Iridium GO! A positive feedback [Update]

Iridium GO! cruising

Since it was introduced to the market in September 2014 (Eh, yes, 5 years ago !) this device, with its indisputable ergonomics and excellent quality/price ratio, has become a must-have for offshore sailors. Easy to implement, without the need for an external antenna (except metal build) it can be used inside the boat.

A test run of several weeks, conducted in October and November 2016 during a transatlantic delivery, had already demonstrated its ability to download GRIB weather files and weather maps despite the low rate (about 10 KB / mn). With the new Iridium NEXT constellation (¹) we notice since 2019 a real improvement in the global coverage without satellite disconnection.

Antenna and reception

The swivel antenna reception quality, which acts as an on/off switch, is surprising. When conveying, the device has been used mostly inside the boat, a Dufour 560, in the salon or under the cockpit top. I myself did a commissioning in the salon of a RM 12,60 in the old harbour of La Rochelle, surrounded by towers and buildings, without any difficulty. This supports my earlier observation that: an external antenna adds nothing to the reception quality, except in a metal boat. A significant money saving.

Voice / data rate

Voice usage from a smartphone is excellent, the same quality level as Iridium handsets. Despite spacing of satellites in the inter-tropical regions, signal losses are considerably fewer than with the old constellation. For file transfers from an iPad, especially direct downloads of GRIB weather files with Weather4D (²), the observed flow rate allows an average download of 10 Ko / minute. On the other hand, This slow throughput is largely balanced by the following two benefits :

Uninterrupted connections…

Unlike with satphones 9555/9575, the messaging app Iridium Mail & Web does not hang Iridium GO! if a transfer is interrupted by loss of signal that can still occur between two satellites. The application remains active and the device in standby resumes the transfer by a single tap when a new satellite signal is received. This allows to overcome the maximum size 50 KB imposed by the very short time passage of an Iridium satellite above the boat (5 to 6 useful minutes), and thus make requests for much larger GRIB files that will be partially transferred by several satellites until they are fully loaded without the need to operate the device. Simply resume the transfer in the messaging application or in Weather4D. It is immediately apparent that the communication costs are likely to be prohibitive in use. But…

…and unlimited data

[Update 17/01/2020] Iridium has scheduled a specific offer for GO! with monthly subscriptions with unlimited data. Several different airtime are offered by operators. For example by iTabNav.fr :

  • Unlimited plan Calendar (from 1st up to 31 th of the month) : data + SMS unlimited + 150 mn landline and mobile calls (169 € + 25 € SIM activation)
  • Unlimited plan Sliding month : (date to date) : data + SMS unlimited + 150 mn voice landline and mobile calls(179 € + 50 € SIM activation)
  • Unlimited plan FLEX : (date to date) : data + SMS unlimited + 50 or 150 mn landline voice calls only (179 or € 199 € + 50 € SIM activation) may be interrupted and placed in stand-by, lossless call number or SIM renewal (optional Stand-by 10,80 € / month). Assigning a US-Number to be called least cost.

So there is something for everyone. And the cost of the plans is not much higher than the Iridium prepaid phone cards. Indeed, if we take as an example a Sliding Month Plan for an Atlantic crossing Europe – Caribbean, strolling by the Canary and Cape Verde Islands, about 3 months, This is a cost of (179 € x 3)+50 € = 587 €. Six months in the Caribbean, no need for Iridium. Crossing back to Europe in June, passing through the Azores, thus 2 months up to (179 € x 2)+50 € = 408 €. Extended cost = 995 €. Compared to a Special GO prepaid SIM card! limited up to 500mn / or 1000mn voice / data valid 1 year = 998 € (SIM included) France tariff (Orbitica) or to a standard SIM card Prepaid 600mn valid 1 year = 811 €(Orbitica), subscription offer almost the same price a service data + SMS unlimited and 150mn / month for voice call.

Tracking

TRACKAmap offers geolocation service from 8 $/months (to a point all 12 hours), simply programmed Iridium GO! at the rate subscribed to send the GPS position by SMS automatically (even in standby). A web interface allows your loved ones to track your progress at the pace of shipments. With a subscription to unlimited data, no additional cost can be used a higher rate. In addition, nothing prevents the device to be continuously powered at a good location inside the boat (except metal boat or carbon bridge !).

SOS emergency

For support function SOS, Iridium has contracted withGEOS Travel Safety Group to provide an emergency coordination measures for Iridium GO! at no additional charge. Just register for free on the page GEOS Iridium and follow the procedure described in the Iridium GO user manual! The service will be operational the setting is completed.

The assistance service offered with the Iridium GO! covers all of the land and maritime activities. Thereby it can be an alternative to an EPIRB (Emergency Position Indicating Radio Beacon). However, for ships flying the French flag, a Cospas-Sarsat EPIRB became mandatory in blue water sailing since May 1 2015 (Entries D240 - 2.08, 240-2.17, D311-Annex A.1/5.6).

Summary

All these elements, on the one hand financial, functional on the other hand, offer a certain attraction for this device on long trips.. Although less expensive to buy than Iridium 9575 to which must be added a WiFi gateway (RedPort Optimizer) and an external antenna + necessary wiring, an adjustable airtime will offer unlimited data transfers at a cost equivalent to most standard prepaid offers, a lowest market price tracking service, What more could you ask for ?

Add, to be exhaustive, that the battery is given for 7 hours continuous talk time, 16 hours standby (According to the transmissions of position adjustment), and its use for a temperature range -10 ° to + 55 °.

———
(¹) The new Iridium NEXT constellation is completed
(²) Direct download with Iridium GO! ®  Grib direct download with Iridium GO!®
———

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

7 Replies to “Iridium GO! A positive feedback [Update]”

  1. Hello
    I can't find the name of the operator to 169 euros monthly.
    Thanks for giving me his name and contact information.
    Good day

  2. Hello Francis, happy new year to the fact. It must be called.
    Since this crossing, It was me the skipper ? One of more and still coming in 2 weeks. Should I say that I accumulate experiences ? Good for sun loungers I stopped counting, But back to GO.
    Since I'm not Croesus, I still hesitate. For someone who is not yet equipped, Let's just, There is no picture. I would even add that for a traveler you find yourself with minutes conventional satellites cheaper than minutes roaming via mobile operators, more reason to do not hesitate.
    For someone who already is team, It is less obvious, excluding cost of equipment therefore, I think that it will depend on the program, package GO offer, unless error is 1 month from the first to the first, so minimum for a sunbed 2 month see 3 as you say in your example. With a classic iridium, I just use a map 500′, 700 EUR, (701,28 HT), cheaper than what you ads, and with that I would like 1 years by reason of 6 to 8 months of sea (minimum eh ?). And the second point, in voice, it is rather worse than classic iridium "what are you saying .. I hear you more, Allo, at the ". I'm exaggerating a little, but since I asked the question and you know my side geek. For first equipment Yes, without hesitation, from there to abandon the "old" Iridium, I have to say that I'm waiting for the new generation of satellites, the high speeds promised and the "Official" list of what will be compatible.
    And before you have on the phone, a few words on this blog to wish you happy new year, It is not too late and again thank you for all your work.
    PS : I know that you will love, After Olivier, It is, in principle, Mark (SEAIq) that comes with me to my next transat … It'll still be a geek boat …me be a Cook.

  3. I am less than satisfied with Go! unit. I have an aluminum boat so require and external antenna. The connector from the Go! unit to the cable is very weak and not a solid connection therefore reception is poor. The only thing we can use is the SMS which works most of the time. Gribs from PredictWind often don’t come in and their other services never.

    I am less than satisfied but I am happy to hear others are doing well with it. Perhaps it is my installation and problems with PredictWind.

  4. I realized the same transat in November and aside the quality of calls I confess that the use of this tool has completely satisfied me,

    I do not think it is serious to venture offshore with this unique way as an EPIRB SARSAT. But a great way to keep in touch with the Earth with the opportunity for each person on board to have his own emails.

Comments are closed.

Iridium GO! Un retour d’expérience positif [MAJ]

Iridium GO! en croisière

Depuis qu’il est apparu sur le marché en septembre 2014 (eh oui, 5 ans déjà !) cet appareil d’une indiscutable ergonomie et d’un excellent rapport qualité/prix est devenu un incontournable pour les navigateurs au grand large. Facile à mettre en œuvre, sans nécessité d’une antenne externe (sauf coque métallique) on peut l’utiliser à l’intérieur du bateau.

Un test de plusieurs semaines, réalisé en octobre et novembre 2016 lors d’un convoyage transatlantique, avait déjà démontré sa capacité à récupérer des fichiers météo GRIB et des cartes de frontologie malgré le faible débit (environ 10 Ko/mn). Avec la nouvelle constellation Iridium NEXT (¹) on constate depuis 2019 une nette amélioration de la couverture mondiale sans perte de satellite.

Antenne et réception

La qualité de réception de l’antenne pivotante, qui sert d’interrupteur Marche/Arrêt, est surprenante. Lors du convoyage, l’appareil a été utilisé en majeure partie à l’intérieur du bateau, un Dufour 560, dans le carré ou sous la protection du cockpit. J’ai moi-même fait une mise en service dans le carré d’un RM 12,60 dans le vieux bassin de La Rochelle, cerné par les tours et les immeubles, sans aucune difficulté. Cela vient à l’appui du précédent constat que j’avais fait : une antenne externe n’apporte rien à la qualité de réception, sinon dans un bateau métallique. Une économie non négligeable.

Débits voix / données

L’utilisation vocale à partir d’un smartphone reste excellente, du même niveau de qualité que les téléphones Iridium. Malgré l’espacement des satellites dans les régions inter-tropicales, les pertes de signal sont nettement moins nombreuses qu’avec l’ancienne constellation. Pour les transferts de fichiers à partir d’un iPad, et particulièrement  les téléchargements directs des fichiers météo GRIB avec Weather4D (²), le débit constaté permet un téléchargement moyen de 10 Ko/minute. En revanche, cette lenteur du débit est largement compensée par les deux atouts suivants :

Connexions ininterrompues…

Contrairement avec les téléphones 9555/9575, l’application Iridium Mail & Web de messagerie ne raccroche pas l’Iridium GO! si un transfert est interrompu par la perte du signal qui peut encore se produire entre deux satellites. L’application reste active et l’appareil en veille reprend de lui-même le transfert au retour du signal d’un nouveau satellite. Cela permet de s’affranchir de la taille maximum de 50 Ko imposée par le temps de passage très court d’un satellite Iridium au-dessus du bateau (5 à 6 minutes utiles), et donc de faire des requêtes de fichiers GRIB bien plus gros qui seront transférés partiellement par plusieurs satellites jusqu’au chargement complet sans besoin d’intervenir sur l’appareil. Il suffira de reprendre le transfert dans l’application de messagerie ou dans Weather4D. Il vient tout de suite à l’esprit que les coûts de communication risquent d’être prohibitifs à l’usage. Mais…

…et données illimitées

[MAJ 17/01/2020] Iridium a prévu une offre spécifique pour le GO! avec des abonnements mensuels à data illimitée. Plusieurs types de forfaits sont proposés par les opérateurs. Par exemple chez iTabNav.fr :

  • Forfait illimité Calendaire (du 1er au 31 du mois) : data + SMS illimité + 150 mn appels fixes et mobiles (169 € + 25 € activation SIM)
  • Forfait illimité Mois Glissant : (date à date) : data + SMS illimité + 150 mn voix appels fixes et mobiles (179 € + 50 € activation SIM)
  • Forfait illimité FLEX : (date à date) : data + SMS illimité + 50 ou 150 mn voix appels fixes uniquement (179 € ou 199 € + 50 € activation SIM) peut être interrompu et mis en attente, sans perte du numéro ni remplacement SIM (option Stand-by 10,80 €/mois). Attribution d’un US Number pour être appelé au moindre coût.

Il y en a donc pour tous les besoins. Et le coût des forfaits n’est guère plus élevé que les cartes prépayées pour téléphone Iridium. En effet, si on prend comme exemple un forfait Mois Glissant pour une traversée de l’Atlantique Europe – Antilles, en flânant par les Canaries puis les îles du Cap Vert, soit environ 3 mois, cela fait un coût de (179 € x 3)+50 € = 587 €. Pendant six mois dans les Caraïbes, pas besoin d’Iridium. Traversée retour vers l’Europe à partir de juin, en passant par les Açores, soit 2 mois à (179 € x 2)+50 € = 408 €. Coût total = 995 €. Comparé à une carte SIM prépayée spécial GO! limitée à 500mn/voix ou 1000mn/data valide 1 an = 998 € (SIM incluse) au tarif France (Orbitica) ou encore à une carte SIM standard prépayée 600mn valide 1 an = 811 € (Orbitica), l’abonnement offre à un tarif presque équivalent un service data + sms illimité et 150mn/mois pour la voix.

Tracking

TRACKAmap propose un service de géolocalisation à partir de 8 $/mois (pour un point toutes les 12 heures), il suffit de programmer Iridium GO! à la cadence souscrite pour qu’il envoie la position GPS par SMS automatiquement (même en veille). Une interface web permet à vos proches de suivre votre progression au rythme des envois. Avec un abonnement à data illimitée, on peut sans surcoût utiliser une cadence plus élevée. De plus, rien n’empêche de garder l’appareil alimenté en permanence à un emplacement approprié à l’intérieur du bateau (sauf bateau métallique ou pont carbone !).

SOS Urgence

Pour assurer la fonction SOS, Iridium a contracté avec le GEOS Travel Safety Group pour fournir un service de coordination des mesures d’urgence pour Iridium GO! sans frais supplémentaires. Il suffit de s’inscrire gratuitement sur la page GEOS Iridium et de suivre la procédure décrite dans le manuel utilisateur Iridium GO! Le service ne sera opérationnel qu’à l’issue de ce paramétrage.

Le service d’assistance proposé avec l’Iridium GO! couvre l’ensemble des activités terrestres et maritimes. De ce fait il peut être une alternative à une RLS (Radiobalise de localisation des sinistres). Cependant, pour les navires battant pavillon français, une radiobalise Cospas-Sarsat est devenue obligatoire en navigation hauturière depuis le 1er mai 2015 (Articles D240-2.08, 240-2.17, D311-Annexe A.1/5.6).

Pour conclure

Tous ces éléments, financiers d’une part, fonctionnels d’autre part, offrent un attrait certain pour cet appareil en grand voyage. Bien moins cher à l’achat qu’un Iridium 9575 auquel il faudra ajouter une passerelle WiFi (Optimizer WXA-122) et une antenne externe + câblage  indispensables, un forfait ajustable à volonté offrant les transferts de données illimités à un coût équivalent à la plupart des offres prépayées standard, un service de tracking le plus bas du marché, que demander de plus ?

Ajoutons, pour être complet, que l’autonomie de la batterie est donnée pour 7 heures en conversation continue, 16 heures en veille (selon réglage des envois de position), et son utilisation pour une plage de température de -10° à +55°.

———
(¹) La nouvelle constellation Iridium NEXT est achevée
(²) Téléchargement direct avec Iridium GO!
———

Facebooktwittermail

7 Replies to “Iridium GO! Un retour d’expérience positif [MAJ]”

  1. Bonjour
    Je n’arrive pas à trouver le nom de l’opérateur à 169 euros mensuels.
    Merci de me donner son nom et ses coordonnées.
    Bonne jounée

  2. Bonjour Francis, bonne année au fait. Il faut que l’on s’appelle.
    Depuis cette traversée, c’était moi le skipper ? Une de plus et encore une à venir dans 2 semaines. Devrai je dire que j’accumule les expériences ? Bon pour les transats j’ai arrêté de compter, mais revenons au GO.
    Vu que je ne suis pas Crésus, j’hésite encore. Pour quelqu’un qui n’est pas encore équipé, disons le simplement, il n’y a pas photo. J’ajouterai même que pour un voyageur tu te retrouves avec des minutes satellites moins chers que des minutes en roaming via les opérateurs mobiles classiques, raison de plus pour ne pas hésiter.
    Pour quelqu’un qui est déjà equipé, c’est moins évident, hors coût de l’équipement donc, je crois que cela va dépendre du programme, l’offre de forfait GO, sauf erreur c’est 1 mois du premier au premier, donc minimum pour une transat 2 mois voir 3 comme tu le dis dans ton exemple. Avec un iridium classique, je viens de reprendre une carte 500′, 700 euros, (701,28 HT), moins cher que ce que tu annonces, et avec ça je tiens 1 ans à raison de 6 à 8 mois de mer (minimum hein ?). Et le deuxième point, en voix, c’est plutôt moins bon que l’iridium classique “qu’est ce que tu dis .. Je ne t’entend plus, allo, allo”. J’exagère un peu, mais puisque je me suis posé la question et tu connais mon côté geek. Pour un premier équipement oui, sans hésiter, de là à abandonner le “vieil” Iridium, je dois dire que j’attend la nouvelle génération de satellites, les hauts débits promis et la liste “Officielle” de ce qui sera compatible.
    Et avant de t’avoir au téléphone, un petit mot sur ce blog pour te souhaiter bonne année, il n’est pas trop tard et encore te remercier pour tout ton boulot.
    PS : je sais que tu va aimer, après Olivier, c’est en principe Mark (SEAIq) qui vient avec moi pour ma prochaine transat … Ça va encore être un bateau de geek …m’faudrait un cuistot.

  3. I am less than satisfied with Go! unit. I have an aluminum boat so require and external antenna. The connector from the Go! unit to the cable is very weak and not a solid connection therefore reception is poor. The only thing we can use is the SMS which works most of the time. Gribs from PredictWind often don’t come in and their other services never.

    I am less than satisfied but I am happy to hear others are doing well with it. Perhaps it is my installation and problems with PredictWind.

  4. J’ai realisé la même transat au mois de Novembre et à part la qualité des appels j’avoue que l’utilisation de cet outil m’a totalement satisfait,

    Je ne pense pas qu’il soit serieux de s’aventurer au large avec cet unique moyen SARSAT comme une EPIRB. Mais un excellent moyen de garder contact avec la terre avec la possibilite pour chaque personne à bord d’avoir ses propres e-mails.

Les commentaires sont fermés.