ECMWF weather data soon open to the public [3rd part]

Trafalgar Hit for the flagship of European meteorology, despite Brexit and contrary to what had been planned (¹), the European Center for Medium-Term Weather Forecast will stay in England ! Even better, a new headquarter for ECMWF to be fully funded by the UK government through the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. Proof that the British have gone all out to keep this European scientific center in Reading (²).

Indeed, the University of Reading campus to welcome the largest group of meteorological and climate scientists in the world, following agreement to build a new state-of-the-art headquarters for ECMWF on the Whiteknights campus of the University of Reading. The project to relocate the ECMWF headquarters, currently located approximately 1,5 km away on Shinfield Road, Reading, in a new facility adjacent to the University's Meteorology Department on the Whiteknights campus, has just been approved at a meeting of the ECMWF's governing council.

Le futur bâtiment du CEPMMT

The future ECMWF building

Together with the University's Department of Meteorology, and parts of the UK Met Office of National Center for Atmospheric Sciences, and National Centre for Earth Observation NERC for atmospheric sciences and Earth observation, currently located with the Department of Meteorology, ECMWF will create the largest cluster of weather and climate research and operational forecasting in the world.

British Minister for Science, George Freeman, said :

“We want the UK to lead in climate research and are proud to continue to host the ECMWF headquarters at the University of Reading. By investing in this crucial cluster, we are using UK science for global good to understand our climate and help us build back better from the pandemic. The UK and the ECMWF have worked hand in hand for well over four decades and we look forward to continuing our work with them at the highest levels of weather and climate science.. "

Dr Florence Rabier, CEO of ECMWF, increased :

"This is a very positive result for ECMWF, paving the way for a new headquarters building with sustainability at its core. We are grateful to the UK government and the University of Reading for their thoughtful and thorough proposal, and to all our Member States for their support in approving it. "

Professor Robert Van de Noort, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Reading, declared in turn :

“ECMWF and the University have worked closely together on cutting-edge science for decades, and have become known as leading institutions in the fields of weather and climate. I am thrilled that, through agreement between the UK Government and ECMWF, we will be able to build on this success at a time when a greater scientific understanding of the Earth's changing weather and its impacts is more important than ever. "

The English therefore broke their piggy bank to keep the ECMWF at home, and one can only be surprised that the European institutions and the French government have abandoned the project of a relocation, however seriously considered (¹). Mysteries of politics and diplomacy !

–––
(¹) ReadECMWF weather data soon open to the public [1st part]
(²) Source : New home for ECMWF on University of Reading campus agreed
–––

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

Les données météo du CEPMMT bientôt ouvertes au public [3e partie]

Coup de Trafalgar pour le fleuron de la météorologie européenne, malgré le Brexit et contrairement à ce qui avait été envisagé (¹), le Centre Européen de Prévisions Météorologiques à Moyen Terme va rester en Angleterre ! Encore mieux, un nouveau siège pour le CEPMMT sera entièrement financé par le gouvernement britannique par l’intermédiaire du ministère des affaires, de l’énergie et de la stratégie industrielle. Preuve que les britanniques ont mis le paquet pour conserver à Reading ce haut lieu scientifique européen (²).

En effet, le campus de l’université de Reading est sur le point d’accueillir le plus grand groupe de spécialistes de la météorologie et du climat au monde, suite à l’accord sur la construction d’un nouveau siège ultramoderne pour le CEPMMT sur le campus Whiteknights de l’université de Reading. Le projet de déménagement du siège du CEPMMT, actuellement situé à environ 1,5 km de là sur Shinfield Road à Reading, dans de nouvelles installations adjacentes au département de météorologie de l’université sur le campus de Whiteknights, vient d’être approuvé lors d’une réunion du conseil d’administration du CEPMMT.

Le futur bâtiment du CEPMMT

Le futur bâtiment du CEPMMT

Avec le département de météorologie de l’université et des parties du Met Office britannique, du Centre national du NERC pour les sciences atmosphériques et l’observation de la Terre, tous actuellement situés au département de météorologie, le CEPMMT créera le plus grand groupe de recherche sur le temps et le climat et de prévision opérationnelle au monde.

Le ministre britannique des sciences, George Freeman, a déclaré :

“Nous voulons que le Royaume-Uni soit à la pointe de la recherche sur le climat et nous sommes fiers de continuer à accueillir le siège du CEPMMT à l’université de Reading. En investissant dans ce pôle crucial, nous mettons la science britannique au service du monde entier pour comprendre notre climat et nous aider à mieux nous relever de la pandémie. Le Royaume-Uni et le CEPMMT travaillent main dans la main depuis plus de quarante ans et nous sommes impatients de poursuivre notre collaboration avec eux au plus haut niveau de la science météorologique et climatique. »

Le Dr Florence Rabier, directrice générale du CEPMMT, a renchérit :

« Il s’agit d’un résultat très positif pour le CEPMMT, qui ouvre la voie à un nouveau siège social dont la durabilité est au cœur des préoccupations. Nous sommes reconnaissants au gouvernement britannique et à l’Université de Reading pour leur proposition réfléchie et approfondie, ainsi qu’à tous nos États membres pour leur soutien à son approbation. »

Le Professeur Robert Van de Noort, Vice-Chancelier de l’Université de Reading, a déclaré à son tour :

« Le CEPMMT et l’Université travaillent en étroite collaboration sur des projets scientifiques de pointe depuis des décennies et sont devenus des institutions de premier plan dans les domaines de la météorologie et du climat. Je suis ravi que, grâce à un accord entre le gouvernement britannique et le CEPMMT, nous puissions nous appuyer sur ce succès à un moment où une meilleure compréhension scientifique des changements météorologiques de la Terre et de leurs impacts est plus importante que jamais. »

Les anglais ont donc cassé leur tirelire pour conserver le CEPMMT chez eux, et on ne peut qu’être étonné que les institutions européennes et le gouvernement français aient abandonné le projet d’un rapatriement pourtant sérieusement envisagé (¹). Mystères de la politique et de la diplomatie !

–––
(¹) Lire Les données météo du CEPMMT bientôt ouvertes au public [1ère partie]
(²) Source : New home for ECMWF on University of Reading campus agreed
–––

mail