Which iPad for navigation ? [Update-11]

So many of you are still wondering about choosing an iPad for navigation use. Unfortunately having no time to respond to every request a post is required. Each year it is advisable to review this question, and sometimes more often.

With the delivery of iPad Air 5 in March 2022, the chipset Apple Silicon M1 appears on a mid-range model in a housing similar to the previous version, with moreover 8 GB, the double, of RAM memory. The last iPad 9 "low cost" delivered in last september, on the other hand, has almost the same dimensions as iPad Air 3 and iPad 8, with the only difference of switching to A13 Bionic and M13 graphic. These two latest models can still be protected in waterproof cases aiShell 10″5 and 11″.

 

Criteria to choose an iPad

There are several, which does not only depend on marine use, but also the home use of your tablet.

  • Model : I have mentioned it several times in my website (²) and several entries (³), model Wi-Fi + Cellular is imperative to be provided with GPS. With a single Wi-Fi model, you must add, either GPS Bluetooth, either multiplexer to fetch NMEA data from the on-board GPS, which limits the use of the tablet.
  • Storage memory : with 32 to 512 GB depending on the version and up 2 TB for the latest "Pro", the choice is wide. For a strict navigation use , with applications using cartography vector, 64 Go could be enough to go around the world. But if you use raster charts, larger than the vector charting for equivalent area , therefore 128 GB are a minimum. Beware though : if you store your travel pics and videos, if you add music and movies, 256 GB or more will not be too much.
  • The size and screen resolution : iPad  (10-11 inches) or iPad Mini (± 8 inches), I would say that the choice depends mainly on the distance between mariner and screen. So actually vessel size. I will take an iPad Mini on a 18-25 feet, but beyond the distance between the helmsman and the location of the iPad justify maybe a screen 10 inches screen for easier reading. The screens Retina High resolution became widespread and provide excellent definition on raster charting and satellite imagery. Since 2016 devices benefit from a laminated screen antireflection multicoated which allows fairly correct daylight reading, especially with a sun visor added to the box.

Different versions

There are now countless versions : 19 total models since 2010 in 10″, 5 in 13″, and 6 Mini 8″.

• History : from iPad 1 to iPad Air 2 (2010-2015)

Initial iPad1, historical tablets some of which have traveled thousands of miles for several years, are no longer supported by Apple, just like iPad 2 to 4 and iPad Air. This means no more possible updates to iOS and the eventual obsolescence of applications that developers cannot keep backwards-compatible indefinitely. The majority of applications today only work on iOS/iPadOS 10 and next.

iPad Air 2 in October 2014 provided an improvement to the quality of the display with a ’Multi-laminated screen technology thinner and antireflection treatment. We can finally read it (nearly) in broad daylight. With 2 GB RAM, a "racing machine" for its time, lighter and thinner than Pro models. It was my favorite tablet, and my own for six years.

The first iPad Mini in october 2012 had the same characteristics as the iPad 2. It was a great tablet, with a screen that has nothing to envy to its big sister, autonomy for long days of navigation and fast power charging. Replaced by the successive versions Retina display, an iPad Mini 6 was released last September with an 8.2″ equippedA15 Bionic processor.

• Today (2016-2022)

March 2016, the arrival of an iPad Pro 9.7″ with a still more powerful processor and a memory up to 256 GB, but more expensive than iPad Air 2, do not then represented a decisive advantage for navigation use. The following years, Apple has expanded the size of the iPad Pro screen to 10,5″ then recently 11″. But these high-priced devices have been accompanied each year by several iPad 9,7” "low-cost", to attract tight budget. In 2019 the arrival of the new iPad Air 3 10,5″ at a very attractive price despite its A12 Bionic processor and 3 GB RAM, positions it between the iPad 9.7″ 2018 and iPad Pro 11″. It replaced my own iPad Air 2 in 2020.

How easily one gets lost, in a nutshell, Apple now offers three lines of iPad :

  • iPad = "Low cost " (generally based on a previous box with one or two improvements) first pricing.
  • iPad Air = thin and light midrange with good quality features. Still attractive prices.
  • iPad Pro = the brand's high-end technology. The most expensive of course.


In November 2015 has launched the large iPad Pro with a 13″, optionally provided with a keyboard, supposed to come competing Microsoft Surface devices in the professional market. For pleasure, its size and weight make it ideal for the chart table, Despite the availability of a waterproof case for 2 first generations (³) and supports allowing to use it outside. since November 2015, The Pro 13″ has been the subject of four new versions The last is provided with the processor Apple M1, with 16 GB of RAM and up to 2 TB storage.

My advice

• Used or Apple refurbished

  • iPad 6 (2018) and iPad 7 (2019) ""low-cost" to start at a low price. Tablets with decent performance that are good enough for navigation, if you are looking for the cheapest but not the oldest.
  • iPad Air 3 (2019) always remains my best choice as a second hand tablet to navigate, but it has become difficult to find in the refurbished market.
  • iPad Pro 10,5″ (2017) and 11″ (2018), if you are looking for more efficient.
  • iPad Pro 13″, heavy and therefore rather reserved for use on a chart table. Warning : the first two Pro 13″ have a aiShell case, not the following (³). 

• New

  • iPad 9 10,2″ (2021), it's the latest iPad"low cost". Its characteristics hardly differentiate it from the iPad model 8 previous, except storage which increases to 64 or 256 GB and the A13 Bionic chip.  This is my best choice as new for navigation.
  • iPad Air 5 10,9″ (2022), a powerful device perfectly suited to navigation, but still expensive in WiFi + Cellular with 256 GB.
  • iPad Pro 11″ and 12.9″ 5th generation (2021), they are overpowered and very expensive, and the 13″ still do not have an aiShell protective case(³). To avoid for navigation.

Warning : the last system iPadOS 15.x is only compatible with iPad Air 2 and newer. Older iPad, iPad Air 1 and earlier, will not change. Reminder, once the devices cross the fateful seven-year mark, they are considered obsolete by Apple.

Meet you when the next models come up.

–––
(²) Apple devices
(³) iPad , GPS and subscription to the cellular network This post dating from 2011 is unfortunately still relevant !
(³) A new aiShell protection is expected in spring 2022 for the most recent models 13″.

–––

 

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail

61 Replies to “Which iPad for navigation ? [Update-11]”

  1. Hello and thank you for these very interesting articles,
    On iPads with GPS + Cellular, is it possible to disable these chips to save battery (I have a wifi/NMEA gateway, so the GPS of the tablet would only be a backup mode).

    1. We can't, strictly speaking, disable GPS reception. The only thing you need to do is remove the use of location service for apps that don't need it. For example, with Weather4D and the location service set to "always", if you are using NMEA GPS, this does not cut off the use of GPS in order to maintain trace recording and alarms when the app is in standby mode (functions remaining active in the background). On the other hand, by disabling the "Navigation" mode (when we only do simulations) Weather4D disables the use of GPS to save battery.

  2. Hello,
    From all this I remember that maybe MacENC will come back. And suddenly I could continue to use my Mac Mini and even my new one ??
    Thank you Francis

  3. You recommend aiShell 10 protection″5 the link on the Itabnav site offers it to 239 €. What a difference in quality with the iPad case 10.2 which appears to have the same IP69K characteristics of Mooncase at 95 €
    Thank you

    1. Because the aiShell is the most robust shell on the market, widely proven since 10 years by circum navigators and runners, and that it has serious support accessories. Germanic quasi-military manufacture. When using a tablet at 700-800 € and more, better not to skimp on protection.

  4. Can the arrival of the new MAC ARMs mean that we will be able to run iOS software, since MacOS navigation software is no longer developed ?

  5. Nice to take the time to present these clear and concise explanations. My iPad AIr 2 that you advised at the time still works as well as the first day. It is in iOS 14.

Comments are closed.

Quel iPad pour la navigation ? [MAJ-10]

Vous êtes toujours aussi nombreux à m’interroger sur le choix d’un iPad pour un usage de navigation. N’ayant malheureusement pas le temps de répondre à chaque demande un billet s’impose. Chaque année il convient de refaire le point sur cette question, et même parfois plus souvent.

Avec la livraison du iPad Air 4 en septembre 2020, la taille de l’écran de 10,9″, tout comme les Pro 11″ d’octobre 2018 et mars 2020, a nécessité d’attendre longtemps la livraison d’un nouveau boitier étanche aiShell, désormais disponible. Le dernier iPad 9 « low cost », quant-à lui, reprend pratiquement les mêmes dimensions que l’iPad Air 3 et l’iPad 8, avec pour seule différence de passer aux processeurs A13 Bionic et M13 graphique. On peut donc toujours le placer dans le boitier étanche aiShell 10″5.

 

Les critères de choix

Il y en a plusieurs, qui ne dépendent pas uniquement d’une utilisation maritime, mais aussi de l’utilisation terrestre que vous ferez de votre tablette.

  • Le modèle : je l’ai déjà écrit à plusieurs reprises sur mon site web (²) et dans plusieurs billets (³), un modèle Wi-Fi + Cellular est impératif pour disposer du GPS intégré. Avec un simple modèle Wi-Fi, il vous faudra ajouter, soit un GPS Bluetooth, soit un multiplexeur pour récupérer les données NMEA du GPS du bord, ce qui limite l’usage de la tablette.
  • La taille mémoire : de 32 à 512 Go suivant les versions et jusqu’à 2 To pour les derniers « Pro », le choix est large. A utilisation stricte de navigation, avec des applications utilisant de la cartographie vectorielle, 64 Go peuvent suffire pour faire le tour du monde. Mais si vous utilisez de la cartographie raster, plus volumineuse que la cartographie vectorielle à zone géographique équivalente, dès lors 64 Go deviennent insuffisants, 128 Go sont un minimum. Attention cependant : si vous stockez vos photos et vidéos de voyage, si vous ajoutez de la musique et des films, 256 Go ou plus ne seront pas de trop.
  • La taille et la résolution de l’écran : iPad (10-11 pouces) ou iPad Mini (± 8 pouces), je dirai que le choix dépend surtout de la distance à laquelle se trouvera le navigateur de son écran. Donc dans une certaine mesure de la taille du bateau. J’embarquerai un iPad Mini sur un 18-25 pieds, mais au-delà la distance séparant le barreur et l’emplacement de l’iPad justifiera peut-être un écran 10 pouces pour un meilleur confort de lecture. Les écrans Retina à haute résolution se sont généralisés et apportent une excellente définition à la cartographie raster et à l’imagerie satellite. Depuis 2016 les modèles bénéficient d’un écran laminé multi-couches anti-reflets qui permet une lecture plein-jour assez correcte, surtout avec un pare-soleil ajouté au boitier.

Les différentes versions

On ne compte désormais plus les versions : 18 modèles au total depuis 2010 en 10″, 5 en 13″, et 6 Mini en 8″.

• Historique : de l’iPad 1 à l’iPad Air 2 (2010-2015)

Les premiers iPad1, tablettes historiques dont certaines ont parcouru des milliers de milles pendant plusieurs années, ne sont plus supportées par Apple, tout comme les iPad 2 à 4 et l’iPad Air. Cela signifie plus de mise à jour possible de l’iOS et l’obsolescence à terme des applications que les développeurs ne peuvent pas conserver longtemps rétro-compatibles. 

L’iPad Air 2 en octobre 2014 apporte une amélioration à la qualité de l’affichage avec une technologie d’écran multi-laminé plus fin et un traitement anti-reflets. On peut enfin le lire (presque) en plein soleil. Il est aussi doté de 2 Go de RAM. Une bête de course à l’époque toujours plus légère (444 gr. pour le modèle WiFi + Cellular). Il fut ma tablette de prédilection, et la mienne pendant six ans.

Le premier iPad Mini d’octobre 2012 possédait les mêmes caractéristiques techniques que l’iPad 2. C’était une excellente tablette, avec un écran qui n’avait rien à envier à sa grande sœur, une autonomie permettant de longues journées de navigation et une recharge rapide. Remplacé par les versions successives à écran Retina, un iPad Mini 6 vient de faire son apparition avec un écran 8,2″ et équipé du processeur A15 Bionic.

• Aujourd’hui (2016-2021)

En mars 2016, l’arrivée d’un iPad Pro 9,7″ doté d’un processeur toujours plus puissant et d’une mémoire de stockage jusqu’à 256 Go, mais aussi plus cher que l’iPad Air 2, ne représentait alors pas un avantage déterminant pour un usage de navigation. Les années suivantes, Apple a agrandi la taille de l’écran des iPad Pro à 10,5″ puis dernièrement 11″. Mais ces appareils à prix élevé ont été accompagnés chaque année de plusieurs iPad 9,7” « low-cost », pour attirer les budgets serrés. En 2019 l’arrivée du nouvel iPad Air 3 10,5″ à un prix très attractif malgré son processeur A12 Bionic et ses 3 Go de RAM, le positionne entre l’iPad 9,7″ 2018 et l’iPad Pro 11″. Il a remplacé mon propre iPad Air 2 en 2020.

Comme on s’y perd facilement, pour faire court, Apple propose trois gammes d’iPad :

  • iPad = « low cost » (généralement basés sur un boitier précédent avec une ou deux améliorations) premier prix.
  • iPad Air = milieu de gamme fin et léger avec des caractéristiques de bonne qualité. Tarif attractif.
  • iPad Pro = le haut de gamme technologique de la marque. Le plus cher.

En novembre 2015 a été lancé le grand iPad Pro avec un écran 13″, pourvu en option d’un clavier, sensé venir en concurrence des appareils Surface de Microsoft sur le marché professionnel. Pour la plaisance, sa taille et son poids le destinent essentiellement à la table à carte, malgré la disponibilité d’un boitier étanche (pour les 2 premières générations) et des supports permettant de l’utiliser en extérieur. Depuis novembre 2015, Le Pro 13″ a fait l’objet de quatre nouvelles versions Le dernier est équipé du processeur Apple M1, de 16 Go de RAM et jusque 2 To de stockage. 

Mon avis

• Occasion ou Apple reconditionné

  • iPad 6 (2018) et iPad 7 (2019) « low-cost » pour débuter à petit prix. Des tablettes aux honorables performances bien suffisantes pour la navigation, si vous recherchez le moins cher mais pas trop ancien.
  • iPad Air 3 (2019) reste toujours mon meilleur choix de tablette pour naviguer, mais elle est devenue difficile à trouver sur le marché du reconditionné.
  • iPad Pro 10,5″ (2017) et 11″ (2018), si vous recherchez plus performants. Les Pro 13″ sont lourds et donc plutôt réservés à un usage sur table à carte. Attention : les deux premiers Pro 13″ disposent d’un boitier étanche aiShell, pas les suivants.

• Neuf

  • iPad 9 2021 10,2″, c’est le nouvel iPad « low cost ». Ses caractéristiques le différencient peu du modèle iPad 8 précédent, sauf le stockage qui passe à 64 ou 256 Go et la puce A13 Bionic.  C’est mon meilleur choix neuf pour la navigation.
  • iPad Pro 11″ et 12,9″ 5e génération 2021, mais ils sont surpuissants et très chers, et les 13″ n’ont toujours pas de boitier de protection aiShell. A éviter pour la navigation.
  • iPad Air 4 (2020) un appareil puissant parfaitement adapté à la navigation, mais encore cher en WiFi + Cellular avec 256 Go.

Attention : le prochain système iPadOS 15 n’est compatible qu’à partir des iPad Air 2 et plus récents. Les iPad plus anciens, iPad Air 1 et antérieurs, ne pourront plus évoluer. Pour rappel, une fois que les appareils franchissent la barre fatidique des sept ans, ils sont considérés comme obsolètes par Apple.

Rendez-vous à l’arrivée des prochains modèles.


(²) Les appareils Apple
(³) iPad, GPS et abonnement au réseau cellulaire Ce billet datant de 2011 est malheureusement toujours d’actualité !

 

mail

59 Replies to “Quel iPad pour la navigation ? [MAJ-10]”

  1. Hello,
    De tout ça je retiens que peut-être MacENC va revenir. Et du coup je pourrais continuer à utiliser mon Mac Mini et même mon nouveau ??
    Merci Francis

    1. Tout à fait François. Faut-il encore qu’ils trouvent une cartographie pour l’Europe. Navionics ? NV Charts ? C’est encore en négociation.

  2. Vous recommandez la protection aiShell 10″5 le lien sur le site Itabnav la propose à 239 €. Quelle différence en qualité avec la coque Coque iPad 10.2 qui semble avoir les mêmes caractéristiques IP69K de Mooncase à 95 €
    Merci

    1. Parce que l’aiShell est la coque la plus robuste du marché, largement éprouvée depuis 10 ans par les circum navigateurs et les coureurs, et qu’elle dispose de sérieux accessoires de support. Fabrication germanique quasi militaire. Quand on utilise une tablette à 700-800 € en mer, mieux vaut ne pas lésiner sur la protection.

  3. L’arrivée des nouveaux MAC ARM peut-elle signifier que l’on pourra faire tourner les logiciels iOS, depuis que les logiciels de navigation MacOS ne sont plus développés ?

  4. Sympathique de nous consacrer du temps à présenter ces explications claires et concises. Mon iPad AIr 2 que tu avais conseillé à l’époque fonctionne toujours aussi bien comme au permier jour. Il est en iOS 14.

Les commentaires sont fermés.