C-Map is the ping-pong ball for industrial groups

An event that occurred last summer escaped the vigilance that I try to maintain on the nautical economy. Fortunately my friends from Geogarage have just filled this gap. In the field of private electronic cartography, the actors change hands more and more often according to the economic and financial negotiations.

The Italian charting company C-Map, after being bought by the American Jeppesen, subsidiary of the Boeing group, in 2007 (¹), then resold in 2016 to the Norwegian investment fund Altor (²), recently associated with Goldman Sachs, and owner of Navico (B&G, Simrad, Lowrance), has just been picked up again by Lloyd's Register, leader in marine engineering, in March 2021. In the same time, June 2021, Navico was sold by Goldman Sachs-Altor to Brunswick Corp. (USA, Illinois), well-known owner of many brands in the yachting industry (Mercury, SmartCraft, QuickSilver, and over a dozen others.

It ends up making you dizzy, and we wonder what benefit the end user will get from it. One can also wonder how the Italian employees of C-Map, still headquartered in Viareggio in northern Tuscany, have experienced these successive changes of direction ! 

Lloyd's Register release explains :

The acquisition will be integrated into the i4 Insight platform, strengthening the existing performance platform ecosystem. LR's i4Insight digital network helps charterers, owners and operators gain actionable intelligence from their onboard and onshore systems.

Et Nial McCollam, LR Technology Director, to specify :

[…] This acquisition allows us to strengthen how we help our clients, and the maritime industry more broadly, accelerate operational efficiency improvements. Importantly, the capabilities we have acquired are highly relevant to the industry’s goal of simultaneously reducing costs and emissions. This forms part of our wider strategy, where we are combining inhouse, proprietary software development with alliance partnerships, corporate venturing and acquisitions, to build more cohesive and integrated digital solutions, specifically tailored to maritime market needs.

What a great program ! Anyway, at our small level of recreational boaters, above all, we can see C-Map taking over the place left by the withdrawal of Navionics from some partnerships (³), by expanding its service offerings to a growing number of developers (Time Zero, iNavX, MacENC,…). We can hope that the financial means of the purchasers will benefit the quality of the charts, their accuracy and ergonomics.

–––
(¹) The stakeholders of electronic charting
(²) C-Map back to Europe
(³) Read : Bad weather for iNavX
–––

mail

C-Map fait la balle de ping-pong des groupes industriels

Un évènement survenu l’été dernier a échappé à la veille que je m’efforce de maintenir sur l’économie du nautisme. Bien heureusement mes amis de Geogarage viennent de combler cette lacune. Dans le domaine de la cartographie électronique privée, les acteurs changent de plus en plus souvent de main au gré des tractations économico-financières.

La société de cartographie italienne C-Map, après avoir été achetée par l’américain Jeppesen, filiale du groupe Boeing, en 2007 (¹), puis revendue en 2016 au fonds d’investissement norvégien Altor (²), récemment associé à Goldman Sachs, et propriétaire de Navico (B&G, Simrad, Lowrance), vient de nouveau d’être reprise par Lloyd’s Register, leader de l’ingénierie maritime, en mars 2021. Dans le même temps, en juin 2021, Navico a été revendu par Goldman Sachs-Altor à Brunswick Corp. (USA, Illinois), propriétaire bien connu de nombreuses marques dans la plaisance (Mercury, SmartCraft, QuickSilver, et plus d’une dizaine d’autres.

Cela finit par donner le tournis, et on se demande bien quel bénéfice va en tirer l’utilisateur final. On peut se demander aussi comment les salariés italiens de C-Map, dont le siège est toujours basé à Viareggio au nord de la Toscane, ont vécus ces changements de direction successifs ! 

Le communiqué de Lloyd’s Register explique :

L’acquisition sera intégrée à la plateforme i4 Insight, renforçant ainsi l’écosystème existant des plateformes de performance. Le réseau numérique i4Insight de LR aide les affréteurs, les propriétaires et les opérateurs à obtenir des informations exploitables à partir de leurs systèmes à bord et à terre.

Et Nial McCollam, Directeur de la technologie de LR, de préciser :

[…] Cette acquisition nous permet de renforcer la façon dont nous aidons nos clients, et plus largement l’industrie maritime, à accélérer les améliorations de l’efficacité opérationnelle. Il est important de noter que les capacités que nous avons acquises sont très pertinentes pour l’objectif de l’industrie de réduire simultanément les coûts et les émissions. Cette acquisition s’inscrit dans le cadre de notre stratégie plus large, qui consiste à combiner le développement de logiciels propriétaires en interne avec des partenariats, des projets d’entreprise et des acquisitions, afin d’élaborer des solutions numériques plus cohérentes et intégrées, spécifiquement adaptées aux besoins du marché maritime.

Quel beau programme ! Quoiqu’il en soit, à notre petit niveau de plaisanciers, on voit surtout C-Map s’engouffrer dans la place laissée par le retrait de Navionics de certains partenariats (³), en multipliant ses offres de service auprès d’un nombre grandissant de développeurs (Time Zero, iNavX, MacENC,…). On peut espérer que les moyens financiers des acquéreurs bénéficieront à la qualité des cartes, à leur précision et leur ergonomie. 

–––
(¹) Les acteurs de la cartographie électronique
(²) C-Map revient en Europe
(³) Lire : Sale temps pour iNavX
–––

mail