Apple finally ship GALILEO [Update]

Good news, a year after its appearance on the first smartphones (¹), Apple finally integrates a GNSS receiver chipset compatible GALILEO. The iPhone 8/8+ and soon iPhone X are now provided with the LTE X16 Snapdragon modem MDM9655 from Qualcomm company, which includes a multi-GNSS receiver : GPS (USA), GLONASS (Russia), GALILEO (Europe) and QZSS (Japan) (²). Confirmation was given to me by our friends at iFixit.

[Update 15/12/2017] The iPhone 6S and 7 are now compatible with Galileo signals.

Read more …

GALILEO and the Apple mobile

Within a month of the launch by Ariane 5 four new satellites of the GALILEO constellation to 18 satellites, manufacturers of components of location have already presented their new chips of location supporting the European GNSS. This allowed the Spanish company BQ to propose early September the first smartphone "Galileo-ready., equipped with the processorQualcomm Snapdragon 652, the Aquarius X 5 more.

We could expect to find the same chip in the iPhone 7 from Apple, that fitted for the iPad and iPhone 4S 3 all its mobile devices with Qualcomm communication processors, integrating GPS reception (US) and GLONASS (Russian), it is not. With this latest smartphone, Apple revives Broadcom, waived for 2012 to ensure these functions, by integrating a chip BCM47734.

Read more …

2016 Year of GALILEO

Since my first post on GALILEO end 2011 (¹), Europe's space has increased. Despite the economic uncertainties and many budgetary restrictions, Course and schedule have been maintained thanks to a community political flawless. This is to be welcomed because many other areas of European action didn't have the scoop.

The year 2016 has already been dubbed "the year of GALILEO".. This was the clear message of the Munich Satellite Navigation Summit (²) early March. The Munich Summit covered all GNSS systems, but this year focus was squarely on GALILEO. Read more …

Galileo, here we go !

Just published, charts portfolio on 20 October, my previous post about iPhone 4S new GPS chipset – to receive signals from the Russian GLONASS system – in which I inserted a skeptical comment about the future of Galileo, I find myself caught up in the news.

Not only the first two satellites Galileo were launched the following day 21 October successfully from Kourou, but more by the Russian Soyuz ! I hope you enjoy the comedy of the situation… Read more …

Apple embarque enfin GALILEO [MAJ]

Bonne nouvelle, un an après son apparition sur les premiers smartphones (¹), Apple intègre enfin un processeur de réception GNSS compatible GALILEO. Les iPhone 8/8+ et bientôt iPhone X sont désormais pourvus du modem LTE X16 Snapdragon MDM9655 de la société Qualcomm, qui comprend un récepteur multi-GNSS : GPS (USA), GLONASS (Russie), GALILEO (Europe) et QZSS (Japon) (²). La confirmation m’en a été apportée par nos amis de iFixit.

[MAJ du 15/12/2017] Les iPhone 6S et 7 sont  désormais compatibles avec les signaux Galileo.

Lire la suite …

GALILEO et les mobiles Apple

A moins d’un mois du lancement par Ariane 5 de quatre nouveaux satellites portant la constellation GALILEO à 18 satellites, les fabricants de composants de localisation ont déjà présenté leurs nouvelles puces de localisation supportant le GNSS européen. Cela a permis à la société espagnole BQ de proposer début septembre le premier smartphone « Galileo-ready », équipé du processeur Qualcomm Snapdragon 652, l’Aquarius X5 Plus.

On aurait pu s’attendre à retrouver la même puce dans l’iPhone 7 d’Apple, qui équipait depuis l’iPhone 4S et l’iPad 3 tous ses appareils mobiles avec des processeurs de communication Qualcomm, intégrant réception  GPS (US) et GLONASS (Russe), il n’en est rien. Avec ce dernier smartphone, Apple renoue avec Broadcom, écarté depuis 2012 pour assurer ces fonctions, en intégrant une puce BCM47734.

Lire la suite …

2016 Année de GALILEO

Depuis mon premier billet sur GALILEO fin 2011 (¹), l’Europe de l’espace a fortement progressé. Malgré les aléas économiques et nombreuses restrictions budgétaires, le cap et le calendrier ont été maintenus grâce à une volonté politique communautaire sans faille. Cela vaut d’être salué car bien d’autres domaines de l’action européenne n’en ont pas eu la primeur.

L’année 2016 a déjà été surnommée « L’Année de GALILEO ». Ce fut le message clair du Sommet de la Navigation par Satellite de Munich (²) début mars. Le sommet de Munich couvrait tous les systèmes GNSS, mais l’accent cette année était carrément sur GALILEO. Lire la suite …

Galileo, c’est parti !

A peine publié, le 20 octobre, mon précédent billet sur le nouveau chipset GPS de l’iPhone 4S – permettant de recevoir les signaux du système GLONASS russe – dans lequel j’ai inséré un commentaire sceptique sur l’avenir de Galileo, que je me vois rattrapé par l’actualité.

Non seulement les deux premiers satellites de  Galileo ont été lancés le lendemain 21 octobre avec succès depuis Kourou, mais de plus par le lanceur russe Soyouz ! J’espère que vous apprécierez le comique de la situation… Lire la suite …