You said « Medicane » ?

Many sailors who cross the "Big Blue" have known for ages that, if the navigation is relatively easy, the weather represents a particularly difficult constraint to deal. Indeed, if the coasts are mostly clean and the dangers very localized, if the tides are almost insignificant, if the currents are to be considered only in well defined areas, the major difficulty comes from a capricious meteorology, difficult to forecast, which can represent a real danger by its changing moods, sudden, even rough.

Introduction

The Mediterranean is indeed a sea apart. Completely surrounded by an alternation of mountainous reliefs and desert plains, abrupt capes and long beaches, strewn with numerous islands of vast dimensions and with coasts most often steep, it is subject to the coastal effects of strong thermal breezes, katabatic winds, and by various local meteorological phenomena that combine with the general meteorological conditions linked to the movements and conflicts of the air masses that are sweeping over it. A real headache for meteorologists, and even more for the navigators since Ulysse and the Phoenician merchants !

Fortunately, meteorological science has progressed considerably, and high resolution models allow excellent medium term forecasts, i.e. maturity 3 to 4 days. This is quite adequate since we rarely spend more than 48 hours at sea to cross it from one coast to another. It may be useful to use model ARPEGE to 4 days by Météo-France which covers all the Mediterranean with a resolution of 6 NM. We will complement for the short distances with AROME to 36-42 hours and very high resolution (1,5 NM), covering the southern area of French coast down to the south of Sardinia and the Balearic Islands.

Modèle AROME Météo-France 0,025°

Meteo-France AROME weather model 0,025°

For the central and eastern region, from the Tyrrhenian Sea to Turkey, we can use the numerous WRF models offered by the web site OpenSkiron (¹) with resolutions ranging from 12 km to 4 km. Don't forget to stay tuned to local radio alerts concerning very localized phenomena.

Among these phenomena, there is one to which we have to pay particular attention, because extremely dangerous : the medicane.

Medicane

The term "medicane" is the contraction of "Mediterranean Hurricane ". Medicanes are subtropical low pressure areas that can form when the sea surface is strongly warmed in summer, causing storm winds and heavy rainfall (²). When the water temperature occasionally exceeds 25-26°C, it can develop significant convective energy at the base of a warm and humid air mass,  thus fueling a low pressure system with characteristics equivalent to tropical cyclones. An eye is sometimes visible and the weather phenomena they cause are particularly intense..

They are actually hybrid lows., driven by "tropical" type processes such as latent heat release by convection, and "extra-tropical" type such as horizontal thermal contrasts. Thus, we more accurately refer to "subtropical cyclones" because they are not hurricanes in the true sense of the word. 

Medicanes' genesis

(³) The most common criteria and initial states required for the formation of a tropical system are :

  • Underlying sea temperature above 25-26°C for a depth of at least 50 meters.
  • Unstable air mass = high CAPE ()
  • High humidity in the lower and mean levels of the atmosphere
  • Beginning of a preliminary disturbance in the low layers at sea level
  • Low wind shearing(change in force or direction) in altitude
  • Overlying cold air mass in the upper levels.

These initial conditions are often created by the arrival on the sea of an air mass heated by high temperatures on land, in certain favorable locations around the Mediterranean, and which, pushed out to sea by a combination of factors - orientation of pressure fields, synoptic wind, Coriolis force, in example – is filled with humidity on superheated water with strong evaporation. It is often observed from the flatlands of southeast Spain to the Balearic Islands, between Maghreb and Sardinia, or between Libya and Sicily or Greece. The risks are increased from mid-summer to early winter, when the sea becomes the warmest and remains so for a long time because of its great thermal inertia.

Increasingly frequent

Les medicanes majeurs les plus récents

The most recent major medicanes

Medicanes are not new phenomena. They have been observed episodically since the introduction of satellite measurements. Until 2015, one was counted every 2 to 5 years in average. but in recent years we have seen an increase in the frequency of medicanes from mid-summer to late fall, this confirms the increasing probability that this phenomenon will become recurrent with global warming, in the same way as the Mediterranean rainy episodes (cévenols episods). 

Medicane "Rolf" the 8 November 2011

Medicane «Rolf» le 8 November 2011

France has already experienced this phenomenon in the past. The last one came from 6 until 9 November 2011. « Rolf » particularly affected the Var and Alpes-Maritimes coasts. It falls 250 mm rain in less than 48 hours close to Bormes-les-Mimosas, whose 115 mm by only 12 hours. Wind gusts reached up to 85 knots in Saint-Raphaël and 83 knots in Hyères().

Medicane "Ianos" 17 September 2020

Medicane «Ianos» 17 September 2020

Recently, Greece was hit in the night of 18 until 19 September 2020  by the violent winds and heavy rains of the medicane "Ianos". These have caused flooding in the southern part of the country, from the Peloponnese to the center-east. The strongest winds averaged 60 knots with gusts locally stronger than 85 knots on the Ionian Islands and in particular the Kefalonia Islands, Leucade and Zante. This system also caused waves of over 5 meters offshore. In addition, torrential rains accompanied this episode of bad weather with 100 to 200 mm surveyed over large areas and locally up to 400 mm on the mountains foothills in central Greece and Peloponnese. The damage to the yachting industry was considerable.

How to forecast and anticipate

With weather models in GRIB format, it is essential to display the CAPE () to measure the level of the air mass instability. It is also necessary to display the isobars with a reduced spacing (2 mb) with a model such as AROME or WRF 4 km. We can thus better watch the emergence of a low-pressure system in deepening and follow the prediction of its evolution. Warning, the GFS model, even with resolution 0,25°, is not relevant enough to see such a phenomenon.. On the other hand, the German DWD's ICON EU model proved to be, for medicane Ianos, much more precise than the ARPEGE model, anticipating well before him the power and the real course of the storm. It is therefore appropriate, as the most careful boaters have done, to anticipate according to the most pessimistic model to take shelter.

–––
(¹) Open Skiron
(²) We also talk about T.M.S. (Tropical-like Mediterranean Storm).
(³) Source : Lionel peyraud 8/11/2011
() Source : Keraunos
() CAPE : read Predict thunderstorms with Weather4D
–––

mail

5 Replies to “You said“ Medicane ” ?”

  1. I believe that we are one of those boaters who decided to leave the island of Cephalonia within the hour (Vasiliki) after discovering the 15 September at 2 p.m. the development of the medicine Ianos on the ICON EU model while it had not yet appeared on the other models. The boaters friends near the pontoon whom we managed to convince to make the same decision were not disappointed with the advice.

    1. Jacques indeed, I just watched your video on this episode, uplifting ! We could find this maxim in Marin Breton : "Anticipation is the mother of wisdom, the sea rarely forgives negligence ”.

  2. We suffered "Ianos" in the port of Argostoli (Cephalonia) last september, right in the middle of the phenomenon since we saw the eye pass around 8 a.m. on 18/9. Our boat was wet in the middle of the harbor with 2 anchors and the whole chain (100m for a water height of 5m). One of the two chains broke but the anchorage resisted. Around us 8 or 9 boats sank in the harbor and in the marina.
    So it's very violent and dangerous but since depression is very small, it would have been easy to leave Argostoli as soon as the threat was visible on the weather, that is, the morning of 17, to shelter about fifty miles to the N or S.
    Ionos

  3. In 2019, a medicane also struck Greece and in particular the south of the Peloponnese !

    1. This is indeed the "Victoria" depression. 12 and 13 November 2019 which caused intense rainfall throughout the Peloponese, with winds reaching force 10 Bft. But the center passed over southern Italy up from Tunisia to Croatia.Storm

Comments are closed.

Vous avez dit « Medicane » ?

Les nombreux navigateurs qui sillonnent la « Grande Bleue » savent depuis des lustres que, si la navigation y est relativement facile, la météorologie représente une contrainte particulièrement difficile à appréhender. En effet, si les côtes sont majoritairement accores et les dangers très localisés, si les marées sont quasiment négligeables, si les courants ne sont à prendre en compte que dans des zones bien définies, la difficulté majeure vient d’une météorologie capricieuse, difficile à prévoir, pouvant représenter un réel danger par ses humeurs changeantes, soudaines, voire brutales.

Introduction

La Méditerranée est en effet une mer à part. Complètement cernée d’une alternance de reliefs montagneux et de plaines désertiques, de caps abrupts et de longues plages, parsemée de nombreuses îles aux vastes dimensions et aux côtes le plus souvent escarpées, elle subit les effets côtiers de fortes brises thermiques, de vents catabatiques, et de diverses phénomènes aérologiques locaux venant se combiner aux conditions météorologiques générales liées aux déplacements et conflits des masses d’air qui la balayent. Un vrai casse-tête pour les météorologues, et encore plus pour les navigateurs depuis Ulysse et les marchands Phéniciens !

Fort heureusement, la science météorologique a considérablement progressé, et des modèles à haute résolution permettent d’excellentes prévisions à moyen terme, c’est-à-dire à échéances de 3 à 4 jours. C’est parfaitement suffisant puisqu’on passe rarement plus de 48 heures en mer pour la traverser d’une côte à une autre. On pourra utilement utiliser le modèle ARPEGE à 4 jours de Météo-France qui couvre toute la Méditerranée avec une résolution de 6 milles nautiques. On complètera pour les courtes distances avec les modèles AROME à 36-42 heures et très haute résolution (1,5 MN), couvrant le bassin occidental de la France jusqu’au sud de la Sardaigne et des Baléares.

Modèle AROME Météo-France 0,025°

Modèle AROME Météo-France 0,025°

Pour la partie centrale et orientale, soit de la Mer Tyrrhénienne à la Turquie, on pourra utiliser les nombreux modèles WRF proposés par le site web OpenSkiron (¹) avec des résolutions allant de 12 km à 4 km. On n’oubliera pas de rester en veille à l’écoute des alertes radiophoniques locales concernant les phénomènes très localisés.

Parmi ces phénomènes, il en est un auquel on doit être particulièrement attentif, car extrêmement dangereux : le medicane.

Le medicane

Le terme « medicane » est la contraction de « Mediterranean Hurricane ». Les médicanes sont des dépressions subtropicales qui peuvent se former lorsque la mer en surface est fortement réchauffée en été, provoquant des vents de tempête et de fortes précipitations (²). Quand la température de l’eau dépasse ponctuellement les 25-26°C, celle-ci peut développer une énergie convective importante à la base d’une masse d’air chaude et humide,  alimentant ainsi un système dépressionnaire avec des caractéristiques équivalentes aux cyclones tropicaux. Un œil est parfois visible et les phénomènes météo qu’ils provoquent sont particulièrement violents.

Ce sont en réalité des dépressions hybrides, animées par des processus de type « tropical »  comme la libération de chaleur latente par la convection, et de type « extra-tropical » comme les contrastes thermiques horizontaux. De ce fait, on parle plus justement de « cyclones subtropicaux » car il ne s’agit pas d’ouragans au sens propre du terme. 

Genèse des medicanes

(³) Les critères et états initiaux le plus souvent nécessaires pour la formation d’un système tropical sont les suivants :

  • Température de la mer sous-jacente supérieure à 25-26°C sur une profondeur d’au moins 50 mètres.
  • Masse d’air instable = forte CAPE ()
  • Forte humidité dans les basses et moyennes couches de l’atmosphère
  • Début de perturbation préalable dans les basses couches au niveau de la mer
  • Faible cisaillement (changement de force ou direction) de vent avec l’altitude
  • Masse d’air froide sus-jacente dans les couches supérieures 

Ces conditions initiales naissent assez souvent par l’arrivée sur la mer d’une masse d’air réchauffée par de fortes températures sur la terre, dans certains lieux propices du pourtour méditerranéen, et qui, poussée en mer par une conjonction de facteurs – orientation des champs de pression, vent synoptique, force de Coriolis, par exemple – se charge d’humidité sur une eau surchauffée à forte évaporation. C’est souvent observé entre les plaines du sud-est de l’Espagne et les Baléares, entre le Maghreb et la Sardaigne, ou encore entre la Libye et la Sicile ou la Grèce. Les risques sont accrus à partir du milieu de l’été jusqu’au début de l’hiver, période où la mer devient la plus chaude et le reste longtemps à cause de sa grande inertie thermique.

De plus en plus fréquents

Les medicanes majeurs les plus récents

Les medicanes majeurs les plus récents

Les medicanes ne sont pas des phénomènes nouveaux. On en observe épisodiquement depuis que les mesures par satellite existent. Jusqu’en 2015, on en recensait un tous les 2 à 5 ans en moyenne. mais depuis ces dernières années on a pu observer une augmentation de la fréquence des medicanes du milieu de l’été jusqu’à la fin de l’automne, ce qui vient confirmer la probabilité de plus en plus forte que ce phénomène devienne récurrent avec le réchauffement climatique, à l’image des épisodes pluvieux méditerranéens (épisodes cévenols). 

Medicane "Rolf" le 8 novembre 2011

Medicane “Rolf” le 8 novembre 2011

La France a déjà connu ce phénomène par le passé. Le dernier date du 6 au 9 novembre 2011. « Rolf » a particulièrement touché le littoral du Var et des Alpes-Maritimes. Il est tombé 250 mm de pluie en moins de 48 heures vers Bormes-les-Mimosas, dont 115 mm en 12 heures seulement. Les rafales de vent ont atteint 85 noeuds à Saint-Raphaël et 83 noeuds à Hyères ().

Medicane "Ianos" 17 septembre 2020

Medicane “Ianos” 17 septembre 2020

Plus récemment, la Grèce a été frappée dans la nuit du 18 au 19 septembre 2020  par les vents violents et les fortes pluies du medicane « Ianos ». Ceux-ci ont provoqué des inondations sur la partie sud du pays, du Péloponnèse au  centre-est. Les vents les plus violents ont atteint en moyenne les 60 noeuds avec des rafales localement supérieures à 85 noeuds sur les îles Ioniennes et en particulier les îles Céphalonie, Leucade et Zante. Ce système a également provoqué des vagues de plus de 5 mètres au large. De plus, des pluies diluviennes ont accompagné cet épisode de mauvais temps avec de 100 à 200 mm relevés sur de vastes zones et localement jusqu’à 400 mm sur les contreforts des montagnes de la Grèce centrale et du Péloponnèse. Les dégâts pour la plaisance ont été considérables.

Comment prévoir et anticiper

Avec les modèles météo au format GRIB, il faut impérativement afficher la CAPE () pour mesurer le niveau d’instabilité de la masse d’air. Il faut également afficher les isobares avec un écartement réduit (2 hPa) avec un modèle comme AROME ou un WRF à 4 km. On peut ainsi mieux voir l’apparition d’un minimum dépressionnaire en cours de creusement et suivre la prédiction de son évolution. Attention, un modèle comme le GFS, même avec une résolution de 0,25°, n’est pas suffisamment pertinent pour voir ce type de phénomène. Par contre, le modèle ICON EU de la DWD allemande s’est révélé, pour le medicane Ianos, bien plus précis que le modèle ARPEGE, anticipant bien avant lui la puissance et le trajet réel de la tempête. Il convient donc, comme les plaisanciers les plus prudents l’ont fait, d’anticiper selon le modèle le plus pessimiste pour se mettre à l’abri.

–––
(¹) Open Skiron
(²) On parle aussi de T.M.S. (Tropical-like Mediterranean Storm).
(³) Source : Lionel Peyraud 8/11/2011
() Source : Keraunos
() CAPE : lire Prévoir les orages avec Weather4D
–––

mail

5 Replies to “Vous avez dit « Medicane » ?”

  1. Je crois que nous faisons partie de ces plaisanciers qui avons décidé de quitter dans l’heure l’ile de Cephalonie (Vasiliki) après avoir découvert le 15 septembre à 14h le développement du médicane Ianos sur le modèle ICON EU alors qu’il n’était pas encore apparu sur les autres modèles. Les amis plaisanciers voisins de ponton que nous avons réussi à convaincre de prendre la même décision n’ont pas été déçus du conseil.

    1. Effectivement Jacques, je viens de visionner ta vidéo sur cet épisode, édifiante ! On pourrait trouver cette maxime dans le Marin Breton : “Anticipation est mère de sagesse, la mer pardonne rarement la négligence”.

  2. Nous avons subi “Ianos” dans le port d’Argostoli (Céphalonie) en septembre dernier, au beau milieu du phénomène puisque nous avons vu passer l’œil vers 8h le 18/9. Notre bateau était mouillé au milieu du port avec 2 ancres et toute la chaîne (100m pour une hauteur d’eau de 5m). Une des deux chaines a cassé mais le mouillage a résisté. Autour de nous 8 ou 9 bateaux ont coulé dans le port et dans la marina.
    C’est donc très violent et dangereux mais comme la dépression est de très petite taille, il aurait été facile de quitter Argostoli dès que la menace était visible sur la météo, c’est à dire le matin du 17, pour s’abriter à une cinquantaine de milles au N ou au S.
    Ionos

  3. En 2019, un medicane a aussi frappé la Grèce et en particulier le sud du Peloponèse !

    1. Il s’agit effectivement de la dépression “Victoria” les 12 et 13 novembre 2019 qui a provoqué d’intenses précipitations sur tout le Peloponèse, avec des vents atteignant force 10 Bft. Mais le centre est passé sur le sud de l’Italie en remontant de la Tunisie jusqu’en Croatie.Tempête

Les commentaires sont fermés.