The accuracy of GPS [brief summer]

I'm always being asked - and have been for ages - how much confidence we can put in the GPS on our tablets and smartphones. At the risk of repeating myself, I persist in asserting that our mobile devices are provided with the most accurate GPS receivers that can be found in civilian use, especially for pleasure boating.

The reason is simple. GPS receiver modules built into our wonderful little mobile gadgets, ultra miniaturized, are made by tens of millions of copies for the leaders of the mobile "smart things" : Apple, Samsung, Sony, etc.  While the receivers fitted to marine instruments designed by Garmin, Furuno, Raymarine and some others, are not sold, for the best, only a few tens of thousands units each year. And as everyone in this world knows, in economics the price of things is inversely proportional to the volume. Tablet and smartphone manufacturers can therefore get the best products at the lowest costs., and even the relatively low margin rates are more than offset by the sales volume. While our marine electronics guys have to buy more expensive, and compensate for the low level of sales by higher margins - and therefore sales rates -. The equation is easy to understand !

What impact on the accuracy of devices ?

In reality : very weak ! Below I have compared, a few days ago, the position given on board my boat parked at the pontoon by three devices :

  • Furuno GP32, external antenna, end of production 2003
  • MLR SP24 portable, integrated antenna, end of production 2000 (company liquidated on June 28 June 2001)
  • iPhone 8 integrated antenna, end of production 2020

Once stabilized after about ten minutes of waiting, here are the results :

To the hundredth of a minute, the position in latitude / longitude is identical, either on a scale of 18-20 meters. The MLR SP24 does not give thousandths of a minute, we can not compare it more finely.

To the thousandth of minute, the iPhone gives a position in latitude of 0,002 mn further south than GP32, so 3.70 meters, and in longitude 0,003 mn further west, i.e. 3.64 meters at Lat 49°N (¹). Which gives us a gap of only 5 meters in the SW. Which of the two is right, I let you choose. However, the gap seems negligible to me, because I'd be very unwise to be shaving rocks with a GPS within 5 meters of the hazards (²) !

–––
(¹) After a refreshing dive into calculating distances in longitude and the Pythagorean theorem
(²) ENCs, Routing and sailing shaves stone
–––

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

4 Replies to “The accuracy of GPS [brief summer]”

  1. GPS gives good information on position and speed : ground speed that Air France pilots ignored during the crash in the South Atlantic . On the other hand, general public GPS are doubtful when at altitude

  2. GPS accuracy is one thing, that of the cards date of their last statement.

    Most of our maps were raised before the existence of GPS, by triangulation methods. This there have been corrections, adaptations and other adjustments. But still be more or less 5m, it's a half boat length for most of us.

    And to add to the confusion, let's not forget the geodesic reference grid. The one on our map is not necessarily the same as the American WGS84 grid which serves as a reference for the GPS. Have you ever wondered what is the benchmark grid of the Chinese Beidou or Russian GLONASS or European Galileo system?? Today the receivers in our latest iPhones use at least 3 of these systems in parallel… To increase the precision they say.

    1. All IHO member hydro services have adopted the WGS84 coordinate system. GPS operators also for civilian frequencies which are common to GNSS, including Beidou.

  3. Thank you Francis
    new consumer GPS chips will hit the market in new smartphones, on Android for now. The precision will be better and above all more stable and less sensitive to environmental noise between the satellites and our equipment.
    For example the series 8 from u-Bloc
    I expect one for the end of September with a GNSS NEO-M8N chip, which thanks to the large distribution has this one for less than 10 € (manufacturer price).
    I will give you the result of my tests.

Comments are closed.

La précision des GPS [brève de l’été]

On me demande toujours – et ce depuis des lustres – quelle confiance accorder aux GPS de nos tablettes et smartphones. Au risque probablement de me répéter, je persiste à affirmer que nos appareils mobiles sont dotés des récepteurs GPS les plus précis qu’on puisse trouver en usage civil, particulièrement pour la navigation de plaisance.

 

La raison en est simple. Les modules de réception GPS intégrés dans nos merveilleux petits gadgets mobiles, ultra miniaturisés, sont fabriqués par dizaines de millions d’exemplaires pour les cadors de la « smartophonie » mobile : Apple, Samsung, Sony, etc.  Alors que les récepteurs équipant les instruments de marine conçus par les Garmin, Furuno, Raymarine et quelques autres, ne sont vendus, au mieux, qu’à quelques dizaines de milliers d’unités chaque année. Et comme chacun le sait en ce bas monde, en économie le prix des choses est inversement proportionnel au volume. Les fabricants de tablettes et smartphones peuvent donc obtenir les meilleurs produits aux coûts les plus bas, et même les taux de marge relativement peu élevés sont largement compensés par le volume des ventes. Tandis que nos électroniciens de marine doivent acheter plus cher, et compenser le faible niveau de vente par des marges – et donc des tarifs de vente – plus élevés. L’équation est facile à comprendre !

Quelle incidence sur la précision des appareils ?

En réalité : très faible ! Ci-dessous j’ai comparé, il y a quelques jours, la position donnée à bord de mon bateau stationné au ponton par trois appareils :

  • Furuno GP32, antenne externe, fin de fabrication 2003
  • MLR SP24 portable, antenne intégrée,  fin de fabrication 2000 (société liquidée le 28 juin 2001)
  • iPhone 8 antenne intégrée, fin de fabrication 2020

Une fois stabilisés après une dizaine de minutes d’attente, en voici les résultats :

Au centième de minute, la position en latitude/longitude est identique, soit à une échelle de 18-20 mètres. Le MLR SP24 ne donnant pas les millièmes de minute, on ne peut le comparer plus finement.

Au millième de minute, l’iPhone donne une position en latitude de 0,002 mn plus sud que le GP32, soit 3m70, et  en longitude 0,003 mn plus à l’ouest, soit 3m64 à la Lat 49°N (¹). Ce qui nous donne entre les deux un écart de seulement 5 mètres dans le SW. Lequel des deux à raison, je vous laisse choisir. L’écart me semble cependant négligeable, car je serais bien imprudent de faire du rase-cailloux au GPS à 5 mètres des dangers (²) !

–––
(¹) Après une plongée rafraîchisante dans le calcul des distances en longitude et le théorème de Pythagore
(²) Cartes électroniques, routage et rase-cailloux
–––

Facebooktwittermail

4 Replies to “La précision des GPS [brève de l’été]”

  1. Le GPS donne de bonnes informations en position et en vitesse : vitesse sol que les pilotes d’air France ont ignoré lors du crash en Atlantique sud . Par contre les GPS grand public sont douteux quand à l’altitude

  2. La précision GPS est une chose, celle des cartes date de leur dernier relevé.

    La plupart de nos cartes ont été levées avant l’existence des GPS, par des méthodes de triangulation. Cette il y a eu des corrections, des adaptations et d’autres ajustement. Mais quand même être à plus ou moins 5m, c’est une demi longueur de bateau pour la plupart d’entre nous.

    Et pour rajouter à la confusion, n’oublions pas la grille géodésique de référence. Celle de notre carte n’est pas forcément la même que la grille américaine WGS84 qui sert de référence au GPS. Vous êtes vous déjà demandé quelle est la grille de référence du système Beidou chinois ou GLONASS russe ou Galileo Européen? Aujourd’hui les récepteurs dans nos derniers iPhones utilisent au moins 3 de ces systèmes en parallèle… Pour augmenter la précision qu’ils disent.

    1. Tous les services hydro adhérents à l’IHO ont adopté le système de coordonnées WGS84. Les opérateurs GPS également pour les fréquences civiles qui sont communes aux GNSS, y compris Beidou.

  3. Merci Francis
    de nouvelles puces GPS grand public vont arriver à la vente dans de nouveau smartphones, sous Android pour l’instant. La précision sera meilleure et surtout plus stable et moins sensible aux bruits de l’environnement entre les satellites et nos équipements.
    Par exemple la série 8 de chez u-Bloc
    J’en attend une pour fin septembre disposant d’une puce GNSS NEO-M8N, qui grâce à la grande diffusion dispose de celle ci à moins de 10€ (prix constructeur).
    Je te donnerais le résultat de mes tests.

Les commentaires sont fermés.