COLREGS: Still Fit for Purpose ? [Update]

We can only observe, for three decades, the phenomenal increase in global maritime commercial traffic, the recent increase in maritime drones, for scientific and various research purposes, automated and remotely submarines civilian, military, and even for traffickers usage, and soon the inevitable coming into service of fully unmanneded merchant ships. This evolution is directly linked to the multiplication of satellites communication and positioning means allowing remote control of mobiles at sea.

Même avec le confinement pendant la pandémie Covid-19 le trafic maritime ne cesse jamais. Vue Marine Traffic

Even with containment during the Covid-19 pandemic, maritime traffic never stops. Marine Traffic view

Among the many questions - ethical, social, ecological, political - that it can raise, the most immediate concerns the safety of navigation, for trade as for pleasure. Which more specifically involves the International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea, the COLREGS (¹).

In this regard, I give you an opinion recently formulated by Mr Harry Hirst the 18 April 2020 in the columns of the very serious magazine The Maritime Executive which deals with this particular point (See the sources at the end of the article), from which it is implicit that crews are often poorly trained, and, maybe, unmanned ships might be able to do as well, even better. To meditate…

Future : autonomous ships

" Many believe that in the not so distant future, fundamental changes in the way in which ships will be operated will render the current COLREGS unworkable. This is primarily a reference to autonomous ships, but it is also the case that the increasing use of automation and reducing numbers of crew are likely to result in the bridges of crewed ships in the future being unmanned for some time, if not all of the time.

"Considering recent advances in driverless car technology, the idea of ​​trying something similar with ships doesn't seem too far-fetched. After all, the sea has at least one big advantage : there is less traffic than on the roads and the reaction times are generally longer ”. Dr P.C.Sames – DNV GL

Le projet de porte-conteneurs autonome Rolls Royce

The Rolls Royce autonomous container ship project

It is generally understood that a fully autonomous ship (one with no crew) or any vessel with an unmanned bridge or cockpit (one with no watch-keeper) cannot comply with the COLREGS. This understanding comes from the Rule 5 (²) which requires every vessel to “at all times maintain a proper look-out by sight as well as by hearing…”… and seeing and hearing in this context have always been understood and interpreted as references to the human senses.

It is worth noting however, that this and the other Rules are not directed at humans but at vessels. So, for example, the requirement is for every vessel to maintain a proper look-out, to proceed at a safe speed, and to determine if there is risk of collision, and for the action taken to avoid collision to be large enough to be readily apparent to another vessel observing visually or by radar. Similarly, in restricted visibility, the requirement is for every vessel which hears “apparently forward of her beam the fog signal of another vessel....” … to reduce her speed.

Extrait de l'ouvrage N°2 du SHOM

Extract from SHOM Guide N°2

The actions of “seeing” and “hearing” do not have to be limited to their human functions. They could be interpreted more widely so as to include the electronic “eye” (camera) and "ear" (microphone) as well as the human eye and ear. If this wider interpretation were to be adopted, then a fully autonomous ship, or a vessel with an unmanned bridge, which is properly equipped with cameras and microphones should be capable of complying with Rule 5 (²). Indeed, such a vessel may in fact be better equipped for doing so, if we consider, for example, the ability of infra-red and thermal imaging cameras to “see” in the dark and microphones to determine the direction from which a sound is emanating.

Care would be needed to limit the scope of the equipment which can qualify as an electronic “eye” . It could not include radar for example, as the Rule for vessels navigating in, or near, an area of restricted visibility recognizes that a vessel which is not in sight of another vessel may nevertheless detect the presence of that other vessel by radar. A vessel fitted with a thermal imaging camera might similarly be able to detect the presence of another vessel in restricted visibility in circumstances where the human eye could not. The powers of the human eye, however, are well documented, and I believe it should be possible to program the electronic eyes and master computer on an autonomous ship to know when the prevailing visibility calls for the application of Rule 19 (³).

There still remains the issue of seamanship however : how does an autonomous ship, or a ship with an unmanned bridge, know what precautions "… ...may be required by the ordinary practice of seamen?” ? The answer, I believe, will be provided by artificial intelligence (AI). Computers can be programmed to learn (think : Chess, Go game), and it would appear therefore, that the technology may already exist to program a vessel computer to know what the practice of good seamanship requires.

I am not convinced therefore, that the COLREGS necessarily require any amendments to accommodate the fundamental changes in the way that ships will be operated in the future, save perhaps, to include a definition in the Rule 3 () extending the meaning of the words "by sight", "Visually", "By hearing" and "hears".

The suggestion that new rules must be written now to take into account both manned and unmanned ships, does of course beg the question : Why ? The owners of manned ships have to ensure their vessels comply with the COLREGS, whatever they might think about these Rules, which have been in operation now for over 40 years. Why should it be any different for the owner of an unmanned ship ?

It is also worth remembering that these Rules, whilst worded differently to their predecessors, prescribe the same basic collision avoidance maneuvers. For example, when two power-driven vessels are meeting head-on, for both to alter their courses to starboard.

Extrait de l'ouvrage N°2 SHOM

Extract from SHOM Guide N°2

The current Rules have evolved into their present arrangement and wordings through a series of incremental changes and amendments over the years, and as result, their entry into force over the years 1970 was seamless and largely without incident.

Implementing a complete set of new rules, especially new maneuvering rules, or introducing wide ranging amendments to the current Rules, is a potential recipe for disaster. It would also be a time consuming and costly endeavor, being one that will require international agreement and re-training on a global basis. I believe we should proceed cautiously therefore before we seek to totally revise the “rules of the road” for the sea.

The present : collisions are still happening

Collisions at sea are still happening, but whilst the number of collisions each year is not noticeably decreasing, the world fleet capacity has increased significantly since the COLREGS came into force in 1972. So, when expressed as a percentage of the world fleet, the number of collisions is actually decreasing over time and therefore showing some improvement. This said, the number of collisions is still unacceptably high and and it is still very much the case that most all collisions are the result of human error, and in particular, a failure to properly implement – or comply with – Rules.

Collision au large du Cap Corse en octobre 2018

Collision off Cap Corse in October 2018

This however, is not a reason to change the rules. Rules are not the cause of collisions. The cause of collisions is the failure by mariners to properly comply with the Rules. If, as some suggest, the many technologies designed to improve the avoidance of collisions since the rules came into force are being ignored, then the problem is with the mariners and not with the regulators ashore, or with any disconnect between the two.

No amount of regulation will force a mariner to use a particular piece of equipment or technology, just as no amount of regulation will force a mariner to properly comply with the Rules. Proper compliance with the Rules is a seamanship issue, and seamanship is taught in the classroom and acquired from experience at sea.

The rules : lack of proper understanding

The cause of collisions is not the COLREGS but how mariners interpret and (mis-) apply the Rules. Too many mariners today, I feel, do not fully understand the rules and how they should be applied. The causes of most collisions can be classified into two broad categories :

  1. failure to maintain a proper look-out.
  2. failure to take the appropriate avoiding action.

Extract from SHOM Guide N°2

  • Proper look-out

With a proper look-out, the mariner will make “a full appraisal of the situation and of the risk of collision”. Many collisions occur because the mariner fails to do so, and in particular, to properly appraise the risk of collision. This is, This is so notwithstanding the technological advances that have occurred during the last 40 years, and notably the development of AIS and ARPA, which make the job of detecting other vessels and determining their movements much easier today than it was when the COLREGS first came into force.

I question therefore whether mariners are being properly trained in the use and limitations of these “new” navigational aids, and what is meant by "a full appraisal of the situation and of the risk of collision". An all too frequent criticism of the mariner today is that he or she spends too much time looking at the ARPA and ECDIS and not enough time looking out of the bridge windows. Certainly, very few mariners today it seems ever slow down to allow themselves more time to make a full appraisal.

A full appraisal requires a proper understanding of the three most important phrases in the Rules : "Risk of collision", "close quarters situation" and "passing at a safe distance". These phrases are not defined in the COLREGS, and this is not surprising as their meanings will clearly vary with the prevailing circumstances and conditions of every case. Too many mariners do not appear to have a proper understanding of the meaning of these phrases and, I believe, are interpreting them too narrowly. Many mariners, for example, are interpreting “risk of collision” to mean the two vessels will definitely collide if no avoiding action is taken, and believe a few cables is a safe passing distance at sea in open waters in all conditions.

  • Inappropriate action

Even when a proper look-out is being maintained, collisions are still occurring because mariners are failing to take the appropriate avoiding action. Action taken to avoid collision should be “positive, made in ample time and with due regard to the observance of good seamanship”. All oo often, the action taken is too little and too late. I question therefore, whether mariners are being properly taught the meaning of “positive” and “in ample time”.

Many mariners also do not understand that the overtaking, and crossing Rules do not apply in restricted visibility when the vessels are not in sight of one another.

Extract from SHOM Guide N°2

No reason to change

That many mariners today appear to lack a proper understanding of the Rules and how they are to be applied is not, in my opinion, reason to change the COLREGS. It might be reason to do so if this lack of understanding arose from the way in which the Rules have been drafted. However, the COLREGS are simply and concisely worded, and the Rules have been logically arranged, and as noted above, the problem is not with the words used in the Rules , but with the meaning of those words

Summary

For all these reasons, I believe the COLREGS are still fit for purpose and there is no need for the Rules to be totally revised, whether to accommodate autonomous ships or to reduce the number of collisions. There are going to be some fundamental changes to the ways in which ships will be operated in the future, but these changes will only require a few minor amendments to the COLREGS to ensure the Rules continue to be workable.

If the shipping industry is serious about reducing the number of collisions, it would do better to focus its attention on the way in which mariners are taught the Rules and how to apply them, and not upon the Rules and how they might be changed. "

[Update 14 October 2021] In France, theorder of 13 October 2021 creates a specific experimental operating regime for maritime drones and autonomous vessels. See detailed explanation of Legisplaisance.

———
Source :
Harry Hirst is Managing Partner and Master Mariner for Incisive Law LLC, Singapore.
The Maritime Executive is a review (and a website) specialized professional information that mainly targets decision makers in the global maritime industry and trade. It is headquartered in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA.
———
(¹) COLREGS – In French « RIPAM» – Réglement International pour Prévenir les Abordages en Mer
(²) Rule 5 – Watch
(³) Rule 19 - Vessel handling in reduced visibility
() Rule 3 - General definitions
———

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

4 Replies to “RIPAM always adapted to its objective ? [Update]”

  1. Alas, I don't know if everything is automatic / artificial intelligence ( which does not work that well on vehicles) will be better or worse than the current situation. but it is certain that the more free rein to the particular interests of charterers and other multinationals of the sea, and next, seeing only the cost concerns, they will do nothing more than legal to ensure safety at sea, especially small boats without danger for their mastodons. (Already the crews are minimalists…)
    Therefore, two things.
    We must demand more security, for small boats, but also ecological ( Containers « perdus » , pollution), and I'm afraid that these new technologies are a good excuse to further limit the responsibilities of large companies. ( Genre : Ah but if you don't have an AIS, it’s normal that our system didn’t locate you.).
    And what about responsibilities in the event of an accident?, already between commanders, shipowners, charterers and the like is a tad complex and therefore long, if we add the(s) maker(s) systems ( AI and others), the installer and the various stakeholders, it will be the party.
    PS : Personally, I don't think the sea is easier than the road to automate, between the little ones and the big ones, floats and semi-floats and submarines… unlike the road, at sea we can't stop
    on the edge. What to do in the event of a blackout on boats in the open ocean.
    From shell company to heavenly figurehead, I don't think this technological advancement will bring any additional security to us boaters.
    Otherwise these are pretty technical feats, yes.

  2. I agree with the argument developed in the post: it is not the RIPAM that would be the cause of collision but its implementation in situation.
    And reading made this suggestion germinate: as for airplane pilots, personnel assigned to the bridge may be required to follow periodic updates, on simulator, from concrete cases. Insurance companies could be influential prescribers in this area.

  3. Completly true. During 4 two-way Atlantic crossings, I could see that the application of the rules is very often not applied despite all the help we have (transponders, maps, radar, nice screen.)
    On my sailboat, super equipped, look sideways and even behind you, you can get caught without seeing and hearing.

Comments are closed.

Le RIPAM toujours adapté à son objectif ?

On ne peut que constater, depuis trois décennies, l’accroissement phénoménal du trafic commercial maritime mondial, la multiplication récente des drones maritimes, à des fins de recherche scientifique et diverses, des sous-marins télécommandés civils, militaires, et même à l’usage des trafiquants, et bientôt la mise en service inéluctable de navires de commerce entièrement automatisés et pilotés à distance. Cette évolution est directement liée à la multiplication des moyens de communication et de positionnement par satellites permettant de téléguider les mobiles en mer.

Même avec le confinement pendant la pandémie Covid-19 le trafic maritime ne cesse jamais. Vue Marine Traffic

Parmi les nombreux questionnements — éthiques, sociaux, écologiques, politiques — que cela peut soulever, le plus immédiat concerne la sécurité de la navigation, pour le commerce comme pour la plaisance. Ce qui implique plus précisément le Règlement International pour Prévenir les Abordages en Mer, le RIPAM (¹).

A ce sujet, je vous livre une opinion récemment formulée par Mr Harry Hirst le 18 avril 2020 dans les colonnes du très sérieux magazine The Maritime Executive qui traite de ce point particulier (Voir les sources en fin d’article), d’où il ressort en filigrane que les équipages sont souvent mal formés, et que, peut-être, les navires automatisés pourraient être capable de faire aussi bien, voire mieux. A méditer…

L’avenir : les navires autonomes

« Beaucoup pensent que dans un avenir pas si lointain, les changements fondamentaux dans la façon dont les navires seront exploités rendront l’actuel RIPAM inapplicable. Il s’agit principalement des navires autonomes, mais il est également vrai que l’utilisation croissante de l’automatisation et la réduction des effectifs des équipages risquent de faire en sorte que les passerelles des navires à équipage seront à l’avenir sans équipage pendant un certain temps, voire la plupart du temps.

« Si l’on considère les récents progrès de la technologie des voitures sans conducteur, l’idée d’essayer quelque chose de similaire avec des navires ne semble pas trop farfelue. Après tout, la mer a au moins un grand avantage : il y a moins de trafic que sur les routes et les temps de réaction sont généralement plus longs ». Dr P.C.Sames – DNV GL

Le projet de porte-conteneurs autonome Rolls Royce

Il est généralement entendu qu’un navire totalement autonome (sans équipage) ou tout navire avec une passerelle ou un cockpit sans homme de veille ne peut pas se conformer aux dispositions du RIPAM. Cette compréhension provient de la règle 5 (²) qui exige que chaque navire « assure à tout moment une veille appropriée par la vue aussi bien que par l’ouïe… » et la vue et l’ouïe dans ce contexte ont toujours été comprises et interprétées comme des références aux sens humains.

Il convient toutefois de noter que cette règle et les autres règles ne s’adressent pas aux humains mais aux navires. Ainsi, par exemple, chaque navire doit maintenir une veille adéquate, se déplacer à une vitesse de sécurité et déterminer s’il y a risque de collision, et les mesures prises pour éviter la collision doivent être suffisamment importantes pour être facilement visibles par un autre navire qui les observe visuellement ou au radar. De même, en cas de visibilité réduite, l’exigence est que tout navire qui entend « en apparence en avant de son travers le signal de brouillard d’un autre navire… » réduise sa vitesse.

Extrait de l’ouvrage N°2 du SHOM

Les actions « voir » et « entendre » ne doivent pas se limiter à leurs fonctions humaines. Elles pourraient être interprétées plus largement de manière à inclure « l’œil » électronique (caméra) et « l’oreille » (microphone) autant que l’œil et l’oreille humains. Si cette interprétation plus large devait être adoptée, alors un navire totalement autonome, ou un navire avec une passerelle sans équipage, qui est correctement équipé de caméras et de microphones devrait être capable de se conformer à la règle 5 (²). En effet, un tel navire peut en fait être mieux équipé pour ce faire, si l’on considère, par exemple, la capacité des caméras infrarouges et thermiques à « voir » dans l’obscurité et des microphones à déterminer la direction d’où émane un son.

Il faudrait veiller à limiter la catégorie d’équipements pouvant être considérés comme des « yeux » électroniques. Elle ne pourrait pas inclure le radar par exemple, car la règle pour les navires naviguant dans, ou près, d’une zone de visibilité réduite reconnaît qu’un navire qui n’est pas en vue d’un autre navire peut néanmoins détecter la présence de ce dernier par radar. Un navire équipé d’une caméra à imagerie thermique pourrait également être en mesure de détecter la présence d’un autre navire dans une zone de visibilité réduite dans des circonstances où l’œil humain ne pourrait pas le faire. Les pouvoirs de l’œil humain sont toutefois bien définis, et je pense qu’il devrait être possible de programmer les yeux électroniques et les ordinateurs de bord d’un navire autonome pour savoir quand la visibilité ambiante exige l’application de la règle 19 (³).

Il reste cependant la question du sens marin : comment un navire autonome, ou un navire avec une passerelle sans pilote, sait-il quelles précautions « … peuvent être exigées par la pratique ordinaire des marins » ? La réponse, je crois, sera fournie par l’intelligence artificielle (IA). Les ordinateurs peuvent être programmés pour apprendre (pensez : jeu d’Échecs, jeu de Go), et il semblerait donc que la technologie existe déjà pour programmer l’ordinateur d’un navire afin de savoir ce qu’exige la pratique du bon sens marin.

Je ne suis donc pas convaincu que le RIPAM nécessite nécessairement des modifications pour tenir compte des changements fondamentaux dans la façon dont les navires seront exploités à l’avenir, sauf peut-être pour inclure une définition dans la règle 3 () étendant le sens des mots « par la vue », « visuellement », « par l’ouïe » et « auditivement ».

La suggestion selon laquelle de nouvelles règles doivent être rédigées maintenant pour prendre en compte les navires avec et sans équipage, soulève bien sûr la question suivante : pourquoi ? Les propriétaires de navires avec équipage doivent s’assurer que leurs navires sont conformes aux règles RIPAM, quoi qu’ils puissent penser de ces règles, qui sont en vigueur depuis maintenant plus de 40 ans. Pourquoi devrait-il en être autrement pour le propriétaire d’un navire sans équipage ?

Il convient également de rappeler que ces règles, malgré l’évolution de leur formulation au fil du temps, prescrivent toujours les mêmes manœuvres de base pour éviter les collisions. Par exemple, lorsque deux navires à moteur se rencontrent de front, pour que les deux changent de cap sur tribord.

Extrait de l’ouvrage N°2 SHOM

Les règles actuelles ont évolué vers leur structure et leur formulation actuelles par une série de modifications et d’amendements progressifs au fil des ans, et en conséquence, leur entrée en vigueur au cours des années 1970 s’est faite sans heurts et en grande partie sans incident.

La mise en œuvre d’un ensemble complet de nouvelles règles, en particulier de nouvelles règles de manœuvre, ou l’introduction d’amendements de grande envergure aux règles actuelles est une solution qui risquerait d’entraîner un désastre. Ce serait également une entreprise longue et coûteuse, car elle nécessiterait un accord international et un réapprentissage à l’échelle mondiale. Je pense donc que nous devrions procéder avec prudence avant de chercher à réviser totalement les « règles de barre et de route » pour la navigation maritime.

Le présent : les collisions se produisent toujours

Les collisions en mer se produisent encore, mais alors que le nombre de collisions chaque année ne diminue pas sensiblement, la capacité de la flotte mondiale a augmenté de manière significative depuis l’entrée en vigueur du RIPAM en 1972. Ainsi, exprimé en pourcentage de la flotte mondiale, le nombre de collisions diminue en fait au fil du temps et montre donc une certaine amélioration. Cela dit, le nombre de collisions est toujours inacceptablement élevé et il est toujours vrai que la plupart des collisions sont le résultat d’erreurs humaines et, en particulier, d’un manque de mise en œuvre correcte – ou de respect – des règles.

Collision au large du Cap Corse en octobre 2018

Ce n’est toutefois pas une raison pour modifier le règlement. Les règles ne sont pas la cause des collisions. La cause des collisions est le non-respect des règles par les marins. Si, comme certains le suggèrent, les nombreuses technologies conçues pour améliorer la prévention des collisions depuis l’entrée en vigueur des règles sont ignorées, alors le problème se situe au niveau des marins et non des régulateurs à terre, ou de toute discordance entre les deux.

Aucune réglementation n’obligera un marin à utiliser un équipement ou une technologie particulière, tout comme aucune réglementation ne l’obligera à se conformer correctement aux règles. Le bon respect des règles est une question de compétence maritime, et le métier de marin est enseigné en classe et acquis par l’expérience en mer.

Les règles : un manque de compréhension

La cause des collisions n’est pas le RIPAM mais la façon dont les marins interprètent et appliquent mal les règles. Trop de marins aujourd’hui, je pense, ne comprennent pas bien les règles et la façon dont elles doivent être appliquées. Les causes de la plupart des collisions peuvent être classées en deux grandes catégories :

  1. l’absence d’une veille adéquate.
  2. le manquement à l’obligation de prendre les mesures d’évitement appropriées.

Extrait de l’ouvrage N°2 SHOM

  • Une veille appropriée

Grâce à une veille adéquate, le navigateur fera « une évaluation complète de la situation et du risque de collision ». De nombreuses collisions se produisent parce que le navigateur ne le fait pas, et en particulier, n’évalue pas correctement le risque de collision. Et ce, malgré les progrès technologiques réalisés au cours des 40 dernières années, notamment le développement de l’AIS et de l’ARPA, qui rendent la tâche de détection des autres navires et de détermination de leurs mouvements beaucoup plus facile aujourd’hui qu’au moment de l’entrée en vigueur du RIPAM.

Je me demande donc si les marins sont correctement formés à l’utilisation et aux limites de ces « nouvelles » aides à la navigation, et ce que l’on entend par « une évaluation complète de la situation et du risque de collision ». Une critique trop fréquente à l’égard du marin aujourd’hui est qu’il ou elle passe trop de temps à regarder l’ARPA et l’ECDIS et pas assez de temps à regarder par les fenêtres de la passerelle. Il est certain qu’aujourd’hui, très peu de marins semblent s’accorder plus de temps pour procéder à une évaluation exhaustive.

Une évaluation complète nécessite une bonne compréhension des trois phrases les plus importantes du règlement : « risque de collision », « situation rapprochée » et « passer à une distance de sécurité ». Ces expressions ne sont pas définies dans le RIPAM, et cela n’est pas surprenant car leur signification varie clairement en fonction des circonstances et des conditions de chaque situation. Trop de marins ne semblent pas avoir une bonne compréhension de la signification de ces phrases et, je crois, les interprètent de manière trop restrictive. De nombreux navigateurs, par exemple, interprètent « risque de collision » comme signifiant que les deux navires vont certainement entrer en collision si aucune mesure d’évitement n’est prise, et pensent que quelques encablures sont une distance de sécurité suffisante pour se croiser en mer en eaux libres dans toutes les conditions.

  • Des mesures inadéquates

Même lorsqu’une veille adéquate est maintenue, des collisions se produisent encore parce que les marins ne prennent pas les mesures d’évitement appropriées. Les mesures prises pour éviter une collision doivent être « positives, prises en temps utile et en tenant dûment compte du respect des règles de bonne conduite en matière de navigation ». Trop souvent, les mesures prises sont trop peu nombreuses et trop tardives. Je me demande donc si les marins apprennent correctement le sens des termes « positif » et « en temps utile ».

De nombreux navigateurs ne comprennent pas non plus que les règles de dépassement, de maintien de route et de croisement ne s’appliquent pas par visibilité réduite lorsque les navires ne sont pas en vue les uns des autres.

Extrait de l’ouvrage N°2 SHOM

Aucune raison de changer

Le fait que de nombreux marins semblent aujourd’hui ne pas bien comprendre les règles et la manière dont elles doivent être appliquées n’est pas, à mon avis, une raison pour modifier le RIPAM. Ce pourrait être une raison de le faire si ce manque de compréhension découlait de la manière dont le règlement a été rédigé. Cependant, les articles du RIPAM sont formulés de manière simple et concise, et le règlement a été organisé de manière logique et, comme indiqué ci-dessus, le problème ne réside pas dans les mots utilisés dans le règlement, mais dans la signification de ces mots

Pour conclure

Pour toutes ces raisons, je pense que le RIPAM est toujours adapté et qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de réviser totalement les règles, que ce soit pour accueillir des navires autonomes ou pour réduire le nombre de collisions. Il y aura des changements fondamentaux dans la manière dont les navires seront exploités à l’avenir, mais ces changements ne nécessiteront que quelques modifications mineures du règlement pour garantir qu’il reste applicable.

Si le secteur du transport maritime veut vraiment réduire le nombre d’abordages, il ferait mieux de concentrer son attention sur la manière dont les marins apprennent les règles et la manière de les appliquer, et non sur les règles elles-mêmes et la manière dont elles pourraient être modifiées. »

———
Sources :
Harry Hirst est Managing Partner et Master Mariner pour Incisive Law LLC, Singapore.
The Maritime Executive est une revue (et un site web) d’information professionnelle spécialisée qui cible principalement les décideurs de l’industrie et du commerce maritime mondial. Elle a son siège à Fort Lauderdale, Floride, USA.
———
(¹) RIPAM – En anglais « COLREGS» – International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea
(²) Règle 5 – Veille
(³) Règle 19 – Conduite des navires par visibilité réduite
() Règle 3 – Définitions générales
———

Facebooktwittermail

2 Replies to “Le RIPAM toujours adapté à son objectif ?”

  1. Tout à fait vrai. Lors de 4 traversées de l’Atlantique dans les deux sens, j’ai pu constater que l’application des règles n’est très souvent pas appliquée malgré toutes les aides que nous avons (transpondeurs, maps, radar, bel écran.)
    Sur mon voilier, super équipé, regarder sur les côtés et même derrière soi, on peut se faire rattraper sans voir et sans entendre.

Les commentaires sont fermés.