveau nom du Salon Nautique de Paris, ça fait plus “international”). Pas de révolution fonctionnelle dans cette application, mais plutôt Lire la suite …

Des perturbations dans les fichiers GRIB

Les perturbations ne sont pas seulement atmosphériques, il arrive qu’elles soient également dans la transmission des fichiers GRIB ! Vous avez été plusieurs à m’alerter depuis deux ou trois jours sur des difficultés de réception des fichiers, ou encore l’absence Lire la suite …

Les fichiers GRIB avec iNavX

Avec les versions 3.1.6 et 3.1.7, iNavX a amélioré les requêtes des fichiers GRIB en proposant une nouvelle fenêtre de réglages. Comme pour MacENC, on peut désormais choisir précisément les caractéristiques des fichiers requis, de façon a optimiser la taille Lire la suite …

Les fichiers GRIB dans GPSNavX et MacENC

Le menu Météo dans ces deux applications permet de faire une requête d’un fichier de prévisions météo GRIB puis de le visualiser sur la carte ouverte. La fonction Demander un fichier GRIB envoie une requête au serveur Saildocs.com qui retourne dans Lire la suite …

La météo marine sur iPhone

Dans un billet précédent sur mes applications favorites pour iPhone, j’ai cité deux applications de météo : La Chaine Météo, excellente application généraliste de Meteo Consult, et iSailing Weather qui propose des cartes de météo marine à base de fichiers Lire la suite …

GribView 2.0, enfin un visualisateur de GRIB gratuits sous Mac OS X !

On l’espérait depuis des lustres de GRIB.US, c’est de Theyr qu’elle est venue. La société anglaise Kona Ltd, propriétaire du site de météorologie theyr.com a mis en ligne son application GribView 2.0, pour systèmes Windows et OS X.

Navimail² nouvelle version 2.1.2

Météo-France nous livrera le 3 juin 2010 une mise à jour de son application de requêtes et de visualisation de fichiers météo GRIB, textes, graphiques et images satellites. Patrick Le Lay et son équipe ont apporté de nombreuses améliorations techniques Lire la suite …

Retour sur la tempête “Xynthia”

Inutile de revenir sur les dégâts causés sur les côtes de Vendée et de Charente Maritime, les médias s’en sont fait largement l’écho. Je veux simplement me servir de cet épisode météorologique violent pour illustrer la prévision qui en a Lire la suite …

La voix de la météo marine

La météo marine, ou plutôt je devrais écrire : La Météo Marine, avec majuscules, est aux navigateurs modernes ce qu’étaient les dieux antiques à nos lointains ancêtres : une référence permanente à la conduite de notre vie.
1 – Les Grandes Ondes

Il n’y a pas encore si longtemps, cette divinité s’adressait à nous, marins au commerce, pêcheurs ou plaisanciers, par une voix céleste portée par les ondes. Notre grande prêtresse, Marie-Pierre Planchon, nous informant deux fois par jour des destinées, heureuses ou épouvantables, que nous risquions de connaître en nous aventurant sur les flots. En ce temps-là la météo avait un nom et une voix, reconnaissable d’un seul coup d’oreille. Lire la suite …

Navimail², la réception météo du 3e millénaire

Lancé au début de l”année 2008, après une phase de plusieurs mois de tests ouverts à tous, le logiciel Navimail² a été présenté à l’ouverture du Salon Nautique de Paris 2009 sur le stand de Météo France dans sa nouvelle version 2.1.0. Comme je l’avais annoncé dans le flux RSS du site, le 22 novembre, cette version présente une interface rafraîchie et deux nouvelles fonctions qui achèveront de convaincre les plus sceptiques.

Après une année de relations par mail, j’ai enfin pu rencontrer sur le Salon Patrick Le Lay, le “papa” du logiciel, un ingénieur/développeur passionné et combien sympathique, qui a fini de me transmettre les ultimes astuces d’utilisation de son bijou. Je vous livre ci-dessous les deux nouveautés. Je referai prochainement (d’ici fin janvier) le tutoriel vidéo Navimail² sur le site avec la nouvelle version, et bien sûr les nouvelles fonctions… Lire la suite …

Facebooktwittermail