Reading : "L'Énigme of La Diane" by Nicolas Grondin

There is a long time that I suggested you had more title under "Reading". Technical news are not so much for a few weeks, I take this opportunity to introduce you a great novel discovered thanks to the wise advice of an old friend living in Concarneau. I thank him very much here.

Through the story of young Basil Houareau, board to force 14 years aboard La Diane, Royal Army Commander 36 guns, the author portrays life aboard a warship in the campaign from Iroise Sea to Caribbean. We are in 1781, and the war against the English, along the coasts of America, rages.

In this adventure, conducted in a hectic, a mystery connects the young Basil, native Audierne, the intrepid Commander Louis Rouget, Knight Selcy, who took command of La Diane in circumstances not all in his honor.

Basil discovers the terrible life of a foam in a crew of tough guys, the horrors of war, but also love, and go well over the months from childhood to a man's life.

Long ago I had read a book written in French as writing a perfect, describing in minute detail and incredibly realistic the lives of these seafarers for war, while keeping the reader in suspense, from the first to the last page, until the final revelation of the mystery of La Diane.

When reading a jubilant, informative and entertaining.

All the more surprising that this is the first novel by Nicolas Grondin, self-educated, bookseller, editor, and now a talented storyteller. Published in editions New Authors – Prisma Presse, 2010.

[Update November 2012] A sequel has appeared, subtitled "From the Antilles to the Mascarenes", end 2012.


Other titles in the Reading section

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

One Reply to “Lecture : "L'Énigme of La Diane" by Nicolas Grondin”

  1. Big thank you to that opinion makes me blush.
    Just a detail, it's not exactly my first novel, I already cracked the Black River, mais c’est en effet mon premier roman « maritime », a passion that comes from childhood.
    Again, thank you.

Comments are closed.

Lecture : « L’énigme de la Diane » de Nicolas Grondin

Il y a un bon moment que je ne vous avais plus proposé de titre dans cette rubrique « Lecture ». L’actualité technique étant un peu ralentie depuis quelques semaines, j’en profite pour vous présenter un roman passionnant découvert grâce au conseil avisé d’un vieil ami concarnois. Je l’en remercie ici vivement.

A travers l’histoire du jeune Basile Houareau, embarqué de force à 14 ans à bord de la Diane, frégate royale armée de 36 canons, l’auteur nous dépeint la vie à bord d’un navire de guerre en campagne de la Mer d’Iroise aux Antilles. Nous sommes en 1781, et la guerre contre les Anglais, le long des côtes d’Amérique, fait rage.

Dans cette aventure, menée de façon trépidante, un mystère relie le jeune Basile, natif d’Audierne, à l’intrépide capitaine de frégate Louis Rouget, chevalier de Selcy, qui prend le commandement de la Diane dans des circonstances pas toutes à son honneur.

Basile va découvrir la terrible vie d’un mousse au sein d’un équipage de durs à cuire, l’horreur des combats, mais aussi l’amour, et passer ainsi au fil des mois de l’enfance à une vie d’homme.

Il y a bien longtemps que je n’avais lu un livre rédigé dans une écriture d’un français aussi parfait, décrivant de façon minutieuse et terriblement réaliste le quotidien de ces marins embarqués pour la guerre, tout en maintenant le lecteur en haleine, de la première à la dernière page, jusqu’à la révélation finale de cette énigme de la Diane.

Un moment de lecture jubilatoire, instructif et divertissant.

D’autant plus surprenant qu’il s’agit du premier roman de Nicolas Grondin, autodidacte, libraire, éditeur, et désormais raconteur d’histoires de talent. Publié aux éditions Les Nouveaux Auteurs – Prisma Presse, 2010.


Les autres titres de la rubrique Lecture

Facebooktwittermail

One Reply to “Lecture : « L’énigme de la Diane » de Nicolas Grondin”

  1. Grand merci de cet avis qui me fait rougir.
    Juste un détail, ce n’est pas exactement mon premier roman, j’ai déjà sévi au Fleuve Noir, mais c’est en effet mon premier roman “maritime”, une passion qui me vient de l’enfance.
    Encore merci.

Les commentaires sont fermés.