Electronic charts and updates… be prudent !

Over the last few years, I have expressed myself several times on the quality and reliability levels of the electronic charts we use in yachting., more particularly with the navigation applications of our mobile devices (¹).

From the oldest article in 2013, it appears seven years later that nothing has really changed. On the occasion of a search for a landing in Galicia, I discovered that some editors still haven't updated changes that are almost five years old, like the port of La Coruña yet so busy. I can always be told that the examples I will cite on the West Atlantic coast do not affect safety in any way., but that gives reason to wonder about the rest of the coast. It should be remembered that SHOM took nearly a year to update on its raster charts the extension of the port of Minimes in La Rochelle, when the German cartographer NV Verlag had for a long time perfectly represented it on the NV Charts (²).

I went to La Coruña for the last time at the end of May 2016. The large pontoon which serves the catways to the south-east was already connected to the land. Today, visible on BING satellite view, three editors on 4 selected among the main, still have not updated their chart ! See the slideshow :

Even the Spanish ENC chart recently available in the Geogarage catalog is not corrected, only Navionics performed the update..

Going much further north, let's see Saint-Peter's Port in Guernsey, very popular for all North European boaters. The visitors pontoons, once detached from the land, have been for several years now connected by a pontoon allowing land access, without waiting for a place in one of the generally overcrowded marinas. Here, only the Imray chart is up to date, and partially the satellite view. The most recent satellite image in Google Earth shows the current layout. See the slideshow :

Here, we may be too far from Italy for Navionics to come and check the place, but the British Admiralty, still !

I return to La Coruña with another example which, itself, directly concerns safety. The opening of this deep bay is blocked by a long bank of rock shoals that can create breakers in strong winds from north to west. Below, only the SHOM map presents explicit information making it possible to warn the navigator who does not know the surroundings. See the slideshow :

The repeated annotations "Breakers in heavy seas" and the west and north alignments clearly indicated and annotated make it possible to ward off these dangers., otherwise harmless in good weather or inshore winds. This information is missing on the other charts, this, in turn, has a direct impact on boater security.

I don't really have time to travel the entire coastline to find other examples, but they are certainly quite numerous. All this confirms to me that we must remain very careful about the use of our electronic charts, and that it is not useless to complete them with regularly updated guides, or at least crosscheck the information with different charts.

If you have examples in your sailing regions, do not hesitate to share it.

–––
(¹) See tickets :
– Raster charts... the come back
– Electronic charts : scales and overscale
– Charting compared, mixed results
(²) NV Chart extends coasts of France from SHOM
–––

 

mail

7 Replies to “Electronic maps and updates… be prudent !”

  1. On the SHOM map of Arcachon basin on paper or digitized, the reception and fuel pontoon of the Arcachon marina is poorly positioned; it is now further west. GoogleEarth makes the same mistake but Bing – whose image dates from 2019 – position it correctly.
    Otherwise, even if the access channel to the northern pass varies frequently depending on the storms, I am surprised that SHOM persists in not mentioning the location of the beacon buoys. I pity the boater wishing to enter the basin when he had not programmed it and having to channel on sight without map aid…

  2. Hello,
    Thank you Francis for bringing our attention to this specific topic.. The solution lies in the use of multiple map sources, including up-to-date paper maps.
    However, requests for map updates by browsers are possible for SHOM maps via the data.shom.fr website. Requests are analyzed and then made according to their relevance . Then these updates will not be visible, on SHOM raster maps, only in the latest version ( 2 yearly) . Some requests come true after several years, the troops decrease sharply.
    SHOM no longer carries out measurement campaigns in our coastal navigation areas, especially not on the foreshore. SHOM focuses on the shipping lines of large vessels subject to SOLAS rules , more than 120m long, as well as the deep sea with exploitable resources: oil etc …

    For Navionics, just send an email to help@Navionics.com in your native language. You must provide the version of your application and those of your cards, by adding screenshots of Navionics charts (use the webapp.navionics.com website to make sure you have the latest updates) and SHOM (use data.shom.fr) . Give the exact location of the problem. Be as courteous as possible. A study will be carried out, the updates selected will be available immediately, provided you have an up-to-date license.

    On the data.shom.fr site you can view the current requests according to their type:
    -Depth
    -Wrecks and Obstruction
    -Coastline
    -Cables and pipes
    -Toponyms
    -Buoys, Tags
    -Restricted area
    -Background nature
    -Lights and fog signals
    You will find the description of the problem provided by the author, dates and status. Each status has its color code.

    The new marinas "forget" to send their new basins and organization of pontoons, as well as the new probe lines. Each rejecting the responsibility of carrying out the measurements.
    What will happen to the future wind farms, which will soon make the complete tour of our coasts?? Updates will be made as the work progresses or only at the end of the operation start-up? Who will define the exclusion zones, the manager, the maritime prefect, la DDTM, ..? Who will send this information to SHOM? Normally it is the prefect by decree. With us it's complicated!

    For "Cart-tanneur"
    I would be interested in having the location coordinates of these pebbles in the north cove of Stornoway, I can't find a difference today between Navionics and UKHO charts

    For the Bass with dogs north of St Malo, it is advisable when heading towards St Malo to leave them to starboard, in the west using the alignment at 222 degrees towards the tip of the Varde which runs alongside the cardinal east buoy of Rochefort. If you go around to the north, you have to take a long turn and go far beyond the cardinal West Rochefort "beacon" which is located on the last usable pebbles of this plateau.. A West cardinal buoy anchored in the bottom 12m west of the pebbles has never been installed.

    Our electronic cards will only evolve with our participation. At your keyboard and mouse!

  3. Hi Francis!
    This is a real important thread. I think with all the updates and „latest edition“ of electronic charts the navigator is made to believe that he really got the latest and up to date chart from the chart manufacturers. Do you remember: last year the charts from Netherland Hydrographic Institute (NLHO) sold through Geogarage were outdated because the NLHO only updates the electronic chart with every new reprint of their paper chart set.
    This year I bought the „latest chart“ from C-map through a Furuno account covering the Baltic Sea. While NV-Charts updated in May about a large new wind park at Kriegers Flak (sailing prohibited in this area) this C-Map chart still doesn’t show any restrictions!
    So this C-Map charts are not any better than old paper charts.
    Looks, Jochen

  4. Patrice says:
    Sailing with a captain in Scotland in the Hebrides, we were exiting Stornoway and heading to the northern point of Lewis with the intention of descending via the west coast of Lewis. Evil took us, once we reached this close upwind coast in the swell we encountered a current much higher than that indicated on the maps, so turn around and return to Stornoway. Not having the intention of being laughed at by the very nice Captain Harbor, we made the decision to anchor in the north cove of Stornoway. In the engine mooring phase with Navionics on my iPad I was heading quietly through the middle of the bay, when the captain downstairs tells me "but where are you going? You have a pebble right in front of you ”. No stone on Navionics, but my pollster indicated a sudden rise in funds ! The captain was controlling my navigation on Maxsea with C-MAP charts, luckily for us. I sent screenshots to Navionics without ever getting a response. Because indeed there was a superb rock almost flush.
    While sailing on the Belle Angèle, old rig which was unfortunately destroyed at the entrance to Aber Wrac’h, we were coming back from Cancale bay, after having passed the Pointe du Grouin, les Tintiaux from the north before starting to dive to return to St Malo, we went north of the Basse aux Chiens. there are two tags, an East and a West on the navionics map, past the West for at least a quarter of a mile, I can still see very significant eddies on the surface while my GPS position allowed me to shoot down. Arnaud the skipper when questioned told me yes, goes even further, the board overflows much more than on the map. Not to mention that normally the danger should be between the two beacons !
    By a tide of medium water we skirted the casquets to spin on Ste Anne (in the Channel Islands), sur Maxsea (MTZ version 2 well up to date) the currents did not exceed three knots, as we were spinning to 6 surface knots, and we saw the stones recede, luckily the reversal was not too far !
    During the first nautical charts, a French admiral said “nautical charts will make our navigators lose their seaworthiness.. »Then the electronic maps ???

    1. A big thank you for this informative feedback. About Navionics, this is the page for making an error report. Usually they check. But let's not dream, regions little frequented by yachting are more neglected than elsewhere. The ongoing, the prediction models in GRIB format such as the MyOcean NWS provided by Weather4D are very precise.
      About the Basse Rochefort :

      The SHOM map shows that the west turret of the Basse Rochefort must be prepared at a good distance, or better take the alignment east of Basse aux Chiens. The Navionics chart is less precise in its graphics but sufficient to ward off dangers :

Comments are closed.

Cartes électroniques et mises à jour… prudence !

Depuis quelques années je me suis exprimé à plusieurs reprises sur les niveaux de qualité et de fiabilité des cartes électroniques que nous utilisons en plaisance, plus particulièrement avec les applications de navigation de nos appareils mobiles (¹).

Depuis le plus ancien article en 2013, il apparaît sept ans plus tard que rien n’a franchement évolué. A l’occasion d’une recherche d’atterrissage en Galice, je découvre que certains éditeurs n’ont toujours pas mis à jour des modifications pourtant vieilles de bientôt cinq ans, comme le port de La Corogne pourtant tellement fréquenté. On pourra toujours me rétorquer que les exemples que je vais citer sur la côte Ouest Atlantique n’affectent en rien la sécurité, mais cela donne de quoi s’interroger sur le reste du littoral. Il faut se rappeler que le SHOM a mis près d’un an à mettre à jour sur ses cartes raster l’extension du port des Minimes à La Rochelle, quand le cartographe germanique NV Verlag l’avait depuis longtemps parfaitement représentée sur les NV Charts (²).

 

Je suis passé à La Corogne pour la dernière fois fin mai 2016. Le grand ponton qui dessert les catways du sud-est était déjà relié à la terre. Aujourd’hui, visible sur la vue satellite BING, trois éditeurs sur 4 sélectionnés parmi les principaux, n’ont toujours pas mis leur carte à jour ! Voir le diaporama :

Même la carte ENC espagnole récemment disponible dans le catalogue Geogarage n’est pas corrigée, seul Navionics a effectué la mise à jour..

En remontant bien plus au Nord, voyons le port de Saint-Pierre à Guernesey, très fréquenté par tous les plaisanciers d’Europe du nord. Les pontons d’accueil, autrefois détachés de la terre, sont depuis plusieurs années désormais reliés par un ponton permettant le débarquement, sans attendre une place dans  une des marinas généralement surpeuplées. Ici, seule la carte Imray est à jour, et partiellement la vue satellite. La plus récente image satellite dans Google Earth montre la disposition actuelle. Voir le diaporama :

Ici, on est peut-être trop loin de l’Italie pour que Navionics soit venu vérifier les lieux, mais l’Amirauté Britannique, tout de même !

Je reviens à La Corogne avec un autre exemple qui, lui, concerne directement la sécurité. L’ouverture de cette profonde baie est barrée par un long banc de hauts-fonds de roches qui peuvent créer des brisants par forts vents du Nord à l’Ouest. Ci-dessous, seule la carte du SHOM présente une information explicite permettant d’avertir le navigateur ne connaissant pas les parages. Voir le diaporama :

Les annotations répétées « Brise par grosse mer » et les alignements ouest et nord clairement indiqués et annotés permettent de parer ces dangers, par ailleurs inoffensifs par beau temps ou vent de terre. Ces informations manquent sur les autres cartes, ce qui, pour le coup, a une incidence directe sur la sécurité du navigateur.

Je n’ai pas vraiment le temps de parcourir tout le littoral pour trouver d’autres exemples, mais ils sont certainement assez nombreux. Tout cela me confirme qu’il faut rester très circonspect quant à l’usage de nos cartes électroniques, et qu’il n’est pas inutile de les compléter avec des guides régulièrement renouvelés, ou tout au moins recouper l’information avec des cartographies différentes.

Si vous avez des exemples dans vos contrées de navigation, n’hésitez pas à en faire part.

–––
(¹) Voir les billets :
– Cartographie Raster… le grand retour
– Cartographie électronique : échelles et overscale
– Cartographies comparées, un bilan mitigé
(²) NV Chart étend les côtes de France issues du SHOM
–––

 

Facebooktwittermail

7 Replies to “Cartes électroniques et mises à jour… prudence !”

  1. Sur la carte du SHOM du bassin d’Arcachon papier ou numérisée, le ponton d’accueil et de carburant du port de plaisance d’Arcachon est mal positionné; il est désormais plus ouest. GoogleEarth fait la même erreur mais Bing – dont l’image date de 2019 – le positionne correctement.
    Par ailleurs, même si le chenal d’accès de la passe Nord varie fréquemment en fonction des tempêtes, je m’étonne que le SHOM persiste à ne pas mentionner l’emplacement des bouées de balisage. Je plains le plaisancier souhaitant entrer dans le bassin alors qu’il ne l’avait pas programmé et devant chenaler à vue sans aide cartographique…

  2. Bonjour,
    Merci Francis d’éveiller notre attention sur ce sujet précis. La solution se trouve dans l’utilisation de plusieurs sources de cartes, dont les cartes papiers à jour.
    Toutefois, les demandes de mises à jour de cartes par les navigateurs sont possibles pour les cartes SHOM en passant par le site web data.shom.fr. Les demandes sont analysées puis effectuées en fonction de leur pertinence . Ensuite ces mises à jour ne seront visibles, sur les cartes raster du SHOM, que dans la dernière version ( 2 par an) . Certaines demandes se réalisent après plusieurs années, les troupes diminuent fortement.
    Le SHOM n’effectue plus de campagne de mesures dans nos zones de navigation côtières, surtout pas sur l’estrans. Le SHOM se concentre sur les lignes de navigation des gros navires assujettis aux règles SOLAS , plus de 120m de long, ainsi qu’aux grands fonds disposant de ressources exploitables: pétrole etc …

    Pour Navionics il suffit d’envoyer un mail à help@navionics.com dans votre langue natale. Il faut fournir la version de votre application et celles de vos cartes, en ajoutant des copies d’écrans des cartes Navionics (utilisez le site web webapp.navionics.com pour être certain de disposer des dernières mises à jour) et du SHOM (utilisez data.shom.fr) . Donnez la localisation exacte du problème. Soyez le plus courtois possible. Une étude sera réalisée, les mises à jour retenues seront disponibles de suite, à condition de disposer d’une licence à jour.

    Sur le site data.shom.fr vous pouvez visualiser les demandes en cours en fonction de leur type:
    -Profondeur
    -Epaves et Obstruction
    -Trait de côte
    -Câbles et conduites
    -Toponymes
    -Bouées, Balises
    -Zone réglementées
    -Nature de fond
    -Feux et signaux de brume
    Vous trouverez la description du problème fourni par l’auteur, les dates et le statut. Chaque statut a son code couleur.

    Les nouveaux ports de plaisance « oublient » d’envoyer leur nouveaux bassins et organisation des pontons, ainsi que les nouvelles lignes de sonde. Chacun se rejetant la responsabilité d’effectuer les mesures.
    Qu’en sera t il pour les futurs parcs Eoliens qui bientôt feront le tour complet de nos côtes? Les mises à jour seront elles faites au fur et à mesure des travaux ou seulement à la fin au démarrage de l’exploitation? Qui définira les zones d’exclusions, le gestionnaire, le préfet maritime, la DDTM, ..? Qui enverra ces information au SHOM? Normalement c’est le préfet par un arrêté. Chez nous c’est compliqué!

    Pour “Cart-tanneur ”
    Je serais intéressé à disposer les coordonnées de localisation de ces cailloux dans l’anse nord de Stornoway, je ne trouve pas de différence ce jour entre les cartes Navionics et UKHO

    Pour la Basse aux chiens au nord de St Malo, il est conseillé en se dirigeant vers St Malo de les laisser à tribord, dans l’ouest en utilisant l’alignement à 222 degrés vers la pointe de la Varde qui longe la bouée cardinale Est de Rochefort. Si on contourne par le Nord il faut faire un grand tour et dépasser largement la “balise” cardinale West Rochefort qui est implanté sur le dernier cailloux utilisable de ce plateau. Une bouée cardinale West ancrée dans les fonds de 12m à l’Ouest des cailloux n’a jamais été installée.

    Nos cartes électroniques n’évolueront qu’avec notre participation. A vos clavier et souris!

  3. Hi Francis!
    This is a real important thread. I think with all the updates and „latest edition“ of electronic charts the navigator is made to believe that he really got the latest and up to date chart from the chart manufacturers. Do you remember: last year the charts from Netherland Hydrographic Institute (NLHO) sold through Geogarage were outdated because the NLHO only updates the electronic chart with every new reprint of their paper chart set.
    This year I bought the „latest chart“ from C-map through a Furuno account covering the Baltic Sea. While NV-Charts updated in May about a large new wind park at Kriegers Flak (sailing prohibited in this area) this C-Map chart still doesn’t show any restrictions!
    So this C-Map charts are not any better than old paper charts.
    Regards, Jochen

  4. Patrice dit:
    Naviguant avec un chef de bord en Ecosse dans les Hébrides, nous sortions de Stornoway pour se diriger sur la pointe nord de Lewis avec l’intention de redescendre par la côte ouest de Lewis. Mal nous en a pris, une fois rendu sur cette côte au près serré dans la houle nous nous sommes heurtés à un courant bien supérieur à celui indiqué sur les cartes, donc demi-tour et retour à Stornoway. N’ayant pas l’intention d’être moqué par le Captain Harbour fort sympa, nous avons pris la décision de mouiller dans l’anse nord de Stornoway. En phase de mouillage au moteur avec Navionics sur mon iPad je me dirigeais tranquillement par le milieu de la baie, lorsque le chef de bord en bas me dit “mais ou tu vas? Tu as un caillou juste en face de toi”. Pas de caillou sur Navionics, mais mon sondeur indiquait bien une remontée brutale des fonds ! Le chef de bord contrôlait ma navigation sur Maxsea avec des cartes C-MAP heureusement pour nous. J’ai adressé des copies d’écran à Navionics sans jamais avoir de réponse. Car effectivement il y avait un superbe rocher presque affleurant.
    En naviguant sur la Belle Angèle, vieux grément qui a été malheureusement détruit à l’entrée de l’Aber Wrac’h, nous revenions de la baie de Cancale, après avoir passé la pointe du Grouin, les Tintiaux par le nord avant de commencer à plonger pour rentrer sur St Malo, on passait au nord de la Basse aux Chiens. il y a deux balises, une Est et une Ouest sur la carto de navionics, passée la Ouest d’au moins un quart de mille je vois encore à la surface des remous bien significatifs alors que ma position GPS me permettait d’abattre. Arnaud le chef de bord interrogé me dit oui va encore plus loin, le plateau déborde bien plus que sur la carte. Sans compter que normalement le danger devrait être compris entre les deux balises !
    Par une marée de moyennes eaux on longeait les casquets pour filer sur Ste Anne (dans les Anglo-normandes), sur Maxsea (MTZ version 2 bien à jour) les courants ne dépassaient pas les trois noeuds, alors que nous filions à 6 noeuds en surface, et on voyait les cailloux reculer, heureusement la renverse n’était pas trop loin !
    Lors des premières cartes marines un amiral francais disait “les cartes marines vont faire perdre le sens marin à nos navigateurs.” Alors les cartos électroniques ???

    1. Un grand merci pour ces retours d’expérience instructifs. Concernant Navionics, voici la page permettant de faire un rapport d’erreur. Généralement ils vérifient. Mais ne rêvons pas, les contrées peu fréquentées par la plaisance sont plus négligées qu’ailleurs. Concernant les courants, les modèles de prédiction au format GRIB comme le MyOcean NWS fourni par Weather4D sont d’une grande précision.
      Concernant la Basse Rochefort :

      La carte SHOM montre qu’il faut bien parer la tourelle Ouest de la Basse Rochefort à bonne distance, ou mieux prendre l’alignement à l’Est de la Basse aux Chiens. La carte Navionics est moins précise dans son graphisme mais suffisante pour parer les dangers :

  5. Comme d’hab bonne infos .on se demande pourquoi ces mecs sont payés ..
    Merci Francis

Les commentaires sont fermés.