The new Iridium NEXT constellation is completed

With a few months late, Iridium has completed its Iridium NEXT satellite launch campaign (¹).
With its 75 new satellites by SpaceX successfully deployed over the past two years, Iridium has managed the feat to fully replace its first constellation in record time. The last ten satellites, successfully orbited this January, 11 with a Falcon rocket 9  during the eighth and last launch, definitely complement the new constellation.

The Iridium NEXT constellation is the only communication network with worldwide coverage from pole to pole. It consists of six planes in polar orbit, each comprising 11 satellites for a total of 66 operational, creating an interconnected mesh network around the globe. The Iridium NEXT satellites was designed by Thales Alenia Space, prime contractor for the system, and are being integrated by the subcontractor Thales, Northrop Grumman. Since the early launches, the constellation undergoes a replacement one-to-one, a new satellite to a former, carried out thanks to a maneuver called "slot swap". 9 other satellites orbit as a spare for out of commission satellites, and another six will be stored on land as replacement.

With this new constellation, new services will be put in place. Among these solutions, include Iridium Certus for maritime, which will provide the fastest broadband connectivity specialized and the only one in the world, allowing a mobile Internet access using smaller and cheaper terminals, and ADS-B aircraft surveillance system (²) developed byAireon offering for the first time a real-time visibility of aircraft for air traffic controllers and airline anywhere around the globe.

Just have to wait for new services dedicated to boating, and possible new devices, which may take a few months.

[Update 28 February 2019] Iridium NEXT est fully operational format. Since the 20 February. Currently only Certus broadband services 200 and 700 are marketed by different operators (Thales, Sailor, Intellian, Thrane, …). Certus low-speed services 20 and 100 should appear soon.

–––
(¹) Iridium NEXT maintains its schedule
(²) ADS-B, aviator's AIS
–––

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

La nouvelle constellation Iridium NEXT est achevée

Avec quelques mois de retard, Iridium vient d’achever sa campagne de lancement de satellites Iridium NEXT (¹).
Avec ses 75 nouveaux satellites déployés avec succès par SpaceX au cours des deux dernières années, Iridium a réussi le tour de force de remplacer intégralement sa première constellation en un temps record. Les dix derniers satellites, mis en orbite avec succès ce 11 janvier par une fusée Falcon 9  lors du huitième et dernier lancement, complètent définitivement la nouvelle constellation.

La constellation Iridium NEXT constitue le seul réseau de communication avec une couverture mondiale de pôle à pôle. Il est composé de six plans en orbite polaire, chacun comprenant 11 satellites pour un total de 66 opérationnels, créant un réseau maillé interconnecté autour du globe. Les satellites Iridium NEXT ont été conçus par Thales Alenia Space, maître d’œuvre du système, et sont en cours d’intégration par le sous-traitant de Thales, Northrop Grumman. Depuis le début des lancements, la constellation subit un remplacement un-à-un, un nouveau satellite pour un ancien, réalisé grâce à une manœuvre appelée “slot swap”. 9 autres satellites sont en orbite comme remplaçant de satellites défectueux, et encore six autres seront entreposés sur terre comme rechange.

Grâce à cette nouvelle constellation, de nouveaux services vont être mis en place. Parmi ces solutions, citons Iridium Certus pour le maritime, qui fournira la connectivité large bande spécialisée  la plus rapide et la seule au monde, permettant un accès Internet très mobile utilisant des terminaux plus petits et plus économiques, et le système de surveillance des avions ADS-B (²) développé par Aireon offrant pour la première fois une visibilité en temps réel des avions pour les contrôleurs aériens et les compagnies aériennes en tout lieu autour du globe.

Ne reste plus qu’à attendre les nouveaux services dédiés à la navigation de plaisance, et d’éventuels nouveaux appareils, ce qui risque de prendre encore quelques mois.

[MAJ 28 février 2019] Iridium NEXT est totalement opérationnel depuis le 20 février.

–––
(¹) Iridium NEXT tient son calendrier
(²) ADS-B, l’AIS des aviateurs
–––

Facebooktwittermail