The S-100 standard for ENC charts is quickly evolving [Update]

in May 1992, the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO) had adopted a standard aimed at defining the specifications of electronic charts, the ENC, used by ships, as well as the devices that display them, called ECDIS. This standard was published under the name S-57 – IHO Special Publication N°57. This standard was then the subject of a major update, version 3.1, in November 2000. Ten years were then left to the various operators, manufacturers and publishers, to bring their navigation systems on board ships into compliance. In January 2010, a new standard S-100 IHO Special Publication – Universal Hydrographic Data Model has been published, an important development aimed at adapting to this rapid growth in data available for navigation.

Le standard S-100

Indeed, as electronic navigation becomes more widespread, mariners have maritime data flows from multiple sources that allow them to navigate with ever more safety and efficiency. However, with the increase in the amount of information and the number of sources, it becomes essential to standardize data so that they can be easily integrated and displayed appropriately on navigation systems. After several years of evolution, The’IHO published in December 2018version 4.0.0 of the S-100 standard (¹). In 2019, several specifications (²) of the S-100 standard have been updated and published.

Les spécifications du standard S-100

The specifications of the S-100 standard

The S-100 standard is the IHO framework for the standardization of marine data products such as high resolution bathymetry, surface currents, marine protected areas and new standards for electronic navigation ENC charts. Basically, the S-100 framework of standards uses catalogs readable by ECDIS devices which will lead to systems plug and play and allow easier updating of data standards. The development of the S-100 infrastructure is governed by the IHO S-100 Working Group and is currently chaired by the NOAA.

NOAA's contribution

NOAA departments are actively involved in the development of the S-100 standard and related product specifications and strive to align new products and services with the S-100 series of standards being developed.. This will allow sailors to have more information integrated into their navigation systems, which will help them plan optimal routes and make crucial decisions at sea. For example, the administration is working to make the next edition operational 1.0.0 with S-111-Surface currents extracting data from NOAA operational forecasting systems and converting them into a format that can be imported and displayed by navigation systems. In addition, the National Weather Service Ocean Forecasting Center (NWS) works through the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) to produce S-412 ocean forecasts, which also use the S-100 frame. Other products, including S-102 – High resolution bathymetry, S-112 – Predictions of water levels, and S-129 Under Keel Clearance management systems (UKC), are also in various states of development that will facilitate precision navigation in commercial harbours around the world.

Ongoing developments

Between January and October 2019, the IHO published the specifications (³) products for S-102 edition 2.0.0 – High resolution bathymetry, and the list of the following specifications included in the version 4.0.0 :

  • S-101 – Electronic navigation charts
  • S-111 – Surface currents
  • S-122 – Marine protected areas
  • S-123 – Radio services

SHOM's orientations

[Update July 2021] In its Contract of Objectives 2021-2024 () published in july 2021, SHOM specifies :

The IHO Roadmap provides for the provision of ENCs in S-101 format from January 1 2024.[…] From end 2023, the S-57 format will no longer be used within SHOM, and only the S-101 format will be used for the production of electronic cards. 

And add :

The inevitable extinction of the paper map produced as a specific document results in the refocusing of SHOM's activity on the electronic card and products of the S-100 family. In this context, the generalization of print-on-demand contracts will be encouraged by making it available to resellers who so wish, digital map data in raster format. Otherwise, SHOM's digital reference data will continue to be provided in their usual formats (vector or raster according to customers), to companies in the nautical industry who are already integrating them into their own digital offers for boaters.

Although this topic does not immediately apply to boating, it should be interested. Several manufacturers of navigation instruments are in the professional marine market as well as the pleasure craft market, and with the generalization of vector charts, there is no doubt that our instruments and applications will eventually have to meet these standards. ENC charts under S-57 standard, although not widely used in yachting, have been used by several compatible applications on our computers and mobile devices for several years now.

Cartes ENC S-57 dans SEAiq sur iPad

ENC S-57 charts in SEAiq on iPad

–––
(¹) http://s100.iho.int/S100/home/s100-introduction
(²) http://s100.iho.int/S100/home/s-100-specification-numbers
(³) https://iho.int/en/standards-and-specifications
() Contract of objectives and Performance 2021-2024
–––

mail

La norme S-100 des cartes ENC évolue rapidement [MAJ]

En mai 1992, l’Organisation Hydrographique Internationale (IHO) avait adopté un standard ayant pour but de définir les spécifications des cartes électroniques, les ENC, utilisées par les navires, ainsi que des lecteurs qui les affichent, appelés ECDIS. Ce standard a été publié sous la nom S-57 – IHO Special Publication N°57. Cette norme a fait ensuite l’objet d’une importante mise à jour, la version 3.1, en novembre 2000. Dix années ont ensuite été laissées aux différents opérateurs, industriels et éditeurs, pour mettre en conformité leurs systèmes de navigation embarqués sur les navires. En janvier 2010, un nouveau standard S-100 IHO Special Publication – Universal Hydrographic Data Model a été publié, une importante évolution ayant pour but de s’adapter à cette croissance rapide des données disponibles pour la navigation.

Le standard S-100

En effet, à mesure que la navigation électronique se généralise, les navigateurs disposent de flux de données maritimes provenant de sources multiples qui leur permettent de naviguer avec toujours plus de sécurité et d’efficacité. Cependant, avec l’augmentation de la quantité d’informations et du nombre de sources, il devient indispensable de normaliser les données afin qu’elles puissent être facilement intégrées et affichées de manière appropriée sur les systèmes de navigation. Après plusieurs années d’évolution, l’IHO a publié en décembre 2018 l’édition 4.0.0 de la norme S-100 (¹). En 2019, plusieurs spécifications (²) de la norme S-100 ont été mises à jour et publiées.

Les spécifications du standard S-100

Les spécifications du standard S-100

Le standard S-100 est le cadre de l’IHO pour la normalisation des produits de données maritimes tels que la bathymétrie haute résolution, les courants de surface, les aires marines protégées et les nouvelles normes pour les cartes électroniques de navigation ENC. À sa base, le cadre de normes S-100 utilise des catalogues lisibles par les appareils ECDIS qui conduiront à des systèmes plug and play et permettront une mise à jour plus facile des standards de données. Le développement de l’infrastructure de la S-100 est régi par le groupe de travail S-100 de l’IHO et est actuellement présidé par la NOAA.

L’apport de la NOAA

Les services de la NOAA participent activement à l’élaboration de la norme S-100 et des spécifications de produits connexes et s’efforcent d’aligner les nouveaux produits et services sur la série de normes S-100 en cours d’élaboration. Cela permettra aux marins d’avoir plus d’informations intégrées dans leurs systèmes de navigation, ce qui les aidera à planifier des itinéraires optimaux et à prendre des décisions cruciales en mer. Par exemple, l’administration travaille à rendre opérationnelle la prochaine édition 1.0.0 de S-111-Courants de surface en extrayant les données des systèmes de prévision opérationnelle de la NOAA et en les convertissant dans un format pouvant être importé et affiché par les systèmes de navigation. En complément, le centre de prévision océanique du National Weather Service (NWS) travaille par l’intermédiaire de l’Organisation Météorologique Mondiale (WMO) pour produire des prévisions océaniques S-412, qui utilisent également le cadre S-100. D’autres produits, y compris S-102 – Bathymétrie haute résolution, S-112 – Prédictions des hauteurs d’eau, et S-129 Systèmes de gestion de la hauteur d’eau sous quille (UKC), sont également à divers stades de développement qui faciliteront la navigation de précision dans les ports de commerce du monde entier.

Les développements en cours

Entre janvier et octobre 2019, l’IHO a publié les spécifications (³) des produits pour la S-102 édition 2.0.0 – Bathymétrie haute résolution, et la liste des spécifications suivantes intégrées à la version 4.0.0 :

  • S-101 – Cartes électroniques de navigation
  • S-111 – Courants de surface
  • S-122 – Aires marines protégées
  • S-123 – Services de radio

Les orientations du SHOM

[MAJ juillet 2021] Dans son Contrat d’Objectifs 2021-2024 () publié en juillet 2021, le SHOM précise :

La feuille de route de l’OHI prévoit la fourniture des ENC au format S-101 à compter du 1er janvier 2024.[…] À compter de fin 2023, le format S-57 ne sera plus utilisé au sein du SHOM, et seul le format S-101 sera utilisé pour la production des cartes électroniques. 

Et d’ajouter :

L’extinction inéluctable de la carte papier produite en tant que document spécifique a pour conséquence le recentrage de l’activité du SHOM sur la carte électronique et les produits de la famille S-100. Dans ce contexte, la généralisation des contrats d’impression à la demande sera favorisée en mettant à la disposition des revendeurs qui le souhaitent, les données cartographiques numériques au format raster. Par ailleurs, les données numériques de référence du SHOM continueront à être fournies sous leurs formats habituels (vectoriel ou raster selon les clients), aux entreprises de l’industrie nautique qui les intègrent déjà dans leurs propres offres numériques à destination des plaisanciers.

Même si ce sujet ne concerne pas immédiatement la navigation de plaisance, il convient de s’y intéresser. Plusieurs fabricants d’instruments de navigation sont autant sur le marché de la marine professionnelle que celui de la plaisance, et avec la généralisation des cartes vectorielles nul doute que nos instruments et applications devront à terme répondre à ces normes. Les cartes ENC au standard S-57, bien que peu répandues en plaisance, sont utilisées par plusieurs applications compatibles sur nos ordinateurs et appareils mobiles depuis déjà plusieurs années.

Cartes ENC S-57 dans SEAiq sur iPad

Cartes ENC S-57 dans SEAiq sur iPad

–––
(¹) http://s100.iho.int/S100/home/s100-introduction
(²) http://s100.iho.int/S100/home/s-100-specification-numbers
(³) https://iho.int/en/standards-and-specifications
() Contrat d’Objectifs et de Performance 2021-2024
–––

mail