Satellite communications


Iridium Certus 100, a step towards yachting ?

 Since the operational commissioning of the Iridium NEXT constellation (¹), the company Iridium has started to offer its new range of services called "Certus®". These services are based on the considerably increased technological capabilities of the new satellites., this Read more …

Urgent ! Iridium GO!® firmware update and app GO!®

A new firmware version 2.1.22 is now available for Iridium GO!®. This release includes an update to correct an incorrect time and date issue for the Iridium GO device.!® et l’application GO!®. This problem does not affect Read more …

Iridium GO! app changes look [brief]

The Iridium GO application!®, used on our smartphones (iOS/Android) to connect to the Iridium network using the same name device, just undergone an happy facelift. Nothing really fundamental, if only the user interface, but assistance stylish graphics Read more …

Iridium GO! A positive feedback [Update]

Since it was introduced to the market in September 2014 (Eh, yes, 5 years ago !) this device, with its indisputable ergonomics and excellent quality/price ratio, has become a must-have for offshore sailors. Easy to Read more …

The new Iridium NEXT constellation is completed

With a few months late, Iridium has completed its Iridium NEXT satellite launch campaign (¹). With its 75 new satellites by SpaceX successfully deployed over the past two years, Iridium has achieved the feat Read more …

iWatchSat predicts passage of Iridium satellites

Disappeared when updating Weather4D Pro to Weather4D Routing (¹), Iridium satellite passage prediction returns as a small stand-alone application : iWatchSat. Presented with the same interface as Weather4D apps, it Read more …

Share GRIB files with Air Share

You are more likely to have adopted the Iridium GO! for its easy way to request GRIB files, directly from Weather4D and some other applications. But some also want to transfer these files to PC for Read more …

Iridium NEXT maintains its schedule [Update-3]

June 2012, I wrote a post on the future constellation of communications satellites Iridium NEXT. While intended for operational use in 2017, the calendar was shifted a few months. Indeed, launching Read more …

Iridium Mail & Web : GRIB weather files on iPhone and iPad in open sea [Update-2]

[Update 15 February 2019] The recent update of the Iridium Mail app & Web gives me the opportunity to refresh the ticket originally written in December 2011. RedPort's Wi-Fi Optimizer gateway allows owners Read more …

Iridium GO! finally corrects its shortcomings [Update]

Iridium has just published an update of its Iridium GO device firmware! to correct a number of dysfunctions, including the slowness of data transfers (Messaging, GRIB files, aso.) but also recurring communication problems Read more …

Satellite phones : prices increase in France

If satellite telephony tariffs, mainly Iridium and Inmarsat, have not evolved in the U.S.A., this is not the case in France. After storage removal of products remained on the shelves, new supplies distributors underwent Read more …

Iridium stops the distribution of the AxcessPoint router [Update]

Iridium announced in its distribution network shutdown late February router WiFi AxcessPoint (¹) which allows an iPad or an iPhone to connect to an Iridium phone to access a messaging service. No worries Read more …

Iridium Mail & Web is once again fully usable

Since release Apple iOS 8 early October 2014 Iridium Mail application & Web (which replaced AxcessPoint Mail & Web) was no longer able to export an attachment in another application by the function "open in".… Read more …

Iridium unifies the use of its mobile devices

Since the release of Iridium GO! (¹) There were two different pages of subscription (for free) to messaging service, and two applications (iOS/Android) to connect to the Iridium devices. Now there is only one application : Iridium Mail Read more …

Iridium GO! keeps its promises [Update]

Since its announcement in February, the GO! is expected to come from dealers at the beginning of this month. The company E - SAT in gave me one to conduct some tests. Although too late to perform Read more …

IsatPhone 2 the new Inmarsat satellite phone [Update-2]

The war is open between the two leading operators worldwide satellite phone. After the announcement of GO! by Iridium (¹), Here IsatPhone 2 by Inmarsat. Inmarsat will deliver its new mobile satellite phone on March 24 next. IsatPhone 2 target the top Read more …

With IsatHub, Inmarsat promises to connect - much - faster [Update]

After the announcement with great pomp of GO! Iridium a few months ago, but not yet available, INMARSAT has IsatHub at the CommunicAsia fair which has just closed its doors in Singapore. Competition is severe between Read more …

Iridium GO! promises to connect you – nearly – anywhere

We talk about it in the press The global satellite company targets the consumer market with Iridium GO!™ : pack it for camping or world travel (¹). In all public places where you can connect without Read more …

IsatPhone Pro versus Iridium (continue)

As promised in my post on 15 July, here are the results of the comparative test conducted aboard "Prince d'Oc" for our trip from Port Leucate to Dubrovnik. Thanks to the loan of a full IsatPhone Pro, with station Read more …

Iridium NEXT the future

The use of Iridium takes a growing place among offshore sailors. Safety at sea to join his family at all times, or be able to contact a medical emergency, are arguments often cited by Read more …

IsatPhone Pro versus Iridium, choose which ?

I just read, in the latest issue of Sails and Sailing dated May 2012, a comparative Inmarsat Iridium-which leaves me dissatisfied. Quite interesting on the form, it has many approximations on the bottom, and allows Read more …

Testimony : Transquadra and Navigation Mac

After Jean Debèze, avid supporter of Navigation Mac, made me the pleasure of a detailed tutorial about installing a multiplexer aboard his sailboat, here's a ticket by Jacques Vermeulen, reflecting very didactic way to experience Read more …

Send Tweets via SMS from your Iridium

MailaSail informs us : you can now update your Tweets directly from your Iridium phone (*). Start by sending an SMS from your Iridium with words START or SIGNUP to short code 40404…

Navigation with iPad : a complete solution

Avec Weather4D PRO et AxcessPoint, associated with an Iridium satellite phone, we now have a complete solution, reliable and low cost to receive, display and manage GRIB files in open seas with iPad. iNavX and Navionics Read more …

Iridium - iPad connection – is coming out !

I dont like to advertise products or features before they are available, but in this case the subject can guide choices or postponements of purchase among potential users. Iridium announced on last 7 last September the Read more …

Using an Iridium phone with Mac OS X

British company Mailasail, I am now agent in France for Mac users, provides tools to connect directly an Iridium to Mac OS X. A driver designed by them allows Read more …

mail

Satellite communications


Iridium GO! app change de look [brève]

L’application Iridium GO!®, utilisée sur nos smartphones (iOS/Android) pour se connecter au réseau Iridium via l’appareil du même nom, vient de subir un heureux lifting. Rien de vraiment fondamental, si ce n’est l’interface utilisateur, mais une aide au graphisme élégant Lire la suite …

Iridium GO! Un retour d’expérience positif [MAJ]

Depuis qu’il est apparu sur le marché en septembre 2014 (eh oui, 5 ans déjà !) cet appareil d’une indiscutable ergonomie et d’un excellent rapport qualité/prix est devenu un incontournable pour les navigateurs au grand large. Facile à mettre en Lire la suite …

La nouvelle constellation Iridium NEXT est achevée

Avec quelques mois de retard, Iridium vient d’achever sa campagne de lancement de satellites Iridium NEXT (¹). Avec ses 75 nouveaux satellites déployés avec succès par SpaceX au cours des deux dernières années, Iridium a réussi le tour de force Lire la suite …

iWatchSat prédit le passage des satellites Iridium

Disparue lors de la mise à jour Weather4D Pro vers Weather4D Routage (¹), la prédiction du passage des satellites Iridium revient sous la forme d’une petite application autonome et gratuite : iWatchSat. Présentée avec la même interface que les applications Lire la suite …

Partager les fichiers GRIB avec Air Share

Vous êtes de plus en plus nombreux à avoir adopté l’Iridium GO! pour sa facilité à récupérer des fichiers GRIB, en direct depuis Weather4D et certaines autres applications. Mais quelques uns souhaitent également transférer ces fichiers sur PC pour les Lire la suite …

Iridium NEXT tient son calendrier [MAJ-3]

En juin 2012, j’ai écrit un billet sur la future constellation de satellites de communication Iridium NEXT. Alors prévue pour une mise en service opérationnelle en 2017, le calendrier avait été décalé de quelques mois. En effet, le lancement des Lire la suite …

Iridium Mail & Web : les fichiers météo GRIB sur iPad et iPhone au grand large [MAJ-2]

[MAJ du 15 février 2019] La mise à jour récente de l’application Iridium Mail & Web me donne l’occasion de rafraîchir ce billet rédigé à l’origine en décembre 2011. La passerelle Wi-Fi Optimizer de la société RedPort permet aux possesseurs Lire la suite …

Iridium GO! corrige enfin ses défauts [MAJ]

Iridium vient de publier une mise à jour du firmware de son appareil Iridium GO! devant corriger un certain nombre de dysfonctionnements, dont la lenteur des transferts de données (messagerie, fichiers GRIB, etc.) mais aussi des problèmes récurrents de communication Lire la suite …

Téléphonie satellite : hausse des tarifs en France

Si les tarifs de téléphonie satellite, principalement Iridium et Inmarsat, n’ont pas évolué aux U.S.A., il n’en va pas de même en France. Après le déstockage des produits restés sur les rayons, les nouveaux approvisionnements des distributeurs ont subi une Lire la suite …

Iridium arrête la distribution du routeur AxcessPoint [MAJ]

Iridium a annoncé à son réseau de distribution l’arrêt fin février du routeur WiFi AxcessPoint (¹) qui permet à un iPad ou un iPhone de se connecter à un téléphone Iridium pour accéder à un service de messagerie. Pas d’inquiétude Lire la suite …

Iridium Mail & Web est redevenue pleinement utilisable

Depuis la mise à jour Apple iOS 8 début octobre 2014 l’application Iridium Mail & Web (qui a remplacé AxcessPoint Mail & Web) n’était plus capable d’exporter une pièce jointe dans une autre application par la fonction « Ouvrir dans… Lire la suite …

Iridium unifie l’utilisation de ses appareils mobiles

Depuis la sortie de Iridium GO! (¹) Il y avait deux pages de souscription (gratuite) au service de messagerie, et deux applications (iOS/Android) pour se connecter aux appareils Iridium. Il n’y a désormais plus qu’une seule application : Iridium Mail Lire la suite …

Iridium GO! tient ses promesses [MAJ]

Depuis son annonce en février dernier, le GO! s’est fait attendre pour n’arriver chez les revendeurs qu’au début de ce mois. La société E-SAT m’en a procuré un afin de procéder à quelques tests. Bien que trop tard pour effectuer Lire la suite …

IsatPhone 2 le nouveau téléphone satellite d’Inmarsat [MAJ-2]

La guerre est ouverte entre les deux opérateurs leaders mondiaux de téléphonie satellite. Après l’annonce du GO! par Iridium (¹), voici IsatPhone 2 d’Inmarsat. Inmarsat livrera son nouveau téléphone satellite mobile le 24 mars prochain. IsatPhone 2 cible le haut Lire la suite …

Avec IsatHub, Inmarsat promet de vous connecter ­­– beaucoup – plus vite [MAJ]

Après l’annonce en grande pompe du GO! par Iridium il y a quelques mois, mais toujours pas disponible, Inmarsat vient de présenter IsatHub au salon CommunicAsia qui vient juste de fermer ses portes à Singapour. La concurrence est sévère entre Lire la suite …

Iridium GO! promet de vous connecter – presque – n’importe où

On en parle dans la presse La société mondiale de satellite vise le marché grand-public avec Iridium GO!™ : empochez-le pour le camping ou le tour du monde (¹). Dans tous les lieux publics où vous pouvez vous connecter sans Lire la suite …

IsatPhone Pro contre Iridium (suite)

Comme promis lors de mon billet du 15 juillet, voici les résultats du test comparatif effectué à bord de « Prince d’Oc » pendant notre convoyage de Port Leucate à Dubrovnik. Grâce au prêt d’un IsatPhone Pro complet, avec station Lire la suite …

Iridium NEXT le futur

L’utilisation de l’Iridium prend une place grandissante chez les navigateurs hauturiers. La sécurité de pouvoir joindre en mer sa famille à tout instant, ou de pouvoir contacter un service médical en cas d’urgence, sont des arguments souvent évoqués par les Lire la suite …

IsatPhone Pro contre Iridium, lequel choisir ?

Je viens de lire, dans le dernier numéro de Voiles et Voiliers daté de mai 2012, un comparatif Inmarsat-Iridium qui me laisse insatisfait. Tout à fait intéressant sur la forme, il présente beaucoup d’approximations sur le fond, et ne permet Lire la suite …

Témoignage : Transquadra et Navigation Mac

Après Jean Debèze, adepte assidu de Navigation Mac, qui m’avait fait le plaisir d’un tutoriel détaillé sur l’installation d’un multiplexeur à bord de son voilier, voici un billet de Jacques Vermeulen, qui témoigne de façon très didactique de son expérience Lire la suite …

Envoyez des Tweets via SMS depuis votre Iridium

MailaSail nous informe : vous pouvez désormais mettre à jour vos Tweets directement depuis votre téléphone satellite Iridium (*). Débutez en envoyant un SMS depuis votre Iridium avec les mots START ou SIGNUP au code court Twitter 40404…

Navigation sur iPad : la solution intégrale

Avec Weather4D PRO et AxcessPoint, associés à un téléphone satellite Iridium, nous disposons désormais d’une solution complète, fiable et économique pour recevoir, visualiser et gérer les fichiers météo GRIB au grand large avec un iPad. iNavX et la cartographie Navionics Lire la suite …

La connexion Iridium – iPad arrive !

Je n’aime pas beaucoup annoncer des produits ou des fonctions avant qu’elles ne soient disponibles, mais en l’occurence le sujet peut orienter des choix ou des reports d’achat parmi les utilisateurs potentiels. Iridium a annoncé le 7 septembre dernier la Lire la suite …

Utiliser un téléphone Iridium avec Mac OS X

La société britannique Mailasail, dont je suis désormais le représentant en France pour les utilisateurs de Mac, fournit les outils permettant de connecter directement un Iridium à un Mac sous OS X. Un driver spécialement conçu par leurs soins permet Lire la suite …

Facebooktwittermail