iTabNav.fr always listening to browsers

14 March 201114 March 2024, a birthday (¹) which does not fall round, but a performance worth saluting ! What was just a Startup in the early days of the use of tablets and smartphones in navigation is now a company with a long history (²). Dominique Gauthier, its founder and manager, has participated for more than ten years in securing our iPads by becoming the exclusive importer for France of the famous cases aiShell (Originally “iPad Case”). Designed and manufactured in Germany, Waterproof and robust properties that no longer need to be demonstrated, with a wide range of supports and accessories to meet all needs at sea. Read more …

Weather4D R&N and distance calculations

Since the arrival of the ARM-based Mac (M1… M3…) and the system macOS 11 Big Sur, Weather4D Routing & Navigation runs natively on our favorite computers (¹). But this happy event was not going to, since then, without a few small restrictions. The most annoying one for users was, to date, loss of distance calculation. This is done on touch devices by a two-finger long press, there was no function to translate this gesture on Mac. The mouse has only one pointer, not two ! Read more …

NMEA OneNet® : A new standard for high-end communication

20 years after NMEA 2000 and more than 40 years after NMEA0183, OneNet® is the third-generation NMEA standard for interfacing and networking marine data.

In development since 2010 by NMEA members (1), to be published in late 2021, the OneNet standard is based on the IP Internet Protocol (2) version 6 (IPv6) and runs on IEEE Ethernet LAN 802.3. This new standard is intended to combine the three NMEA data standards — OneNet, NMEA 2000, NMEA0183 — on a single local area network (LAN). Read more …

Nomad AIS transponder is back

Appeared in spring 2017, the Nomad by Digital Yacht was the first, and the only one, portable AIS transponder. I carried out a detailed test the following summer, reported on this blog (¹). It had been feared that this excellent device would be discontinued, because it has been unavailable for several months, but not at all ! Right now it is reborn in a new and improved version : Nomad-2. Read more …

MacENCx64 finally offers global charting

Since taking over MacENC at the end of the year 2020, become MacENCx64 (¹), it took three painstaking years for the company NavStation LLC to finalize the implementation of a global charting. Since January 1 2024 is now done. A long negotiation with the ENC charting distributor ChartWorld (²) has enabled the creation of a range of vector charts in ENC S-57/S-63 format (³) as in-app purchase. Read more …

Connecting USB/Bluetooth GPS with Mac M1 [Update-2]

The arrival of Macs with Apple M1 processors and macOS systems 11 "Big Sur" and macOS 12 "Monterey" had caused disappointments among GPS users connected via USB and/or Bluetooth for their navigation applications..

In USB, Latest DriverProlific V.2.2.2 is now universal for GPS BU-353xx by GlobalSat. As for theGNS3000 (¹) in Bluetooth it always undergoes an instability of the interface for the connection of multiple devices, instability that unfortunately does not yet seem to be fully fixed. Read more …

XB-8000 new transponder AIS WiFi for mobile devices [Update]

xb-8000Vesper Marine, company established in 2007 in Auckland (New Zealand), specializes in the design of devices for AIS data broadcasting. Their latest product, XB-8000, is a Class B AIS transponder certified NMEA2000® compact, low consumption, responding to the yachting market and small business units. It has essentially been designed with a view to WiFi transmission to navigation applications developed on tablets and smartphones.

[Updated] After the acquisition of Vesper Marine by Garmin, this device is discontinued since February 2023. The brand name is also removed.

Read more …

Which iPad for navigation ? [Update-12]

Many of you ask me about choosing an iPad for boating use. Unfortunately having no time to respond to every request a post is required. Each year it is advisable to review this question, and sometimes more often.

With the presentation of the last two iPads this 18 October 2022, the chipset Apple Silicon M2 comes up on models iPad Pro 11″ up to 12,9″, with 8 or 16 GB of RAM of RAM memory (depending on storage capacity). The new iPad 10 " low cost" receives the A14 Bionic chip from the iPad Air 4 with a screen extended to 10.9″. The great novelty of all these devices is the appearance of the USB-C connector imposed by the European Union, and the supply of the USB-C charger and cable. Read more …

Weather4D R&N et le calcul des distances

Depuis l’arrivée des Mac à processeur ARM (M1… M3…) et le système macOS 11 Big Sur, Weather4D Routage & Navigation fonctionne nativement sur nos ordinateurs préférés (¹). Mais cet heureux évènement n’allait pas, depuis lors, sans quelques petites restrictions. La plus ennuyeuse pour les utilisateurs était, jusqu’à ce jour, la perte du calcul des distances. Celui-ci s’effectuant sur les appareils tactiles par un appui long à deux doigts, aucune fonction ne permettait la traduction de ce geste sur Mac. La souris n’ayant qu’un pointeur, pas deux ! Lire la suite …

NMEA OneNet® : un nouveau standard de communication haut de gamme

20 ans après NMEA 2000 et plus de 40 ans après NMEA0183, OneNet® est la norme NMEA de troisième génération pour l’interfaçage et la mise en réseau des données marines.

En développement depuis 2010 par les membres de la NMEA (1), et publié fin 2021, le standard OneNet est basé sur le protocole internet IP (2) version 6 (IPv6) et fonctionne sur le réseau local Ethernet IEEE 802.3. Ce nouveau standard a pour vocation de combiner les trois normes des données NMEA — OneNet, NMEA 2000, NMEA0183 — sur un unique réseau local (LAN). Lire la suite …

Le transpondeur AIS Nomad est de retour

Apparu au printemps 2017, le Nomad de Digital Yacht était le premier, et l’unique, transpondeur AIS transportable. J’en avais réalisé un essai détaillé l’été suivant relaté sur ce blog (¹). On avait craint que cet excellent appareil soit abandonné, car indisponible depuis plusieurs mois, que nenni ! Le voici renaissant dans une nouvelle version très améliorée : Nomad-2. Lire la suite …

MacENCx64 propose enfin une cartographie mondiale

Depuis la reprise de MacENC fin 2020, devenu MacENCx64 (¹), il a fallu trois laborieuses années à la société NavStation LLC pour finaliser la mise en place d’une cartographie mondiale. Depuis le 1er janvier 2024 c’est désormais chose faite. Une longue négociation avec le distributeur de cartographie ENC ChartWorld (²) a permis la création d’une offre de cartes vectorielles aux formats ENC S-57/S-63 (³) en achats intégrés. Lire la suite …

La connexion des GPS USB/Bluetooth avec Mac M1 [MAJ-2]

L’arrivée des Mac à processeurs Apple M1 et des systèmes macOS 11 « Big Sur » et macOS 12 « Monterey » avait provoqué des déconvenues chez les utilisateurs de GPS connectés en USB et/ou en Bluetooth pour leurs applications de navigation.

En USB, le plus récent driver Prolific V.2.2.2 est désormais universel pour les GPS BU-353xx de GlobalSat. Quant au GNS3000 (¹) en Bluetooth il subit toujours une instabilité de l’interface pour la connexion de multiples appareils, instabilité qui ne semble malheureusement pas encore totalement résolue. Lire la suite …

XB-8000 nouveau transpondeur AIS WiFi pour appareils mobiles [MAJ]

xb-8000Vesper Marine, société fondée en 2007 à Auckland (Nouvelle-Zélande), s’est spécialisée dans la conception d’appareils pour la transmission des données AIS. Leur tout dernier produit, XB-8000, est un transpondeur AIS Classe B certifié NMEA2000® compact, à basse consommation, répondant au marché de la plaisance et des petites unités professionnelles. Il a été essentiellement conçu dans une optique de transmission WiFi vers les applications de navigation développées sur les tablettes et smartphones. 

[Mise à jour] Après le rachat de Vesper Marine par Garmin, cet appareil n’est plus commercialisé depuis février 2023. Le nom de la marque est également supprimé.

Lire la suite …

Quel iPad pour la navigation ? [MAJ-12]

Vous êtes nombreux à m’interroger sur le choix d’un iPad pour un usage de navigation. N’ayant malheureusement pas le temps de répondre à chaque demande un billet s’impose. Chaque année il convient de refaire le point sur cette question, et même parfois plus souvent.

Avec la présentation des deux derniers iPad ce 18 octobre 2022, le processeur Apple Silicon M2 fait son apparition sur les modèles iPad Pro 11″ et 12,9″, dotés de 8 ou 16 Go de mémoire RAM (selon la capacité de stockage). Le nouvel iPad 10 « low cost » reçoit la puce A14 Bionic de l’iPad Air 4 avec un écran agrandi à 10,9″. La grande nouveauté de tous ces appareils est l’apparition du connecteur USB-C imposé par l’Union européenne, et la fourniture du chargeur et du cordon USB-C. Lire la suite …

MiniPlex-3 nouveau firmware 3.14.0

Depuis la sortie du firmware 3.6.0, plusieurs mises à jour ont été publiées, jusqu’à la dernière en date 3.14.0. Elle est à mettre en œuvre avec la dernière version de l’utilitaire MPX-Config 3.10.0, uniquement disponible pour PC/Windows. Le tout est à télécharger sur le site de ShipModul, section Downloads. Voici un résumé des principales nouveautés… Lire la suite …

MiniPlex-3 nouveau firmware 3.6.0 [MAJ]

Attention : article réservé aux utilisateurs avertis. ShipModul vient de publier un nouveau firmware MiniPlex-3 (V.3.6.0) et une version mise à jour de l’utilitaire de configuration MPXConfig3 (V.3.6.0) PC/Windows. Il s’agit d’une mise à jour concernant des améliorations et des corrections de bugs. Débutant s’abstenir 😉 Lire la suite …