Compass Eye and SeaNav, good surprises from Pocket Mariner

At the bend of a search on App Store for my previous post, I found out under the term "Simrad" an application that furiously reminds me of something. From research to research, I discover the company Electric Pocket. This British applications publisher develops the applications for mobile from 1997, and recently the applications nautical under the name Pocket Mariner. That company is based in Wales, United Kingdom, and deals with partners from around the world.

SeaNav

This navigation application, which comes in three versions : SeaNav-HD, SeaNav UK & Ireland-HD and SeaNav US - HD is none other than the application sold by Digital Yacht under the name NavLink, as I mentioned on this blog a few months ago (¹). Interesting discovery. I invite you to follow the link (¹) for details because these two applications are strictly the same, with iOS (iPhone / iPad) and Mac OS X version. You will see the chart and the navaids overlayed in augmented reality on the landscape through the lens of the mobile, as well as AIS targets with their routes. On this point Pocket Mariner is actually innovative. Rest to see the usefulness in practice.

Compass Eye

You may remember the defunct application Compass AR, in the early days of this blog, missing since a certain time of the AppStore. Compass Eye does the same thing ten times better. Early 2010 the application disappeared from the German company Convelop faced the handicap of iPhone screens virtually unusable in bright light. Today the iPhone 6 and 6+, are perfectly readable by clear and sunny weather.

Pocket Mariner, with his experience in augmented reality, has added extremely useful functions, In addition to compass display : instant input of bearings, by tap on side icons, as green lines, red and yellow for a triangulation location by bearings, with digital display of angles. Bearing lines can be moved by dragging with the finger. Input an angle of approach of a ship to check constant bearing that means collision route. Screenshot by a tap on an icon. Speed over ground display (GPS) and Lat/Lon location, Day/night lighting, Zoom up to 8 x.

Shortly, a really useful application to many points of view for a perfectly affordable price (4,49 €). I recommend.


(¹) British vector charts with NavLink

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

6 Replies to “Compass Eye et SeaNav, good surprises from Pocket Mariner”

  1. Thank you Francis for all information received, very interesting for today's world, World of maritime navigation, tablets, Mobile and more computerized family used to sit in the dark sea, know before hand that our planned route is not going to be crossed by a storm, Sticky mists that let us see a meter more than our bows.
    All that today, We solve it with one click on a tablet in one second of time, incredible, Thank you for your information, for thus apparently is not so easy there are to know things the same as formerly taught us to handle the nautical almanacs, Tides tables, Treaties of navigation in general everything so complicated from the tedious tables of logarithms. etc. etc. Best regards

  2. A correction – I have checked the project and Compass Eye only requires iOS 5 or later ( it still works with pre-iOS6 devices that have google maps).

  3. Thank you very much for your kind review of my Compass Eye App, I am really pleased to hear you like it. Regarding our other app SeaNav/Navlink, just to let you know that there is now a free version of SeaNav for iPhone and iPad which has charts for the North of France ( from Lorient to Belgium ) , Belgium, Holland and Germany available as an In App Purchase as well as the UK and Ireland charts. We have also greatly improved the speed of chart drawing since your last review of the app as NavLink.

    One further point answer to Courteaux’s comment, Compass Eye is available on iOS6 and later. SeaNav requires iOS 7 and later.

  4. Thanks for these applications, but my iPhone 3Gs that can migrate in iOS 7 cannot download these applications.

    « Compatibility : Requires iOS 7.0 or a later version. "

    1. To have used an iPhone 3GS for more of 3 years, It must be admitted that its screen is hardly usable for this kind of application in full light. See details of the developer concerning compatible iOS versions.

Comments are closed.

Compass Eye et SeaNav, les bonnes surprises de Pocket Mariner

Au détour d’une recherche sur App Store pour mon précédent billet, j’ai découvert sous le vocable « Simrad » une application qui me rappelle furieusement quelquechose. De recherche en recherche, je découvre la société Electric Pocket. Cet éditeur d’applications britannique développe des applications pour mobiles depuis 1997, et récemment des applications nautiques sous le nom Pocket Mariner. Cette société est basée au Pays de Galles, Royaume-Uni, et travaille avec des partenaires du monde entier.

SeaNav

Cette application de navigation, qui se décline en trois versions : SeaNav-HD, SeaNav UK & Ireland-HD et SeaNav US-HD n’est autre que l’application vendue par Digital Yacht sous le nom de NavLink, que j’ai évoquée sur ce blog il y a quelques mois (¹). Intéressante découverte. Je vous invite à suivre le lien (¹) pour les détails car ces deux applications sont strictement les mêmes, avec version iOS (iPhone/iPad) et Mac OS X. On y retrouve la carte et le balisage projetés en réalité augmentée sur le paysage à travers l’objectif du mobile, ainsi que les cibles AIS et leurs routes. Sur ce point Pocket Mariner est réellement innovateur. Reste à en voir l’utilité dans la pratique.

Compass Eye

Vous vous rappelez peut-être l’application défunte Compass AR, présentée dans les débuts de ce blog, disparue depuis un certain temps de l’AppStore. Compass Eye fait la même chose en dix fois mieux. Début 2010 l’application disparue de la société allemande Convelop se heurtait au handicap des écrans d’iPhone pratiquement inutilisables en pleine lumière. Aujourd’hui les iPhone 6 et 6+, sont parfaitement lisibles par temps clair et ensoleillé.

Pocket Mariner, fort de son expérience de la réalité augmentée, a ajouté des fonctions extrêmement utiles, en plus de l’affichage du compas : saisie instantanée des relèvements, par tap sur des icônes latérales, sous forme de lignes verte, rouge et jaune permettant une triangulation pour un point par relèvement, avec affichage numérique des angles. Les lignes de relèvements peuvent être déplacées par glissement avec un doigt. Saisie d’un angle d’approche d’un navire pour vérifier si son relèvement correspond à une route de collision. Capture d’écran par un tap sur une icône. Affichage de la vitesse (GPS) et de la position Lat/Lon, Eclairage jour/nuit, Zoom jusqu’à 8x.

Bref une application vraiment utile à bien des points de vue pour un prix parfaitement abordable (4,49 €). Je recommande.


(¹) Les cartes vectorielles britanniques avec NavLink

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

6 Replies to “Compass Eye et SeaNav, les bonnes surprises de Pocket Mariner”

  1. Merci Francis pour toutes les informations reçues., très intéressant pour le monde d'aujourd'hui, monde de la navigation maritime, de comprimés, téléphones portables et famille informatisée utilisés pour se tenir dans la mer sombre, sachez à l'avance que notre itinéraire prévu ne sera pas traversé par une tempête, brumes collantes qui ne nous laissent pas voir un mètre au-delà de nos arcs.
    Tout ça de nos jours, Nous le résolvons en cliquant sur une tablette dans une seconde de temps, étonnante, Merci pour ton information, Eh bien, vu de cette façon, ce n'est pas si facile, il faut savoir les choses comme dans le passé, ils nous ont appris à gérer les almanachs nautiques, Tables des marées, Traités de navigation en général tout ce qui est compliqué à commencer par les fastidieuses tables de logarithme. etc. etc. Les salutations

  2. Une correction – J'ai vérifié le projet et Compass Eye ne nécessite que iOS 5 ou plus tard ( cela fonctionne toujours avec les appareils pré-iOS6 qui ont des cartes google).

  3. Merci beaucoup pour votre avis sur mon application Compass Eye, Je suis vraiment ravi de vous entendre comme ça. Concernant notre autre application SeaNav / Navlink, juste pour vous faire savoir qu'il y a maintenant un libre version de SeaNav pour iPhone et iPad qui a des cartes pour le Nord de la France ( de Lorient vers la Belgique ) , Belgique, La Hollande et l'Allemagne sont disponibles en achat intégré, ainsi que les graphiques du Royaume-Uni et d'Irlande. Nous avons également considérablement amélioré la vitesse de dessin des cartes depuis votre dernier examen de l'application en tant que NavLink.

    Une autre réponse ponctuelle au commentaire de Courteaux, Compass Eye est disponible sur iOS6 et versions ultérieures. SeaNav nécessite iOS 7 et ensuite.

  4. Merci pour ces applications, mais mon iPhone 3Gs qui ne peut migrer en iOS 7 ne peut pas télécharger ces applications.

    « Compatibilité : Nécessite iOS 7.0 ou une version ultérieure. «

    1. Pour avoir utilisé un iPhone 3GS pendant plus de 3 ans, il faut bien admettre que son écran est difficilement utilisable pour ce genre d’application en pleine lumière. Voyez les précisions du développeur concernant les versions iOS compatibles.

Les commentaires sont fermés.