Weather4D and iOS Local Network

From iOS / iPadOS version 14.5, a new setting has appeared proposing to allow application access to the Local network. This option is offered when installing a new application, but is not necessarily activated if the application is already installed when updating the OS.

Since then, many of you can no longer connect certain applications (Weather4D, iNavX, aso.) to devices connected via Wi-Fi : Iridium GO!®, multiplexers, various NMEA gateways. To do this, you must activate this "Local network" option for the application concerned. Read more …

Controlling a Windows PC from an iPad [Update]

(First published on 8 December 2010)

Dear Friends macusers, the approach of Christmas, we need to be charitable, particularly towards users of Windows PC. Indeed, before the influx of requests on how to control a Windows application from an iPad, not having provided a tutorial (*) for Mac users, I feel indebted to a small tutorial for windowsusers.

[Updated 22/08/2020]

Read more …

Iridium GO! A positive feedback [Update]

Iridium GO! cruising

Since it was introduced to the market in September 2014 (Eh, yes, 5 years ago !) this device, with its indisputable ergonomics and excellent quality/price ratio, has become a must-have for offshore sailors. Easy to implement, without the need for an external antenna (except metal build) it can be used inside the boat.

A test run of several weeks, conducted in October and November 2016 during a transatlantic delivery, had already demonstrated its ability to download GRIB weather files and weather maps despite the low rate (about 10 KB / mn). With the new Iridium NEXT constellation (¹) we notice since 2019 a real improvement in the global coverage without satellite disconnection.

Read more …

Weather4D and SailGrib improve the AIS network

Many AIS tracking networks broadcast over the Internet are available. Among the best known : Marine Traffic, Vessel Finder, SiiTech, LocalizaTodo, and many others. One of these networks especially stands out, AISHub, an AIS NMEA data sharing center, which provides developers with an API for integration of its network in applications, and therefore display of AIS targets received over the Internet directly into the application. Featured from the beginning in Weather4D Routing & Navigation, this system has made it possible to envisage new and particularly innovative services. Read more …

Signal K Project, universal open source marine data sharing

You will soon hear about Signal K, a marine data communication standard, developed in open source, which aims to replace the standard NMEA (0183 and 2000) technically overwhelmed by the exponential development of connected objects. Designers intend to make an open and free protocol developers and industrial customers, allowing to get over the constraints linked to the NMEA : cost of licenses, flow limits, limit the number and type of devices, failure to adapt to complex environments, wireless communications, therefore incompatible with the Internet of Things and the Internet itself.

Read more …

Iridium unifies the use of its mobile devices

Since the release of Iridium GO! (¹) There were two different pages of subscription (for free) to messaging service, and two applications (iOS/Android) to connect to the Iridium devices. Now there is only one application : Iridium Mail & Web to connect to the router Optimizer, either Iridium GO! Read more …

Iridium GO! keeps its promises [Update]

Since its announcement last February, the GO! is expected to come from dealers at the beginning of this month. Company E SAT gave me one to conduct some tests. Although too late to perform these tests at sea, the Quai des Antilles on the Ile de Nantes offers a wide sky clearance also than the deck of a boat, enough to connect satellites of all-round. Two types of test were conducted : requests and receipts of GRIB weather files from an iPad featured with Weather4D PRO app, functions related to the telephony from an iPhone.

Iridium GO! in the Buren Rings on the Quay of Antilles. An invitation to travel ?

Read more …

With IsatHub, Inmarsat promises to connect - much - faster [Update]

After the announcement with great pump of the GO! by Iridium few month ago, but not yet available, Inmarsat has introduced IsatHub at CommunicAsia show which just closed its doors in Singapur. The competition is tough between the two industrial, but unlike Iridium more oriented towards mainstream users, Inmarsat is aimed primarily at a professional market.

IsatHub is a WiFi hotspot allowing to connect all mobile devices to Inmarsat satellite network. No need cellular towers, IsatHub provides aworldwide connectivity to your tablets and smartphones.
Read more …

Iridium GO! promises to connect you – nearly – anywhere

Iridium GO!We read in the news

Global satellite company aims at the consumer market with Iridium GO!™ : pack it for camping or world travel (¹).

In all public places where you can connect wirelessly to the Internet today, Wi-Fi is not yet ubiquitous. And if you are a boater, backpacker, pilot, camper or someone who spends a lot of time in nature, the chance to connect to cyberspace in some remote locations is almost impossible. It is not just data. Try making a cellular phone call in such places !

Read more …

Weather4D et Réseau Local iOS

Depuis la version iOS/iPadOS 14.5, un nouveau réglage est apparu proposant d’autoriser l’accès des applications au Réseau local. Cette option est proposée à l’installation d’une nouvelle application, mais n’est pas forcément activée si l’application est déjà installée lors de la mise à jour de l’OS. 

Depuis lors, vous êtes très nombreux à ne plus pouvoir connecter certaines applications (Weather4D, iNavX, etc.) aux appareils connectés en Wi-Fi : Iridium GO!®, multiplexeurs, passerelles NMEA diverses. Il faut pour cela activer cette option « Réseau local » pour l’application concernée. Lire la suite …

Contrôler un PC sous Windows depuis un iPad [MAJ]

(Première publication le 8 décembre 2010)

Chers amis macusers, à l’approche des fêtes de Noël, il faut savoir se montrer charitable, particulièrement envers les utilisateurs de PC sous Windows. En effet, devant l’afflux des demandes concernant les modalités de contrôle d’une application sous Windows depuis un iPad, n’ayant fourni un tutoriel (*) que pour les utilisateurs de Mac, je me sens redevable d’un petit tutoriel pour les windowsusers.

[Mise à jour 22/08/2020]

Lire la suite …

Iridium GO! Un retour d’expérience positif [MAJ]

Iridium GO! en croisière

Depuis qu’il est apparu sur le marché en septembre 2014 (eh oui, 5 ans déjà !) cet appareil d’une indiscutable ergonomie et d’un excellent rapport qualité/prix est devenu un incontournable pour les navigateurs au grand large. Facile à mettre en œuvre, sans nécessité d’une antenne externe (sauf coque métallique) on peut l’utiliser à l’intérieur du bateau.

Un test de plusieurs semaines, réalisé en octobre et novembre 2016 lors d’un convoyage transatlantique, avait déjà démontré sa capacité à récupérer des fichiers météo GRIB et des cartes de frontologie malgré le faible débit (environ 10 Ko/mn). Avec la nouvelle constellation Iridium NEXT (¹) on constate depuis 2019 une nette amélioration de la couverture mondiale sans perte de satellite.

Lire la suite …

Weather4D et SailGrib améliorent le réseau AIS

De nombreux réseaux de tracking AIS retransmis par internet sont disponibles. Parmi les plus connus : Marine Traffic, Vessel Finder, SiiTech, LocalizaTodo, et bien d’autres. Un de ces réseaux se démarque particulièrement, AISHub, un centre de partage de données AIS au format NMEA, qui propose aux développeurs une API permettant l’intégration de son réseau dans les applications, et donc l’affichage des cibles AIS reçues par internet directement dans l’application. Présent dès l’origine dans les fonctions de Weather4D Routage & Navigation, ce système a permis d’envisager de nouveaux services particulièrement innovants. Lire la suite …

Signal K Project, échange universel open source de données marines

Vous allez bientôt entendre parler de Signal K, un standard de communication de données marines, développé en open source, qui ambitionne de remplacer les standards NMEA (0183 et 2000) techniquement dépassés par le développement exponentiel des objets connectés. Les concepteurs entendent apporter un protocole ouvert et gratuit aux développeurs comme aux industriels, permettant de s’affranchir des contraintes liées aux normes NMEA : coût des licences, limites de débit, limite du nombre et des types d’appareil, inadaptation aux environnements complexes, aux communications sans fil, donc incompatibilité avec l’internet des objets et l’internet tout court.

Lire la suite …

Iridium unifie l’utilisation de ses appareils mobiles

Depuis la sortie de Iridium GO! (¹) Il y avait deux pages de souscription (gratuite) au service de messagerie, et deux applications (iOS/Android) pour se connecter aux appareils Iridium. Il n’y a désormais plus qu’une seule application : Iridium Mail & Web pour se connecter soit au routeur Optimizer, soit à Iridium GO! Lire la suite …

Iridium GO! tient ses promesses [MAJ]

Depuis son annonce en février dernier, le GO! s’est fait attendre pour n’arriver chez les revendeurs qu’au début de ce mois. La société E-SAT m’en a procuré un afin de procéder à quelques tests. Bien que trop tard pour effectuer ces tests en mer, le Quai des Antilles sur l’Ile de Nantes offre un vaste espace aussi dégagé que le pont d’un bateau, suffisant pour capter les satellites de tout l’horizon. Deux types de test ont été effectués : requêtes et récupérations des fichiers météo GRIB à partir d’un iPad équipé de Weather4D PRO, fonctions liées à la téléphonie à partir d’un iPhone.

Iridium GO! dans les anneaux de Buren sur le Quai des Antilles. Une invitation au voyage ?

Lire la suite …

Avec IsatHub, Inmarsat promet de vous connecter ­­– beaucoup – plus vite [MAJ]

Après l’annonce en grande pompe du GO! par Iridium il y a quelques mois, mais toujours pas disponible, Inmarsat vient de présenter IsatHub au salon CommunicAsia qui vient juste de fermer ses portes à Singapour. La concurrence est sévère entre les deux industriels, mais contrairement à Iridium plus orienté vers les utilisateurs grand public, Inmarsat s’adresse principalement à un marché professionnel.

IsatHub est un point d’accès WiFi permettant de router tous vos appareils mobiles vers le réseau satellitaire Inmarsat. Plus besoin de connexion cellulaire, IsatHub apporte une connectivité mondiale à vos tablettes et smartphones.
Lire la suite …

Iridium GO! promet de vous connecter – presque – n’importe où

Iridium GO!On en parle dans la presse

La société mondiale de satellite vise le marché grand-public avec Iridium GO!™ : empochez-le pour le camping ou le tour du monde (¹).

Dans tous les lieux publics où vous pouvez vous connecter sans fil à Internet aujourd’hui, une connexion Wi-Fi n’est pas encore omniprésente. Et si vous êtes un plaisancier, randonneur, pilote, en camping-car ou quelqu’un qui passe beaucoup de temps dans la nature, les chances de vous connecter au cyber-espace dans certains endroits éloignés est presque impossible. Il ne s’agit pas seulement des données. Essayez de faire un appel depuis un téléphone cellulaire dans de tels endroits !

Lire la suite …