Reading : "Clouds and other meteors" Météo-France

In an article updated in August 2020 (¹), I have described nautical books in digital format that can be usefully saved on iPad in the Apple Books app. Among them I mentioned the works of Météo-France available in PDF format for free download from their documentary portal.

In the “Courses and Manual” section of this site, we can download a new book, published 2020, entitled "Meteorological Observations and Measurements – Tome 1 / Clouds and other meteors ", a veritable mine of information on clouds, and all associated meteorological phenomena, called "meteors" (²).

 

The first part, who counts 150 pages, is devoted to clouds. Definition, classification, description and observation of several dozen, even hundreds of clouds counting the varieties, illustrated by so many pictures, some of which could be artist's paintings.

We are told that, to identify clouds, we have to determine the gender, the species, the varieties, particularities, side clouds, the cloud-origin and possibly the meteors associated with it. We learn the official cloud coding, descriptive names and symbols, and many other subtleties.

Cumulonimbus bald cap film

The second part is devoted to the different categories ofhydrometeors.

We first discover the mechanisms of precipitation formation : rain,  brown, snow, grésil, hail ... Then we describe hydrometeors consisting of a suspension of particles : fog - there are more than six different kinds of  fog - and haze. Those consisting of a set of particles lifted by the wind such as spray for example, and even those consisting of a deposit of particles : dew, hoar frost, frosted, ice.

Then come the electrometeors : thunder, lightning, lightning, St. Elmo's fire, are explained and described in simple and accessible scientific language, always illustrated by superb photographs. 

Lightning line

The last parts are successively devoted to lithometeors which are solid particles suspended in the air or raised by the wind, to photométéores which are optical phenomena such as halo, parhelion, arc, solar corona, etc. It describes the "Glory", the Rainbow, the polar aurora, and other more or less common light phenomena such as mirages, the green ray, and many more.

Solar corona

This work of nearly 300 pages,  intended primarily for students of the National School of Meteorology of Météo-France (ENM), is an exciting and entertaining sum, as useful for deepening weather knowledge as it is fun, like star and planet recognition applications. Absolutely downloadable on your iPad in the Books app.

- What do you like, extraordinary foreigner ?
- I like clouds… the passing clouds… over there.. over there… the wonderful clouds ! (³)

–––
(¹) Nautical documents on electronic media [Update]
(²Meteor : in geophysics, phenomenon perceptible in the atmosphere or on the surface of the globe, which may consist of an aqueous manifestation, sparkling, electrical or optical.
(³) Charles Baudelaire – The Stranger
–––

mail

One Reply to “Lecture : "Clouds and other meteors" Météo-France”

Comments are closed.

Lecture : « Nuages et autres météores » Météo-France

Dans un article mis à jour en août 2020 (¹), j’ai décrit les ouvrages nautiques au format numérique pouvant être utilement enregistrés sur iPad dans l’application Apple Livres. Parmi eux j’ai évoqué les ouvrages de Météo-France disponibles au format PDF en téléchargement libre depuis leur portail documentaire.

Dans la section « Cours et Manuel » de ce site, on peut télécharger un nouvel ouvrage, publié en 2020, intitulé « Observations et Mesures Météorologiques – Tome 1 / Nuages et autres météores », une véritable mine d’informations sur les nuages, et tous les phénomènes météorologiques associés, qu’on appelle « météores » (²).

 

La première partie, qui compte 150 pages, est consacrée aux nuages. Définition, classification, description et observation de plusieurs dizaines, voire centaines de nuages en comptant les variétés, illustrés par autant de clichés dont certains pourraient être des tableaux d’artiste.

On nous explique que, pour identifier les nuages, on doit déterminer le genre, l’espèce, les variétés, les particularités, les nuages annexes, le nuage-origine et éventuellement les météores qui y sont associés. On apprend le codage officiel des nuages, les noms et les symboles descriptifs, et bien d’autres subtilités.

Cumulonimbus calvus pileus velum

La seconde partie est consacrée aux différentes catégories des hydrométéores.

On y découvre d’abord les mécanismes de formation des précipitations : pluie,  bruine, neige, grésil, grêle… On y décrit ensuite les hydrométéores consistant en une suspension de particules : le brouillard – il existe plus de six différentes sortes de  brouillard – et la brume. Ceux consistant en un ensemble de particules soulevées par le vent comme les embruns par exemple, et même ceux consistant en un dépôt de particules : rosée, gelée blanche, givre, verglas.

Viennent ensuite les électrométéores : tonnerre, éclairs, foudre, feu de Saint-Elme, sont expliqués et décrits dans un langage scientifique simple et accessible, toujours illustrés par de superbes photographies. 

Éclair en trait

Les dernières parties sont consacrées successivement aux lithométéores qui sont les particules solides en suspension dans l’air ou soulevées par le vent, aux photométéores qui sont des phénomènes optiques tels que halo, parhélie, arc, couronne solaire, etc. On y décrit la « Gloire », l’Arc-en-ciel, les aurores polaires, et d’autres phénomènes lumineux plus ou moins courants comme les mirages, le rayon vert, et bien d’autres encore.

Couronne solaire

Cet ouvrage de près de 300 pages,  destiné en premier lieu aux élèves de l’École Nationale de la Météorologie de Météo-France (ENM), est une somme passionnante et distrayante, autant utile pour l’approfondissement des connaissances météo que ludique, à l’instar des applications de reconnaissance des étoiles et planètes. A télécharger absolument sur votre iPad dans l’application Livres.

– Qu’aimes-tu donc, extraordinaire étranger ?
– J’aime les nuages… les nuages qui passent… là-bas.. là-bas… les merveilleux nuages ! (³)

–––
(¹) Les documents nautiques sur support électronique [MAJ]
(²Météore : en géophysique, phénomène perceptible dans l’atmosphère ou à la surface du globe pouvant consister en une manifestation aqueuse, gazeuse, électrique ou optique.
(³) Charles Baudelaire – L’Etranger
–––

mail

One Reply to “Lecture : « Nuages et autres météores » Météo-France”

  1. Merci beaucoup M.Fustier de vos bons tuyaux.
    Cordialement,
    Nicolas J.

Les commentaires sont fermés.