Reading : "The Killer of the Seas" by Justin Scott

the shipkillerHistory

Published in 1978 in New York under the title " The Shipkiller ", this nautical thriller was translated in France in Editions Grasset & Fasquelle under the title "The Killer of the Seas" in 1979, then published in Livre de Poche edition as No. 5399 in 1980.

Justin Scott grew up in the USA in a small town on Long Island, parents very prolific novelists, kind "Western" for his father, "Tales and News" for his mother. He proved himself an incredible gift for writing. For him, nothing was " more exciting than to carry a narrative to a degree of extreme tension ". He wrote under his name and several pseudonyms 23 novels and short story collections thriller. Under the pseudonym Paul Garrison, He has written five stories sea 1998 to 2004, including the first and most famous " Fire and Ice ". None have been translated into French, it is very regrettable.

Romans de Paul Garrison

Novels by Paul Garrison

Revelation

le tueur des mersThe Shipkiller was my first real sea romance, read straight through onboard a friend's boat in 1981, sailing in a weekend between Lorient and Ile de Groix. This handbook, I still held, I was so struck that I, repeatedly, tried to find it in the original edition, I just do not. I come finally to acquire a re Grasset, now available again. That's why I wanted to share.

What is extraordinary, in this book, Not only is the suspense of the first light to last page, but also the incredible technical knowledge of the sea and boats that demonstrates the author throughout the story, so he never had any other marine activity in his youth a short flight experience on the Hudson. Both maneuvers and descriptions of life aboard the supertanker, that the different boats armed by the central character in the story, demonstrate a meticulous research work. This brings such credibility to the story, especially for a browser confirmed, it becomes almost as real as if we actually read a variety of news magazine.

I shall say no more, run the search. If I had to classify a note 1 to 10 Marine in my library, is the maximum score achieved if.


Other titles in the Reading section

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

Lecture : “Le Tueur des Mers” de Justin Scott

the shipkillerHistorique

Publié en 1978 à New York sous le titre “The Shipkiller”, ce thriller maritime a été traduit en France aux éditions Grasset & Fasquelle sous le titre “Le Tueur des Mers” en 1979, puis est passé en édition Livre de Poche sous le n° 5399 en 1980.

Justin Scott a grandi aux USA dans une petite ville de Long Island, de parents romanciers très prolixes, genre “western” pour son père, “contes et nouvelles” pour sa mère. Il s’est révélé lui-même un incroyable don pour l’écriture. Pour lui, rien n’était “plus exaltant que de mener un récit à un degré de tension extrême”. Il a écrit sous son nom et plusieurs pseudonymes 23 romans et recueils de nouvelles à suspense. Sous le pseudonyme de Paul Garrison, il a écrit cinq histoires de mer de 1998 à 2004, dont la première et plus célèbre “Fire and Ice”. Aucune n’a été traduite en français.

paul garrison

Révélation

le tueur des mersLe Tueur des Mers a été mon premier vrai “roman de mer”, lu d’une traite à bord du bateau d’un ami en 1981, en navigation d’un week-end entre Lorient et l’Ile de Groix. Ce Livre de Poche, que j’ai toujours entre les mains, m’a tellement marqué que j’ai, à plusieurs reprises, tenté de le trouver dans l’édition originale, en vain. Je viens enfin d’en acquérir une réédition chez Grasset, aujourd’hui de nouveau disponible. C’est pour cette raison que je tenais à le partager.

Ce qui est extraordinaire, dans cet ouvrage, est non seulement le suspense tenu de la première à la dernière page, mais aussi l’incroyable connaissance technique de la mer et des bateaux que démontre l’auteur tout au long du récit, alors qu’il n’a jamais eu d’autre activité marine dans sa jeunesse qu’une courte expérience de pilotage sur l’Hudson. Tant les descriptions des manoeuvres et de la vie à bord du pétrolier géant, que celle des différents voiliers armés par le personnage central de l’histoire, apportent la preuve d’un travail de recherche méticuleux. Cela apporte une telle crédibilité à l’histoire, surtout pour un navigateur confirmé, qu’elle devient presque aussi réelle que si on la lisait en fait divers d’un magazine d’actualité.

Je ne vous en dis pas plus, courez le chercher. Si je devais le classer d’une note de 1 à 10 dans ma bibliothèque maritime, c’est la note maximum qu’il obtiendrait.


Les autres titres de la rubrique Lecture

Facebooktwittermail