Apple iBooks becomes "Books" [Update]

With the arrival of iOS 12 and MacOS 10.14 "Mojave" Apple iBooks application disappears to make way for "Books". The user interface is completely changed, and authors a compliance works is imposed. The application wins certainly not in ergonomics, we feel a desire to put commercial emphasis on the books in the interface, and access to updates is complicated.

Unfortunately still no red dot on the icon to the arrival of an update. Needed, on the one hand be informed by any means (what I do in this blog), then perform 4 steps necessary for access to updates : first a tap on your face icon,

… then opening of three successive windows :

Easy, isn't it ?

[Update] Warning : It appears, Furthermore, the updates are sometimes not available at all, iOS, but especially MacOS ! In this case the only solution is to remove the book and download it again. Apple thank you !

–––

 

 

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

One Reply to “Apple iBooks becomes“ Books ” [Update]”

  1. Hello Francis,
    Totally agree with you on this failed upgrade Books. The worst is in the management of that .pdf , for those who have made their family file in iBooks , does not even hide their content in iCloud thus losing all the advantages of screen time controls. Focus on selling books torpedo the interest of the app.
    Cordially . Daniel

Comments are closed.

Apple iBooks devient « Livres » [MAJ]

Avec l’arrivée de iOS 12 et MacOS 10.14 « Mojave » l’application Apple iBooks disparaît pour laisser la place à « Livres ». L’interface utilisateur est complètement transformée, et pour les auteurs une mise en conformité des ouvrages est imposée. L’application n’y gagne certes pas en ergonomie, on sent bien une volonté de mise en avant commerciale des ouvrages dans l’interface, et l’accès aux mises à jour se complique.

Malheureusement toujours pas de pastille rouge sur l’icône à l’arrivée d’une mise à jour. Il faut, d’une part être informé par un moyen quelconque (ce que je fais dans le présent blog), puis effectuer les 4 étapes nécessaires à l’accès aux mises à jour : d’abord un tap sur votre bobine,

… puis ouverture de trois fenêtres successives :

Simple, non ?

[MAJ] Attention : Il apparaît, de plus, que les mises à jour ne sont parfois pas proposées du tout, sous iOS, mais surtout sous MacOS ! Dans ce cas la seule solution est de supprimer le livre et de le télécharger de nouveau. Merci Apple !

–––

 

 

Facebooktwittermail

One Reply to “Apple iBooks devient « Livres » [MAJ]”

  1. Bonjour Francis,
    Totalement d’accord avec toi sur cette mise à jour ratée de Books. Le pire est dans la gestion des .pdf qui , pour ceux qui ont constitué leur dossier familial dans iBooks , ne permet même pas de masquer leur contenu dans iCloud perdant ainsi tous les avantages des contrôles de temps d’écran. Mettre l’accent sur la vente de livres torpille l’interêt de l’app.
    Cordialement . Daniel

Les commentaires sont fermés.