MacENC is back

MacENCx64 is now the name of the MacENC application which has just been released by its new developer NavStation. MacENC has been fully adapted and recompiled in 64 bits for recent MacOS systems and new processors, which explains the new denomination. I continue to ensure the French translation. But beware : to date the Navionics cartography is no longer available. So there is no charting yet for the coasts of Europe, except ENC S-57 and S-63 available by Chartworld (see page Digital charting). Read more …

MacENC and GPSNavX disappear forever [Update]

Since 30 September 2018 (*), I already had information regarding discontinuation by NAVX Studio LLC of the development of two historical applications created by Richard Ray : GPSNavX and MacENC. The buyers of these applications and iNavX had clearly announced focuse only to the development of iNavX, on iOS and Android. It is likely that applications on Mac no longer had any profitability, especially with the loss of Navionics charts for MacENC. Read more …

Navionics charts are no longer available for MacENC [Update]

[Update 30 September 2018] Warning : MacENC application is no longer supported by its developers. It no longer reads raster charts and Navionics charts are no longer available. Application is discontinued to date.

Since the upgrade of Navionics Gold to Navionics Plus (¹), Navionics supply disappeared from Fugawi / Charts folder for MacENC. Thinking of a temporary disappearance, I finally asked the Fugawi support who confirmed (between the lines) permanently deleted : Read more …

The new boundaries of the NV Charts

I had presented in may 2015 the excellent raster charts NV Charts by the German Publisher NV Verlag. In 2016, the previous cutting in 4 areas for France - Channel and Atlantic coasts - has been split into 8 areas for 49,90$ each. These cards are available on the site for iNavX Fugawi / Charts (x-traverse.com). It is worth noting that each year a new edition replaces the previous, there is no update.

Bounderies in 2015

Read more …

iNavX changes hands

New developers, new logo, new splash page, and new web site.

Version 4.7.0 just be issued by NavX Studios LLC, the company that bought all of Richard Ray's computer creations : GPSNavX, MacENC and iNavX.

Procurement is carried out during the summer. New developers (they are two) were first focused on iNavX, for a first update of debugging, performance optimization and acceleration of charts downloading with X-Traverse. Let us hope that this transfer will bring a new dynamic to these excellent applications, whose creation and development have rested since 2002 on the unique Rich Ray's keyboard.

I continue to test and produce the French version of these applications on behalf of the new team.

 

NV Chart extends coasts of France from SHOM

In previous entry I presented the SHOM raster charts provided by many publishers on iPad. In recent weeks the German charts Editor NV Verlag offers two new areas ending coverage of the coasts of France Atlantic and English Channel. These charts are usable both with iNavX on iPad/iPhone, as with GPSNavX and MacENC on Mac. It can therefore, Unlike Navionics, use the two available copies of each region on two different media (iPad, iPhone or Mac).

Read more …

Free update Navionics 3XG [Update]

navionics 3xgNavionics just announced the free upgrade of the Region 3XG that covers the entire Central America, South America, Greater and Lesser Antilles, to the Bahamas. Maps included in this portfolio are largely updates the date of April 2012.

Unlike years 2010 and 2011, This portfolio is not subject to a new folder Navionics 2012 previously paying, but a simple free update.

IPhone and iPad, the update is performed from iNavX (¹). For MacENC, using the utility X-Traverse (²).

Rodnay Bay

Updated Rodnay Bay (Sainte-Lucie)

[Update] Free update 2012 Navionics 43XG and 30XG

[Update – 1 June 2012] Free update 2012 Navionics 34XG Peaceful – Japan


(¹) How to update charts with iNavX
(²) Enable and use the Navionics Gold with MacENC

Free ENC river charts for use with MacENC

VNFAs part of its policy to offer users a leak ever more efficient and safe, public institution Waterways of France (VNF) embarked on the production of electronic navigational charts on various inland waterways. The first two : link "Dunkirk-Escaut" and "La Garonne" is published.

The big surprise, unique in the history of the French administration, is that these charts are available for free download on VNF website. It deserved to be praised ! Read more …

Connect Miniplex-2USB with GPSNavX/MacENC

Multiplexer Miniplex-2 USB (¹) by ShipModul company can connect all the instruments on board directly to a USB connector on your Mac. GPSNavX and MacENC software can receive and display NMEA instruments, and if necessary forward to an autopilot, a VHF DSC, chartplotter, a Radar or any other repeater.

A utility "Miniplex2" to configure the input channels and output device, choose from several operating modes, and offers advanced options for complex installation.

For a conventional implementation is quite simple, and Miniplex2 Help in French is integrated into software for detailed explanations of the various options available. Follow the guide… Read more …

Navionics charts 2011 : new pricing

Delivery of Navionics regions 2011 has accompanied a significant change in pricing : significant decrease in the price of charts for iPhone, increase for iPad.
Europe regions (43XG, 44XG, 46XG, 49XG) decrease by 60% for iPhone and increase 35% for iPad. Surprisingly, the British have their region 28XG for iPhone down only 22% ($31), but more than double for iPad ($84). Damned !

Read more …

MacENC et GPSNavX disparaissent définitivement [MAJ]

Depuis le 30 septembre 2018 (*), j’avais déjà eu des informations concernant l’abandon par NAVX Studio LLC du développement des deux applications historiques créées par Richard Ray : GPSNavX et MacENC. Les repreneurs de ces applications et de iNavX avaient clairement annoncé se consacrer désormais uniquement au développement de iNavX, sous iOS et sous Android. Il est probable que les applications sur Mac n’avaient plus aucune rentabilité, surtout avec la perte des cartes Navionics pour MacENC. Lire la suite …

Les cartes Navionics ne sont plus disponibles pour MacENC [MAJ]

[MAJ du 30 septembre 2018] Attention : l’application MacENC n’est plus supportée par ses développeurs. Elle ne lit plus les cartes raster et les cartes Navionics ne sont plus disponibles. Application abandonnée à ce jour.

Depuis la mise à niveau des cartes Navionics Gold en Navionics Plus (¹), l’offre Navionics a disparu du dossier Fugawi/Charts pour MacENC. Pensant à une disparition temporaire, j’ai finalement demandé au support Fugawi qui a confirmé (entre les lignes) la suppression définitive : Lire la suite …

Le nouveau découpage des NV Charts

J’avais présenté en mai 2015 les excellentes cartes raster NV Charts de l’éditeur allemand NV Verlag. En 2016, le découpage d’origine en 4 zones pour les côtes de France – Manche et Atlantique – a été scindé en 8 zones à 49,90$ chacune. Ces cartes sont disponibles pour iNavX sur le site Fugawi/Charts (x-traverse.com). Il est à noter que chaque année une nouvelle édition vient remplacer la précédente, il n’y a pas de mise à jour.

Le découpage en 2015

Lire la suite …

iNavX change de main

Nouveaux développeurs, nouveau logo, nouvelle page d’ouverture, et nouveau site web.

La version 4.7.0 vient d’être délivrée par NavX Studios LLC, la société qui a racheté à Richard Ray la totalité de ses créations informatiques : GPSNavX, MacENC et iNavX.

La passation s’est effectuée pendant l’été. Les nouveaux développeurs (ils sont deux) se sont d’abord attelé à iNavX, pour une première mise à jour de débuggage, optimisation des performances et accélération du téléchargement des cartes avec X-Traverse. Gageons que ce transfert apportera une nouvelle dynamique à ces excellentes applications, dont la création et le développement ont reposé depuis 2002 sur l’unique clavier de Rich Ray.

Je continue à tester et à produire la version française de ces applications pour le compte de la nouvelle équipe.

 

NV Chart étend les côtes de France issues du SHOM

Dans un précédent billet j’ai présenté les cartes raster du SHOM proposées par différents éditeurs sur iPad. Depuis quelques semaines l’éditeur de cartes marines allemand NV Verlag propose deux nouvelles zones finissant la couverture des côtes de France Atlantique et Manche. Ces cartes sont utilisables aussi bien avec iNavX sur iPad/iPhone, qu’avec GPSNavX et MacENC sur Mac. On peut donc, contrairement à Navionics, utiliser les deux copies disponibles de chaque dossier sur deux supports différents (iPad, iPhone ou Mac).

Lire la suite …

Mise à jour gratuite Navionics 3XG [MAJ]

navionics 3xgNavionics vient d’annoncer la mise à jour gratuite de la Region 3XG qui couvre entièrement l’Amérique Centrale, l’Amérique du Sud, les Grandes et Petites Antilles, jusqu’aux Bahamas. Les cartes comprises dans ce folio sont en grande partie mises à jour à la date de avril 2012.

Contrairement aux années 2010 et 2011, ce folio ne fait pas l’objet d’un nouveau dossier Navionics 2012 payant, mais d’une simple mise à jour gratuite.

Pour iPhone et iPad, la mise à jour s’effectue depuis iNavX (¹). Pour MacENC, à l’aide de l’utilitaire X-Traverse (²).

Rodnay Bay

Mise à jour Rodnay Bay (Sainte-Lucie)

[MAJ] Mise à jour gratuite 2012 Navionics 43XG et 30XG

[MAJ – 1 juin 2012] Mise à jour gratuite 2012 Navionics 34XG Pacifique – Japon


(¹) Mettre à jour les cartes avec iNavX
(²) Activer et utiliser les cartes Navionics Gold avec MacENC

Des cartes fluviales ENC gratuites utilisables avec MacENC

VNFDans le cadre de sa politique visant à proposer aux usagers une voie d’eau toujours plus efficace et sûre, l’établissement public Voies Navigables de France s’est lancé dans la réalisation de cartes électroniques de navigation intérieure sur différents axes de son réseau. Les deux premières : la liaison « Dunkerque-Escaut » et « La Garonne » sont publiées.

La grande surprise, cas unique dans l’histoire de l’administration française, est que ces cartes sont disponibles en téléchargement libre et gratuit sur le site de VNF. Cela valait d’être salué ! Lire la suite …

Connecter un Miniplex-2USB avec GPSNavX/MacENC

Le multiplexeur Miniplex-2 USB (¹) de la société ShipModul permet de connecter l’ensemble des instruments du bord directement sur un connecteur USB de votre Mac. Les logiciels GPSNavX ou MacENC pourront recevoir et afficher les données NMEA des instruments, et les renvoyer si nécessaire à un pilote automatique, une VHF ASN, un traceur, un Radar ou tout autre répétiteur.

Un utilitaire « Miniplex2 » permet de configurer les canaux d’entrées et de sorties de l’appareil, de choisir parmi plusieurs modes de fonctionnement, et propose des options avancées pour les installations complexes.

Pour une configuration classique la mise en oeuvre est assez simple, et une Aide Miniplex2 en français est intégrée au logiciel pour les explications détaillées des différentes options disponibles. Suivez le guide… Lire la suite …

Cartes Navionics 2011 : nouveau tarif

La livraison des cartes Navionics 2011 vient de s’accompagner d’un changement significatif du tarif : diminution importante du prix des cartes pour iPhone, augmentation pour iPad.
Les cartes d’Europe (43XG, 44XG, 46XG, 49XG) baissent de 60% pour iPhone et augmentent de 35% pour iPad. Etonnement, les britanniques voient leur carte 28XG pour iPhone baisser seulement de 22% ($31), mais plus que doubler pour iPad ($84). Damned !

Lire la suite …

Les cartes Navionics 2011

 

inavxDepuis quelques semaines Navionics a édité de nouvelles versions de ses folios de cartes estampillées 2011. Un nouveau dossier de cartes Navionics “Gold Marine Charts 2011” a ainsi été ajouté dans la fonction “Ajouter plus de cartes” de iNavX.

Ces folios remplacent les précédents et doivent donc être achetés pour pouvoir les télécharger. J’en ai expliqué la procédure dans un précédent billet. Je rappelle que les cartes Navionics font l’objet de mises à jour gratuites entre deux éditions, mais qu’une nouvelle édition payante vient remplacer la précédente tous les 1 à 2 ans. Ceci étant, rien n’oblige à acheter une nouvelle édition à chaque parution. Lire la suite …