Weather4D Training with ACM Catamaran [2022]

After these last two years disrupted by the pandemic, training Weather4D Routing & Navigation with iPad trainingsin partnership with ACM Catamaran are renewed. I will manage these trainings during onboard weekend on one of the cruising school catamarans starting from the school base inHyères – Le Gapeau.

From 3 to 6 people in private cabins for these intensive training courses that have been a great success for almost ten years ! Catamarans offer you a great "classroom", the bay of Hyères a superb navigation basin "all weather", and ACM an "all inclusive" service !

6 weekends are scheduled in autumn, enjoy the tranquility of the late season… Read more …

COLREGS: Still Fit for Purpose ? [Update]

We can only observe, for three decades, the phenomenal increase in global maritime commercial traffic, the recent increase in maritime drones, for scientific and various research purposes, automated and remotely submarines civilian, military, and even for traffickers usage, and soon the inevitable coming into service of fully unmanneded merchant ships. This evolution is directly linked to the multiplication of satellites communication and positioning means allowing remote control of mobiles at sea.

Même avec le confinement pendant la pandémie Covid-19 le trafic maritime ne cesse jamais. Vue Marine Traffic

Even with containment during the Covid-19 pandemic, maritime traffic never stops. Marine Traffic view

Read more …

Cyber ​​attacks and boating

Garmin was the victim of a cyber attack that started on 23 last July and lasted several days. The resulting outage disrupted many of its online services.

Navionics customers could no longer access the Navionics server through their login credentials. L’application Navionics Boating, the chart installer and the Navionics chart viewer were all impacted. products could no longer be purchased directly from the Navionics website. Chartplotters could still be used as stand-alone devices during this Garmin failure, but the maps could no longer be downloaded or updated. Read more …

Smart navigation – From paper charts to augmented reality

I relayed here, in French, an article published in the British magazine Yachting Monthly (¹) the 30 th. The subject deals with the debate between paper charts and electronic navigation, by stating many truths, but also sometimes one or two untruths. The purpose has the merit of presenting contrasting arguments, and to obtain the opinion of recognized UK's professional boaters. Since the confinement imposes time constraints on us, let's take this opportunity to enjoy this instructive reading.… Read more …

Navigation Mac is 10 years !

5-yearsLaunched at the same time as the iPhone 3GS and iNavX app, and a few months before the first iPad, This blog follows since 10 years the continued growth of mobile devices used in maritime navigation.

Through more 350 articles, I tried to guide users throughout the evolution of materials and navigation applications dedicated to Apple mobile. Read more …

Hurricane Harvey, What is the impact of climate change ?

In full political news on global climate change, the terrible Hurricane Harvey questioned some scientists about the link between warming due to human activities and intense weather events increasing in recent years.

Source : National Weather Service

Michael E. Mann, distinguished professor of atmospheric science at Pennsylvania State University, director of the Penn State Earth System Science Center and author of three books, including The Hockey Stick and The Climate Wars, Dire Predictions, and The Madhouse Effect, develops a long comment in theguardian.com (¹) about it, freely translated by myself.

Read more …

Météo-France GRIB files finally for free

A year after my advocacy for free European data (¹) Météo-France finally offers free access to its two famous ARPEGE and AROME models. A welcome development, initiated in 2014 by the success of MyOcean, Since then integrated into Mercator Ocean (²), but a notorious change in attitude for a public institution to which always asked to self-finance a significant portion of its budget. Forecasts from these two models are made available on Météo-France portal in the GRIB version 2 format. Since the 21 July 2015.

Read more …

Marine electronics manufacturers and the Tablet phenomenon

A few days before the opening of Nautic Paris boat show where, I remember, I will be present on the stand iTabNav (Hall 2.1 – D31), an overview is required. And precisely, in our immediate horizon we will have, like every year, the proximity of their representatives and marine electronics manufacturers.

In the previous edition of the boat show, I could see the nervousness - not to say hostility - manufacturers respect the phenomenon Crescent of tablets and other smartphones on the market of navigation. (A) promote these devices and their applications, I do probably not have only friends in this environment. However, the strong pressure of the purchasers of boats, and so navigation electronics, a forced such manufacturers to incorporate a minimum of interactivity between their own equipment and mobile devices now owned by a majority of browsers.

What prompts me to do a quick update on the State of the supplied applications and the progress of the proposed functions.

Read more …

"Navigate with a digital tablet" iBook version


Technical BookletNavigating with a digital tablet, published in the special edition of Voiles et Voiliers, is now available on Apple iTunes iBookStore.

"Revolution in the navigation. easy, fast, touch, autonomous, digital tablets are not lacking quality ! With them, navigation chart table made its entry into the digital world. Their world beyond the simple charting to get the weather, routing, tides…

This technical booklet by Voiles et Voiliers draws a panorama of applications available, examines the different marine uses of tablets and describes the conditions for their optimal use. "

To be read on iPad/iPhone or Mac (OS X 10.9) with the Apple Application iBooks.

Formations embarquées avec ACM Catamaran [2021]

Malgré les incertitudes liées à la pandémie, il est permis d’espérer pouvoir reprendre les formations  nautiques. C’est en tout cas la volonté positive affichée par mon partenaire ACM Catamaran. En 2021 les formations Weather4D sont donc reconduites et programmées. J’encadrerai ces formations en situation « Naviguer avec Weather4D Routage & Navigation sur iPad » en week-end embarqué sur un des catamarans de l’école de croisière au départ de la base de Hyères – Le Gapeau. De 3 à 6 personnes en cabine privative pour ces formations intensives qui rencontrent un franc succès depuis plusieurs années.

Le calendrier 2021. est disponible et les inscriptions ouvertes pour avril, mai et octobre. Lire la suite …

Cyber-attaques et navigation de plaisance

Garmin a été victime d’une cyber-attaque qui a débuté le 23 juillet dernier et a duré plusieurs jours. La panne provoquée a perturbé un grand nombre de ses services en ligne.

Les clients de Navionics ne pouvaient plus accéder au serveur de Navionics via leurs identifiants de connexion. L’application Navionics Boating, l’installateur de cartes et le visualiseur de cartes Navionics ont tous été impactés. les produits ne pouvaient plus être achetés directement sur le site web de Navionics. Les traceurs de cartes pouvaient toujours être utilisés comme appareils autonomes pendant cette défaillance de Garmin, mais les cartes ne pouvaient plus être téléchargées ni mises à jour. Lire la suite …

Le RIPAM toujours adapté à son objectif ?

On ne peut que constater, depuis trois décennies, l’accroissement phénoménal du trafic commercial maritime mondial, la multiplication récente des drones maritimes, à des fins de recherche scientifique et diverses, des sous-marins télécommandés civils, militaires, et même à l’usage des trafiquants, et bientôt la mise en service inéluctable de navires de commerce entièrement automatisés et pilotés à distance. Cette évolution est directement liée à la multiplication des moyens de communication et de positionnement par satellites permettant de téléguider les mobiles en mer.

Même avec le confinement pendant la pandémie Covid-19 le trafic maritime ne cesse jamais. Vue Marine Traffic

Parmi les nombreux questionnements — éthiques, sociaux, écologiques, politiques — que cela peut soulever, le plus immédiat concerne la sécurité de la navigation, pour le commerce comme pour la plaisance. Ce qui implique plus précisément le Règlement International pour Prévenir les Abordages en Mer, le RIPAM (¹). Lire la suite …

Navigation intelligente – Des cartes papier à la réalité augmentée

Je relaye ici, en français, un article publié dans le magazine britannique Yachting Monthly (¹) le 30 mars dernier. Le sujet traite du débat entre cartes papier et navigation électronique, en énonçant de nombreuses vérités, mais également parfois une ou deux contre-vérités. Le propos a le mérite de présenter des arguments contrastés, et de recueillir l’avis de professionnels reconnus de la navigation de plaisance du Royaume-Uni. Puisque le confinement nous en impose le temps, profitons-en pour nous impregner de cette instructive lecture… Lire la suite …

Navigation Mac a 10 ans !

5-ansLancé à la même époque que l’iPhone 3GS et l’application iNavX, et quelques mois avant le premier iPad, ce blog accompagne depuis 10 ans la croissance continue des appareils mobiles utilisés en navigation maritime.

A travers plus de 350 articles, j’ai tenté de guider les utilisateurs tout au long de l’évolution des matériels et des applications de navigation dédiés aux mobiles Apple. Lire la suite …

Cyclone Harvey, quel impact du changement climatique ?

En pleine actualité politique sur le changement climatique mondial, le terrible cyclone Harvey interroge certains scientifiques sur le lien entre le réchauffement dû aux activités humaines et les évènements météorologiques intenses qui se multiplient depuis quelques années.

Source : National Weather Service

Michael E. Mann, professeur émérite en science atmosphérique à l’Université d’État de Pennsylvanie, directeur du Penn State Earth System Science Center et auteur de trois livres, dont The Hockey Stick et The Climate Wars, Dire Predictions, et The Madhouse Effect, développe un long commentaire dans theguardian.com (¹) sur ce sujet, librement traduit par mes soins.

Lire la suite …

Les fichiers GRIB de Météo France enfin libres

Un an après mon plaidoyer pour des données européennes libres (¹) Météo France propose enfin un accès libre à ses deux célèbres modèles de prévision ARPEGE et AROME. Une évolution bienvenue, amorcée en 2014 par le succès du projet MyOcean, intégré depuis lors à Mercator Ocean (²), mais un changement notoire d’attitude pour un établissement public auquel on a toujours demandé d’auto-financer une partie importante de son budget. Les prévisions de ces deux modèles sont mises à disposition sur le portail de Météo-France au format GRIB version 2 depuis le 21 juillet 2015.

Lire la suite …

Les fabricants d’électronique de marine et le phénomène tablette

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture du Nautic de Paris où, je le rappelle, je serai présent sur le stand iTabNav (Hall 2.1 – D31), un tour d’horizon s’impose. Et justement, dans notre horizon immédiat nous aurons, comme chaque année, la proximité des fabricants d’électronique de marine et de leurs représentants.

Lors de la précédente édition du salon nautique, j’avais pu constater la frilosité – pour ne pas dire l’hostilité – des fabricants à l’égard du phénomène croissant des tablettes et autres smartphones sur le marché de la navigation. A force de promouvoir ces appareils et leurs applications, je ne me suis probablement pas fait que des amis dans ce milieu. Cependant, la forte pression des acheteurs de bateaux, et donc d’électronique de navigation, a contraint lesdits fabricants à intégrer un minimum d’interactivité entre leur propre matériel et les appareils mobiles possédés désormais par une majorité de navigateurs.

Ce qui m’incite à faire un rapide point sur l’état des applications fournies et l’avancée des fonctions proposées.

Lire la suite …

“Naviguer avec une tablette numérique” version iBook

Le Cahier Technique Naviguer avec une tablette numérique, publié dans les hors-série de Voiles et Voiliers, est désormais disponible sur Apple iTunes iBookStore.

« Révolution dans la navigation. Simples, rapides, tactiles, autonomes, les tablettes numériques ne manquent pas de qualité ! Avec elles, la navigation à la table à cartes fait son entrée dans le monde du numérique. Leur univers dépasse la simple cartographie pour s’ouvrir à la météo, au routage, aux marées…

Ce cahier technique de Voiles et Voiliers trace un panorama des applications disponibles, examine les différentes utilisations maritimes des tablettes et décrit les conditions de leur utilisation optimale. »

A lire sur iPad/iPhone ou sur Mac (OS X 10.9) avec l’application Apple iBooks.