Accessories


Heat wave ? How to refrigerate your iPad

My friends Christiane and Jochen Lührs are the proud owners of a superb classic ketch German building, Socorro, with which they regularly cross the west European coasts. Entirely made of solid wood 1951, they maintain her with meticulous care, after Read more …

Navigate with mobile Hi-Fi music

If you navigate with an iPad and enjoy mobile navigation, and if you like listening to music for dancing on the waves, you may be interested in Mobile Hi-Fi. The well-known manufacturer Bose Read more …

Christmas shopping at the Nautic Paris

For the first time since 5 years I'm not moving to the Paris Nautic boat show. And for the first time I do so not "stuck" ten hours per day on a stand of 9 m². And Read more …

Garmin and gadgets for geeks

In 2013 the world leader in recreational GPS has designed the Quatix ®, a GPS watch waterproof allowing boaters to display on their wrist all data of their navigation devices, Garmin of course, equipped with Wi-Fi access point / Bluetooth Read more …

Recharge mobile phones on board

This summer, It's decided, We rent a large catamaran in family ! At last, would be better to say "in extended family. : four adults, two older teens + their respective boyfriend-girlfriend + a child of 11 years. We thought Read more …

iTabNav.fr

The 14 March 2011 I had announce the opening of an e-commerce website focused in accessories, mounts and connexion devices dedicated to iPhone and iPad for marine navigation : iPadNav.fr. Since then, its founder and I have maintained close Read more …

Protections for iPad (4)

I've already written the greatest good that I think sealed boxes Andres Industries iPad Case (¹). It remains for me the top of the protection in all weather conditions, at sea and ashore. Bulky and fairly Read more …

The aiShell waterproof case for iPad Mini

This time, it came up ! The new waterproof case for iPad Mini by Andres Industries, to whom we owe the famous iPad Case, is finally available. Smaller, lighter, more discreet, but equally robust, in the evening Read more …

Mirror iPad screen… in the cabin. [Update]

Hey yes, this is the world upside down ! At the beginning of iPad use in a boat, the tablet was used to capture the screen of a PC fixed to a chart table for display applications such as MaxSea in the cockpit. Read more …

Protections for iPad (3)

In a note from 19 March 2011 I mentioned the announcement of an iPad waterproof case by the young company LifeProof. It took a year and a half to see the outcome of this case. Understand that the rapid succession of models Read more …

Redpark GPS Cable

Redpark company, Emeryville, California, and former founder of Keyspan, designed the C2-GPS GPS Cable for Dock Connector for Apple Devices. This cable is intended for connecting external GPS devices which use the Read more …

Simple and original mount for iPad

Serge Rousseau, a Canadian sailor, sent me some pictures of the installation of its iPad on his yacht. He wrote me : « Je vous envoie quelques photos du support. I have attached an industrial velcro to the stainless steel tube and I am securing the case Read more …

Protections for iPad (2)

I presented in the first article on the coverage tailored to the boat waterproof housing Andres Industries (*). This manufacturer has responded quickly to comments and criticisms of its product. He was kind enough to send me to Read more …

Protections for iPad on boat

IPad is not watertight, we know. Apple has not designed for that purpose, one suspects. The creative genius of Steve Jobs certainly not to imagine that the sailors would use its tablet as positioner / drive Read more …

iTabNav.fr

This is an excellent initiative that we owe to Dominique Gauthier : iTabNav.fr is a brand new French e-commerce site mainly dedicated to iPad accessories (and iPhone) useful for maritime use of these devices. Rather than looking on the Read more …

iPad, cases and mounts for yachting[Update]

In my first article on the iPad used as player-plotter, I mentioned two or three essential accessories to handle on board. The mounting remained unresolved, few products was then available. On board a Read more …

iPad, a Chartplotter Killer ?

With iPad 3G finally in hands, iNavX equipped and (beta) XL version AyeTides during beta testing, I'm going to give you my first impression, previously to perform an extended test at sea. Read more …

mail

Accessoires


Canicule ? Comment réfrigérer son iPad

Mes amis Christiane et Jochen Lührs sont les heureux propriétaires d’un superbe ketch classique de construction germanique, Socorro, avec lequel ils sillonnent régulièrement les côtes ouest européennes. Entièrement construit en bois massif en 1951, ils l’entretiennent avec un soin méticuleux, après Lire la suite …

Naviguez en musique avec la Hi-Fi mobile

Si vous naviguez avec un iPad et avez pris goût à la navigation mobile, et si vous aimez écouter de la musique pour danser sur les flots, vous serez peut-être intéressé par la Hi-Fi mobile. Le fabricant bien connu Bose Lire la suite …

Shopping de Noël au Nautic de Paris

Pour la première fois depuis 5 ans je ne me déplace pas au Nautic de Paris. Et pour la première fois je ne suis donc pas « scotché » dix heures par jour sur un stand de 9 m². Et Lire la suite …

Garmin et les gadgets pour geeks

En 2013 le leader mondial du GPS de loisirs a conçu la Quatix®, une montre GPS étanche permettant aux navigateurs d’afficher à leur poignet toutes les données de leurs appareils de navigation, Garmin bien sûr, équipés d’un point d’accès Wi-Fi/Bluetooth Lire la suite …

Recharger les mobiles à bord

Cet été, c’est décidé, nous louons un grand catamaran en famille ! Enfin, mieux vaudrait dire « en famille élargie » : quatre adultes, deux grands adolescents + leur copain-copine respectifs + un enfant de 11 ans. On a pensé Lire la suite …

iTabNav.fr

Le 14 mars 2011 j’annonçais l’apparition du site web e-commerce spécialisé dans les accessoires, supports et appareils de connexion dédiés aux iPhone et iPad pour la navigation maritime : iPadNav.fr. Depuis lors, son fondateur et moi avons entretenu une étroite Lire la suite …

Les protections pour iPad (4)

Je vous ai déjà écrit le plus grand bien que je pense des boitiers étanches iPad Case de Andres Industrie (¹). Cela reste pour moi le top de la protection tout temps, en mer comme à terre. Encombrants et assez Lire la suite …

Le boitier étanche aiShell pour iPad Mini

Cette fois, il est enfin arrivé ! Le nouveau boitier étanche pour iPad Mini de Andres Industries, à qui l’on doit le célèbre iPad Case, est enfin disponible. Plus petit, plus léger, plus discret, mais tout aussi robuste, il sera Lire la suite …

Déporter l’écran d’un iPad… dans le carré. [MAJ]

Eh oui, c’est le monde à l’envers ! Aux débuts de l’utilisation d’un iPad en bateau, la tablette servait à capturer l’écran d’un PC fixé sur la table à cartes pour afficher des applications telles que MaxSea dans le cockpit. Lire la suite …

Les protections pour iPad (3)

Dans un billet du 19 mars 2011 j’évoquais l’annonce d’un boitier pour iPad par la jeune société LifeProof. Il aura fallu un an et demi pour voir l’aboutissement de ce boitier. Il faut comprendre que la rapide succession de modèles Lire la suite …

Redpark GPS Cable

La société Redpark, basée à Emeryville en Californie et ancien fondateur de Keyspan, a conçu le GPS Cable C2-GPS pour le connecteur Dock des appareils Apple. Ce câble est destiné à connecter des GPS externes qui utilisent en sortie le Lire la suite …

Un support pour iPad simple et original

Serge Rousseau, un navigateur canadien, m’a envoyé quelques images de l’installation de son iPad sur son voilier. Il m’écrit : « Je vous envoie quelques photos du support. J’ai fixé un velcro industriel sur le tube en inox et j’assure l’étui Lire la suite …

Les protections pour iPad (2)

J’ai présenté dans le premier article sur les protections adaptées au bateau le boitier étanche de Andres Industries (*). Ce fabricant a réagi très vite aux remarques et critiques émises sur son produit. Il a eu l’amabilité de m’envoyer à Lire la suite …

Les protections pour iPad en bateau

Un iPad n’est pas étanche, on le sait. Apple ne l’a pas conçu pour cet usage, on s’en doute. Le génie créatif de Steve Jobs n’a certainement pas été jusqu’à imaginer que des marins utiliseraient sa tablette comme positionneur/lecteur de Lire la suite …

iTabNav.fr

C’est une excellente initiative que l’on doit à Dominique Gauthier : iTabNav.fr est un tout nouveau site de e-commerce français essentiellement dédié aux accessoires iPad (et iPhone) utiles à l’usage maritime de ces appareils. Plutôt que de chercher sur la Lire la suite …

iPad, des supports pour naviguer[MAJ]

Lors de mon premier article concernant l’iPad utilisé comme lecteur-traceur de cartes, j’ai évoqué deux ou trois accessoires indispensables pour l’accompagner à bord. La question de la fixation restait en suspens, peu de produits étant alors disponibles. A bord d’un Lire la suite …

iPad, un Chartplotter killer ?

Avec enfin un iPad 3G entre les mains, équipé de iNavX et de la (future) version de AyeTides XL en cours de beta-tests, je vais pouvoir vous livrer mes premières impressions, en attendant d’aller effectuer un essai prolongé en mer. Lire la suite …

mail