Weather4D Routing & Navigation supports Imray charts

With yesterday's delivery of the version 2.0.54, Weather4D add Imray charts (¹) to the Routing & Navigation, recently available in Geogarage. Five layers cover the Atlantic facade (²) , from the North Sea and the Shetlands to the Canaries and the Azores, and one layer covers the Greater and Lesser Antilles.

But the most important are the three layers covering the western, central and eastern Mediterranean, which now provide detailed coverage from the Ionian Sea to the Aegean Sea. An excellent complement to the international SHOM layer. Read more …

Smart navigation – From paper charts to augmented reality

I relayed here, in French, an article published in the British magazine Yachting Monthly (¹) charts portfolio on 30 th. The subject deals with the debate between paper charts and electronic navigation, by stating many truths, but also sometimes one or two untruths. The purpose has the merit of presenting contrasting arguments, and to obtain the opinion of recognized UK's professional boaters. Since the confinement imposes time constraints on us, let's take this opportunity to enjoy this instructive reading.… Read more …

Imray charts are coming on iPhone and iPad

A little history

Imray charts, Laurie, Norie & Wilson LTD is the private publisher of nautical charts and nautical books the best known of England. It is also the oldest, heir of the first private publishers of nautical charts of the 18th century, les « bluebacks » ou « blueback charts », who owed their name to the blue manilla paper highly resistant used by these manufacturers.

I found out the Imray charts for yachting during my first trip to the West Indies, the late 80. All rental boats which I was involved were equipped with these charts, a smaller format so convenient to spread on the chart tables, Water resistant, folded and presented in robust clear pockets.

Featuring beautiful colors, very readable, they had many cartridges details of ports and anchorages, extremely useful for navigation.

This format, A few years later, largement inspiré le SHOM pour les cartes pliées « P » plaisance. I sold it for several years in my shipchandler store in Nantes, and I always use a few copies I have treasured.

imray papier

Imray charts for boating

Read more …

Weather4D Routage & Navigation supporte les cartes Imray

Avec la livraison hier de la version 2.0.54, Weather4D ajoute les cartes Imray (¹) à la version Routage & Navigation, récemment disponibles au catalogue de Geogarage. Cinq dossiers couvrent la façade Atlantique (²) , de la Mer du Nord et des Shetlands aux Canaries et aux Açores, et un dossier couvre les Grandes et Petites Antilles.

Mais le plus important sont les trois dossiers couvrant la Méditerranée occidentale, centrale et orientale, qui apportent désormais une couverture en détail de la Mer Ionienne jusqu’à la Mer Egée. Un excellent complément au dossier international du SHOM. Lire la suite …

Navigation intelligente – Des cartes papier à la réalité augmentée

Je relaye ici, en français, un article publié dans le magazine britannique Yachting Monthly (¹) le 30 mars dernier. Le sujet traite du débat entre cartes papier et navigation électronique, en énonçant de nombreuses vérités, mais également parfois une ou deux contre-vérités. Le propos a le mérite de présenter des arguments contrastés, et de recueillir l’avis de professionnels reconnus de la navigation de plaisance du Royaume-Uni. Puisque le confinement nous en impose le temps, profitons-en pour nous impregner de cette instructive lecture… Lire la suite …

Les cartes Imray débarquent sur iPhone et iPad

Un peu d’histoire

Imray, Laurie, Norie & Wilson LTD est l’éditeur privé de cartes marines et d’ouvrages nautiques le plus connu d’Angleterre. Il est aussi le plus ancien, héritier des premiers éditeurs privés de cartes marines du 18e siècle, les “bluebacks” ou “blueback charts”, qui devaient leur nom au papier bleu manille très résistant utilisé par ces fabricants.

J’ai découvert les cartes Imray pour la plaisance lors de mon premier séjour aux Antilles, à la fin des années 80. Tous les bateaux de location dont je m’occupais étaient équipés de ces cartes, d’un format réduit donc pratique à étaler sur les tables à carte, résistantes à l’eau, pliables et présentées dans de robustes pochettes transparentes.

Dotées de superbes couleurs, très lisibles, elles présentaient de nombreux cartouches de détails des ports et des mouillages, extrêmement utiles à la navigation.

Ce format a, quelques années plus tard, largement inspiré le SHOM pour les cartes pliées “P” plaisance. J’en ai vendu pendant plusieurs années dans mon magasin d’accastillage à Nantes, et j’en utilise toujours quelques exemplaires que j’ai précieusement conservés.

imray papier

Les cartes Imray pour la plaisance

Lire la suite …