Mac Navigation embarks for the Vendée Globe 2020

Hey yes, everything happens ! In all my computer-nautical career I had never played any computer game whatsoever, not even the historical Windows card game that consumed thousands of hours of idle office time for businesses… but you should never say : never !

So, therefore,, here I am registered at Virtual Regatta,  one among the more than 340.000 players registered at this time, ready to start the Vendée Globe tomorrow at 1:02 p.m.. Like any beginner, I watched some videos to quickly understand this game, that, on balance, seems relatively easy for a confirmed sailor. But, from there to play in the big league, there are still several oceans to cross ! Read more …

Weather4D and SailGrib improve the AIS network

Many AIS tracking networks broadcast over the Internet are available. Among the best known : Marine Traffic, Vessel Finder, SiiTech, LocalizaTodo, and many others. One of these networks especially stands out, AIS Hub, an AIS NMEA data sharing center, which provides developers with an API for integration of its network in applications, and therefore display of AIS targets received over the Internet directly into the application. Featured from the beginning in Weather4D Routing & Navigation, this system has made it possible to envisage new and particularly innovative services. Read more …

Navigation Mac embarque pour le Vendée Globe 2020

Eh oui, tout arrive ! De toute ma carrière informatico-nautique je n’avais jamais joué à quelque jeu que ce soit sur ordinateur, même pas au jeu de cartes historique sous Windows qui a coûté des milliers d’heures de bureau oisives aux entreprises… mais il ne faut jamais dire : jamais !

Or donc, me voici inscrit à Virtual Regatta,  un parmi les plus de 340.000 joueurs inscrits à cette heure, prêt à prendre le départ du Vendée Globe demain à 13h02. Comme tout débutant, j’ai visionné quelques vidéos pour appréhender rapidement ce jeu, qui, sommes toutes, semble relativement simple pour un voileux confirmé. Mais de là à jouer dans la cour des grands, il y a encore plusieurs océans à franchir !

Lire la suite …

Weather4D et SailGrib améliorent le réseau AIS

De nombreux réseaux de tracking AIS retransmis par internet sont disponibles. Parmi les plus connus : Marine Traffic, Vessel Finder, SiiTech, LocalizaTodo, et bien d’autres. Un de ces réseaux se démarque particulièrement, AIS Hub, un centre de partage de données AIS au format NMEA, qui propose aux développeurs une API permettant l’intégration de son réseau dans les applications, et donc l’affichage des cibles AIS reçues par internet directement dans l’application. Présent dès l’origine dans les fonctions de Weather4D Routage & Navigation, ce système a permis d’envisager de nouveaux services particulièrement innovants. Lire la suite …