Navionics Boating mutating

Since Garmin has acquired Navionics (¹), it will not take more than a year for Navionics also make its small (r)evolution in its flagship iOS and Android application . New logo, renouncing the multiplicity of applications, abandonment of duality iPad/iPhone, pricing standardization, bring, among other changes, a little more consistency in supply. Read more …

Navionics charts are no longer available for MacENC [Update]

[Update 30 September 2018] Warning : MacENC application is no longer supported by its developers. It no longer reads raster charts and Navionics charts are no longer available. Application is discontinued to date.

Since the upgrade of Navionics Gold to Navionics Plus (¹), Navionics supply disappeared from Fugawi / Charts folder for MacENC. Thinking of a temporary disappearance, I finally asked the Fugawi support who confirmed (between the lines) permanently deleted : Read more …

The stakeholders of electronic charting [Update-2]

In April 2010 I published a ticket to locate the main actors of the electronic charting. Passing time, to refresh this information, due to recent corporate moves. Some have disappeared, as Maptech, recently Fugawi, others have changed hands, an update is needed.

Thunderclap that 27 October 2017, Navionics was acquired by Garmin (¹) ! The latter remained independent private publisher, to this day the hand of the Italian founder Giuseppe Carnevali, happening in the portfolio of the Garmin multinational company, shortly after the acquisition of the global database Active Captain. The cards are again redistributed…

Read more …

Navionics Boating 9.0 the point about what's new

Updated on 17 May, Navionics Boating presents some modifications, in the presentation and functionality.

First of all only subsist Navionics Boating for iPhone and "Boating HD" » for iPad. The old names have disappeared, happily because confusion was great. Version purchased with built-in charting has the name of the region, for example "Europe HD" for iPad. On the other hand, there is a free version called "Seas and Lakes" which allows to test then buy a chart of the area of choice, and additional options. Read more …

Does Navionics charting become dangerous [Update] ?

Since the beginning of the navigation season, many boaters have found an increasing number of errors on Navionics charts, as a result of recent updates, all media. A bit everywhere in Europe, Germany, Baltic countries, French coasts of the Channel and until Spain, appeared non-existent channels and erroneous soundings, missing soundings, missing information, contradictory bathymetric information depending on the zoom levels, and so on. The most important is that these findings are made by assiduous users of long-standing Navionics cartography, experienced navigators.

[Corrective update 26 August 2015]
[SHIFT-2 amendment October 2015] See end of entry. Read more …

Navionics charts trade policy [Update-5]

Trade policy for Navionics charts purchased on the website x - traverse.com has - again - been reviewed in recent weeks, at the same time as the 'My Account' page has changed. These changes are unfortunately not all positive.

The renewal of the charts purchased was proposed for two years at a price of half of the initial purchase price, what had seemed a reasonable offer. This offer is gone for mobile media, and is maintained only for MacENC and applications for PC. This means that users who want to keep their charts updated beyond the first year must renew their chart folder at the initial purchase price. I find this totally counterproductive, as this will encourage many users of this excellent mapping not to renew their files and use them in the State for several years.

[Update 25/08/2014] Changes in the site X-Traverse Read more …

Navionics Boating : Italian at the top of business [Update]

How make the new with the old ? Navionics knows ! After publishing geographic areas including a navigation application, now here is an application, but without charting. Italian are too much !

Navionics Boating complements, since January 2014, the collection of applications Marine (iPhone) and Marine HD (iPad). Also available as standard version for iPhone and HD for iPad, Navionics Boating has the same version number 6.0 than others. Navionics point, on dedicated page its website, that Navionics "Boating" does not replace Navionics "Marine" which will continue to be updated. However, it is permissible to ask for how long, because this new application provides a very bad surprise. Read more …

Navionics Boating en mutation

Depuis l’acquisition de Navionics par Garmin (¹), il n’aura pas fallu plus d’un an pour que Navionics fasse aussi sa petite (r)évolution dans son application phare sous iOS et Android. Nouveau logo, abandon de la multiplicité des applications, abandon de la dualité iPad/iPhone, uniformisation des tarifs, apportent, entre autres modifications, un peu plus de cohérence dans l’offre. Lire la suite …

Les cartes Navionics ne sont plus disponibles pour MacENC [MAJ]

[MAJ du 30 septembre 2018] Attention : l’application MacENC n’est plus supportée par ses développeurs. Elle ne lit plus les cartes raster et les cartes Navionics ne sont plus disponibles. Application abandonnée à ce jour.

Depuis la mise à niveau des cartes Navionics Gold en Navionics Plus (¹), l’offre Navionics a disparu du dossier Fugawi/Charts pour MacENC. Pensant à une disparition temporaire, j’ai finalement demandé au support Fugawi qui a confirmé (entre les lignes) la suppression définitive : Lire la suite …

Les acteurs de la cartographie électronique [MAJ-2]

En avril 2010 je publiais un billet dans le but de situer les principaux acteurs de la cartographie électronique. Le temps passant, il convient de rafraîchir ces informations, du fait des récents mouvements d’entreprises. Certains ont disparu, comme Maptech, plus récemment Fugawi, d’autres ont changé de main, une mise à jour s’impose.

Coup de tonnerre ce 27 octobre 2017, Navionics est racheté par Garmin (¹) ! Le dernier éditeur privé resté indépendant, jusqu’à ce jour au main du fondateur italien Giuseppe Carnevali, passe dans le portefeuille de la société multinationale Garmin, peu de temps après le rachat de la base de donnée mondiale Active Captain. Les cartes sont encore une fois redistribuées…

Lire la suite …

Navionics Boating 9.0 le point sur les nouveautés

Mise à jour le 17 mai dernier, Navionics Boating présente quelques modifications, dans la présentation et les fonctionnalités.

Tout d’abord il n’existe plus que Navionics « Boating » pour iPhone et « Boating HD » pour iPad. Les anciennes appellations ont disparu, fort heureusement car la confusion était grande. Les versions achetées avec une cartographie intégrée portent le nom de la région, par exemple « Europe HD » pour iPad. D’autre part, il subsiste une version gratuite appelée  « Mers et Lacs » qui permet de tester puis d’acheter ensuite une carte de la région de son choix, et les options complémentaires. Lire la suite …

La cartographie Navionics devient-elle dangereuse [MAJ] ?

Depuis le début de la saison de navigation, de nombreux plaisanciers ont constaté une multiplication des erreurs sur les cartes Navionics, à la suite des récentes mises à jour, tous supports confondus. Un peu partout en Europe, Allemagne, Pays Baltes, côtes françaises de la Manche et jusqu’en Espagne, sont apparus des chenaux inexistants et des sondes erronées, des sondes disparues, des informations absentes, des informations bathymétriques contradictoires selon les niveaux de zoom, et j’en passe. Le plus important est que ces constatations sont faites par des utilisateurs assidus de la cartographie Navionics de longue date, des navigateurs expérimentés.

[MAJ corrective 26 août 2015]
[MAJ-2 rectificative octobre 2015] Voir fin d’article. Lire la suite …

Politique commerciale pour les cartes Navionics [MAJ-5]

La politique commerciale concernant les cartes Navionics achetées sur le site x-traverse.com a – de nouveau – été révisée depuis quelques semaines, en même temps que la page « My Account » a été modifiée. Ces changements ne sont malheureusement pas du tout positifs.

Le renouvellement des cartes achetées était proposé depuis deux ans à un prix de moitié du prix d’achat initial, ce qui m’avait semblé une offre raisonnable. Cette offre a disparu pour les supports mobiles, et n’est maintenue que pour MacENC et les applications pour PC. Cela signifie que les utilisateurs qui voudront maintenir leurs cartes à jour au-delà de la première année devront renouveler leur dossier au prix d’achat initial. Je trouve cela totalement contre-productif, car cela va inciter les très nombreux utilisateurs de cette excellente cartographie à ne pas renouveler leurs dossiers et à les utiliser en l’état pendant plusieurs années.

[MAJ du 25/08/2014] Modifications du site X-Traverse Lire la suite …

Navionics Boating : les italiens au top du business [MAJ]

Comment faire du nouveau avec de l’ancien ? Navionics le sait ! Après avoir publié des zones géographiques incluant une application de navigation, voici désormais une application, mais sans cartographie. Trop fort ces italiens !

Navionics Boating vient compléter, depuis janvier 2014, la collection d’applications Marine (iPhone) et Marine HD (iPad). Déclinée également en version standard pour iPhone et HD pour iPad, Navionics Boating porte le même numéro de version 6.0 que les autres. Navionics précise, sur la page dédiée de son site web, que Navionics « Boating » ne remplace pas Navionics « Marine » qui continuera à être tenu à jour. Il est cependant permis de se demander pour combien de temps, car cette nouvelle application réserve une très mauvaise surprise. Lire la suite …