When Katia meets La Louise

Thierry Dubois and his crew, whose Jacques Vermeulen experimenting its Iridium connection with its new MacBook Air, should not laugh at a time when I post this short note.

La Louise, conveying from Newfoundland to La Trinité, is in the making up of Hurricane Katia, ex-tropical cyclone, which must reach the shores of the British Isles the next night. According to the latest position and the estimated speed, La Louise should be in the west of the weather area "Romeo", either in the southeast of the center of the Low, its intended position on the Navimail map below the location of the red boat at 18h UTC :

La route de La Louise rattrapée par Katia

We can see, to the pointer location (white arrow), more than 100 nautical miles north of the boat's estimated position, details of the toughest conditions, with a total sea from a height of more than 9 meters and waves up to 18 meters !

The boat has already run 15 hours 50 knots of wind two days ago, without much concern, but there, must have the faint of heart and a damn good boat. What I do not doubt for a moment. Fortunately for them, depression moves over 30 knots and will soon be gone. The rest of the course should be a lady walk in with. What to recover from their emotions.


Visit : The website of La Louise

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

Quand Katia rencontre La Louise

Thierry Dubois et ses équipiers, dont Jacques Vermeulen qui expérimente sa connexion Iridium avec son tout nouveau MacBook Air, ne doivent pas rigoler à l’heure où je poste ce court billet.

La Louise, en convoyage de Terre-Neuve pour La Trinité, est en train de se faire rattraper par l’ouragan Katia, ex-cyclône tropical, qui doit atteindre les côtes des Iles Britanniques la nuit prochaine. D’après la dernière position et la vitesse estimée, La Louise devrait se trouver à l’ouest de la zone météo « Romeo », soit dans le sud-est du centre de la dépression, sa position prévue sur la carte Navimail ci-dessous à l’emplacement du bateau rouge à 18h UTC :

La route de La Louise rattrapée par Katia

On peut voir, à l’emplacement du pointeur (flèche blanche), plus de 100 milles nautiques au nord de la position estimée du bateau, le détail des conditions les plus dures, dont une mer totale d’une hauteur de plus de 9 mètres et des vagues maximum de 18 mètres !

Le bateau a déjà passé 15 heures avec 50 noeuds de vent il y a deux jours, sans trop de souci, mais là, il faut avoir le coeur bien accroché et un sacrément bon bateau. Ce dont je ne doute pas un seul instant. Heureusement pour eux, la dépression se déplace à plus de 30 noeuds et sera vite passée. Le reste du parcours devrait être une promenade de demoiselle au portant. De quoi se remettre de leurs émotions.


Visiter : Le site web de La Louise

Facebooktwittermail