NMEA 2000, a network standard for the future

nmea2000NMEA 2000® (¹) is a standard for electronic communication network specifically designed for pleasure boats, according to an industry standard published by the National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA). It aims to meet many needs, arising from the considerable increase of electronic devices onboard, the widespread use of computers and MFDs (²) with control and navigation application more sophisticated. It also aims to interconnect equipment provided by various manufacturers and brands, allowing boat builders and end users great freedom in their choice of navigational instruments.

Based on the protocol Controller Area Network (or CAN bus) developed by Bosch and Intel, used for decades in the automotive and automation, it enables communication of all devices to the standard "NMEA 2000® Certified", whatever the manufacturer, simply by connecting to the network. Designed to operate in harsh environments, NMEA 2000® uses the principle of a differential pair of wires in a standardized cabling, chosen for its insensitivity to noise and allows up 200 meters long in disturbed areas.

Principle

NMEA 2000® defines high-speed network in a new communication protocol. It can accept up to 50 devices each with 254 addresses and data transfers up to 250 Kb/s. It is multi-talkers/multi-listenerrs. This protocol uses a compact binary message format (PGN), and uses the arbitration of messages based on priority. Such a system is Plug & Play, devices are identified by the system upon connection (As with a computer's USB ports). The installation is greatly simplified.

Exemple NMEA 2000

Example of installation on a star of 45′

NMEA 2000® network allows devices with a display to receive information issued by the various electronic sensors on the network : GPS antenna, log, depth sounder, temp sensor, anemometer, AIS receiver, etc. It allows to display digital data from engine sensor, hour meter, tachometer, and fuel and fresh water levels, on numerical indicators or devices with display placed anywhere on the boat.

nmea2000 maretron

Network sample NMEA 2000 Maretron

NMEA 2000® is an important development compared to the standard NMEA0183, 50 times slower, limited to 1 talker/4 listeners broadcasting complex serial messages (ASCII protocol), through a standard wiring rarely respected by manufacturers.

The wiring

nmea 2000 câbles

NMEA2000 T-connectors and cables (from left to right) Lowrance, Garmin, Airmar, Maretron, Raymarine and Simrad

NMEA 2000® approved a single standard wiring : DeviceNet. Only this type of cable can use the label "NMEA 2000® Approved". DeviceNet is associated with technology CAN bus in the automotive industry for data transfer.

câblage nmea 2000For marine, NMEA 2000® defined three cable sizes :

  • Mini : the thickest, can support a supply current to 8 Amperes and a length for the network(backbones) up to 200 meters.
  • Micro : the finest, supporting up to 4 Amperes and a length for the network (Backboneup to 100 meters.
  • Drop (or Spur) Cable : used only for connecting instruments, a length less than 6 meters.

The "Mini" cable is mainly used to build a backbone for networks on large ships (generally higher than 20 meters), to which the instruments and sensors are connected with "Drop/Spur" cables. On smaller vessels, the networks are entirely composed of "Micro" cables and connectors to which the instruments and sensors are connected.NMEA 2000 Micro-CGarmin company provides clear explanations of the connections in this video :

Message format and PGNs

In the NMEA 2000® protocol, messages are sent in packets. Each packet consists of a header 8 data bits indicating the sending device, the receiver (can be all receivers)), the priority, and PGN. The Parameter Group Number (³) is a number of 6 characters indicating what type of message it is, and thus how the data should be interpreted to determine the values ​​of the data fields contained. NMEA sells the standard that describes how to decode each message providing its PGN, this information is not public.

Proprietary networks

Many manufacturers have created their own formats of communication : Simrad (SimNet), RayMarine (SeaTalk NG), Furuno (NavNet), Garmin (GMN), Stowe (Dataline 2000), Brunswick (SmartCraft), etc. Some of them have designed adapters to communicate their devices with NMEA 2000® network, but not all. It is therefore important to consult the list of certified products NMEA 2000® () if you want to incorporate a device to the network.

Still not widespread at the beginning of the years 2010 on pleasure craft of less than 20 meters, there is no doubt that the NMEA 2000® Standard will increasingly interest boatyards, French as foreign, who will install cabling at the construction stage to offer their customers the freedom of choice of navigation devices. An additional selling point in an increasingly competitive market. A blow to manufacturers of proprietary networks that favor locking customers into a single brand. A benefit for users who may change, replace the way they like, their instruments over time.


(¹) NMEA 2000® is a registered trademark of the National Marine Electronics Association.
(²) Multi-Fonctionnal Display, afficheur multi-fonctions.
(³) Parameter Group Numbers
() NMEA 2000® Certified Products

mail

2 Replies to “NMEA 2000, a network standard for the future”

  1. Thank you for this info.
    For my part I know nothing and just beginning to get interested in marine electronics, but a rate of 250kb / s seems to me very low.

    What kinds of data passes through the system? I think the audio or video (webcam, Intercom Outdoor / Indoor, Camero security etc.) who would be unable to pass through the pipes.

    Thank you,
    Mild

    1. This applies only instrumentation on board : navigation, motor and electrical controls, fluid levels. Neither the video, tions of the radar, or remote monitoring.

Comments are closed.

NMEA 2000, un standard réseau d’avenir

nmea2000NMEA 2000® (¹) est un standard de réseau de communication électronique conçu spécialement pour les navires de plaisance, selon une norme industrielle publiée par la National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA). Il a pour ambition de répondre à de nombreux besoins, nés de l’accroissement considérable des appareils électroniques embarqués, de la généralisation des ordinateurs et des MFDs (²) dotés d’applications de contrôle et de navigation de plus en plus sophistiquées. Il a également pour but d’assurer l’interconnexion d’appareils de fabricants et de marques diverses, permettant aux constructeurs de bateaux comme aux utilisateurs une grande liberté dans le choix de leurs instruments de navigation.

Basé sur le protocole Controller Area Network (ou CAN bus) développé par Bosch et Intel, utilisé depuis plusieurs décennies dans l’industrie automobile et l’automatisme, il permet la communication de tous les appareils répondant à la norme « NMEA 2000® Certified », quelqu’en soit le fabricant, par simple connexion sur le réseau. Conçu pour fonctionner dans des environnements rigoureux, NMEA 2000® utilise le principe d’une paire de fils différentiels dans un câblage standardisé, choisi pour son insensibilité aux parasites et permettant jusqu’à 200 mètres de longueur en milieux perturbés.

Principe

NMEA 2000® définit un nouveau protocole de communication en réseau à grande vitesse. Il peut accepter jusqu’à 50 appareils possédant chacun 254 adresses et des transferts de données jusqu’à 250 Kb/s. Il est multi-émetteurs/multi-récepteurs. Ce protocole utilise un format de message binaire compact (PGN), et emploie l’arbitrage de messages basé sur la priorité. Le système est de type Plug & Play, les périphériques sont identifiés par le système dès leur branchement (comme pour les ports USB d’un ordinateur). L’installation en est donc grandement simplifiée.

Exemple NMEA 2000

Exemple d’installation sur une vedette de 45′

Un réseau NMEA 2000® permet aux appareils dotés d’un afficheur de recevoir les informations émises par les différents capteurs électroniques présents sur le réseau : antenne GPS, speedomètre, sondeurs, capteur de température, anémomètre, récepteur AIS, etc. Il permet d’afficher les données des capteurs numériques du moteur, compteur d’heures, compte-tours, ainsi que les niveaux des réservoirs de carburant et d’eau douce, sur des indicateurs numériques ou des appareils avec écran disposés n’importe où sur le bateau.

nmea2000 maretron

Exemple de réseau NMEA 2000 Maretron

NMEA 2000® représente une évolution importante en comparaison du standard NMEA0183, 50 fois moins rapide, limité à un émetteur/4 récepteurs diffusant des messages série complexes (protocole ASCII), à travers un standard de câblage rarement respecté par les fabricants.

Le câblage

nmea 2000 câbles

NMEA2000 câbles et T-connecteurs (de gauche à droite) Lowrance, Garmin, Airmar, Maretron, Raymarine et Simrad

NMEA 2000® a approuvé un unique standard de câblage : DeviceNet. Seul ce type de câble peut bénéficier du label « NMEA 2000® Approved ». DeviceNet est associé à la technologie CAN bus dans l’industrie automobile pour le transfert des données.

câblage nmea 2000Pour la marine, NMEA 2000® a défini trois tailles de câbles :

  • Mini : le plus épais, pouvant supporter un courant d’alimentation jusqu’à 8 Ampères et une longueur jusqu’à 200 mètres.
  • Micro : le plus fin, pouvant supporter jusqu’à 4 Ampères et une longueur jusqu’à 100 mètres.
  • Drop : utilisé uniquement pour le raccordement d’instruments, d’une longueur inférieure à 6 mètres.

Le câble « Mini » est principalement utilisé pour réaliser une dorsale pour des réseaux sur de grands navires (généralement supérieurs à 20 mètres), à laquelle viennent se connecter les instruments avec des câbles « Micro  ». Sur des navires plus petits, les réseaux sont entièrement composés de câbles et connecteurs « Micro ».

NMEA 2000 Micro-CLa société Garmin fournit des explications très claires sur les connexions dans cette vidéo :

Format de message et PGNs

Dans le protocole NMEA 2000®, les messages sont envoyés par paquets. Chaque paquet est composé d’une en-tête de 8 bits de données qui indique l’appareil émetteur, le récepteur concerné (cela peut être tous), le niveau de priorité, et le PGN. Le Parameter Group Number (³) est un nombre de 6 caractères indiquant de quel type de message il s’agit, et donc comment doivent être interprétées les données pour déterminer les valeurs des champs de données qu’il contient. Le NMEA vend la norme qui décrit comment décoder chaque message fournissant son PGN, cette information n’est donc pas rendue publique.

Pour mémoire, on trouve désormais dans l’Aide de iNavX la liste des PGNs qui sont supportés et peuvent donc être affichés.

Les réseaux propriétaires

De nombreux fabricants ont créés leurs propres formats de communication : Simrad (SimNet), RayMarine (SeaTalk NG), Furuno (NavNet), Garmin (GMN), Stowe (Dataline 2000), Brunswick (SmartCraft), etc. Certains d’entre eux ont conçus des adaptateurs permettant de faire communiquer leurs appareils avec le réseau NMEA 2000®, mais pas tous. Il est donc important de consulter la liste des produits certifiés NMEA 2000® () si on souhaite intégrer un appareil à ce réseau.

Encore peu répandu sur les navires de plaisance inférieurs à 20 mètres, il ne fait aucun doute que le standard NMEA 2000® va de plus en plus intéresser les chantiers nautiques, français comme étrangers, qui installeront à la construction un câblage permettant d’offrir à leurs clients la liberté du choix des appareils de navigation. Un argument commercial supplémentaire dans un marché toujours plus concurrentiel. Un coup dur pour les fabricants qui privilégient des réseaux propriétaires enfermant leurs clients dans une marque unique. Un bénéfice pour les utilisateurs qui pourront changer, remplacer comme ils le veulent, leurs instruments au fil du temps.


(¹) NMEA 2000® est une marque déposée de la National Marine Electronics Association.
(²) Multi-Fonctionnal Display, afficheur multi-fonctions.
(³) Parameter Group Numbers
() NMEA 2000® Certified Products

Facebooktwittermail

2 Replies to “NMEA 2000, un standard réseau d’avenir”

  1. Merci pour ces infos.
    Pour ma part je n’y connais rien et commence juste à m’intéresser à l’électronique marine, mais un débit de 250kb/s me parait vraiment faible.

    Quelles sortes de données transitent par ce système? Je pense à de l’audio ou vidéo (webcam, interphone extérieur/intérieur, caméro de sécurité etc) qui seraient bien incapables de passer par ces tuyaux.

    Merci,
    Clément

    1. Cela concerne uniquement l’instrumentation du bord : navigation, contrôles moteur et électriques, niveaux de fluides. Ni la vidéo, ni le Radar, ni la télésurveillance.

Les commentaires sont fermés.